Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [EN] could you include the nvidia driver on the siduction?  (Read 11753 times)

mirix

[EN] could you include the nvidia driver on the siduction?
« Reply #15 on: 2011/12/21, 14:01:08 »
Hello,

I have already mentioned this several times in the sidux and aptosid fora: There is people out there for whom using the proprietary drivers is not optional, it is a must. First, there is people for whom the Nouveau drivers do not work at all. Second, there is people who need the functionality that the proprietary drivers provide. For instance, 3D acceleration is not just required for playing games. I am a scientist and I need need 3D acceleration for visualising biomolecules. I guess this is also the case for architects and many engineers and graphical artists, for instance. The proprietary driver is also required for GPU (Cuda) computing. There is an increasing number of code that run on GPUs (which are more powerful than CPUs). We have computers with 4 and 5 GPUs (3 Teslas and 1 Quadro) and we do a lot of number-crunching on the GPUs.

A distribution in which the proprietary drivers are an issue is clearly not for me. Of course, I do not plan to install any Sid-derivative in production machines. However, I often use my laptop as a test bench and therefore I need the proprietary drivers there as well.

Kind regards,

Miro

Offline towo

• Administrator
  • User
could you include the nvidia driver on the siduction?
« Reply #16 on: 2011/12/21, 14:05:36 »
What do you want to say?
Besides the point, that we can't include binary blob like nvidia or fglrx because it's not allowed by the vendors, we can't include such drivers, because siduction is following the dfsg.
Ich gehe nicht zum Karneval, ich verleihe nur manchmal mein Gesicht.

Offline devil

• Administrator
  • User
« Reply #17 on: 2011/12/21, 14:45:43 »
mirix,