Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [EN] Questions: differences with sid  (Read 5093 times)

mack-9

[EN] Questions: differences with sid
« on: 2012/06/23, 15:19:45 »
Hi all, I'm new to siduction and I wasn't able to find a clear answer anywhere, so I'll try asking here...

Can someone please explain the difference between siduction/aptosid and Debian sid? And what are the advantages over running sid?

Also, do the "customized" runlevels in siduction affect the user in any way? I always used debian but I never thought of changing the runlevels and don't know what kind of difference that makes at the practical level. E.g. do we really have to use dist-upgrade outside of an X session?

Thanks for any knowledge you can shed on this topic.

Offline devil

• Administrator
  • User
Questions: differences with sid
« Reply #1 on: 2012/06/23, 19:57:29 »
The manual will answer some of your questons.
I am quite busy atm, so not going into detail.
Difference is: it's release, sid is not. It's installed in a few minutes with a desktop of your choice, sid is not. We have much more recent kernels....
The runlevels don't have any effect on users. Dist-Upgrades with coponents of X and/or KDE should in any case be done outside of X.

greetz
devil

Offline dibl

• siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
    • Land of the Buckeye
RE: Questions: differences with sid
« Reply #2 on: 2012/06/23, 22:07:18 »
Hi mack-9, welcome to the forum!

Our Bluewater Manual is pretty good on these subjects -- just follow it.