Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [EN] Indicator does not display in Status Tray  (Read 2263 times)

Offline kbtidwell

[EN] Indicator does not display in Status Tray
« on: 2023/01/15, 15:06:30 »
Hello,
I am new to Siduction but have used many Deb-based distros. I have used Variety wallpaper changer in all of them with no problems. However, with this installation Variety works correctly but its icon does not display in the Status Tray. I have never experienced this before. Where should I start examining things?

Good day,
K B Tidwell

Offline unklarer

• User
Re: Indicator does not display in Status Tray
« Reply #1 on: 2023/01/15, 19:24:54 »
Code: [Select]
apt show variety
Package: variety
Version: 0.8.9-1
Priority: optional
Section: graphics
Maintainer: James Lu <james@overdrivenetworks.com>
Installed-Size: 1.916 kB
Depends: gir1.2-gdkpixbuf-2.0, gir1.2-gexiv2-0.10, gir1.2-glib-2.0, gir1.2-gtk-3.0, gir1.2-notify-0.7, gir1.2-pango-1.0, imagemagick, python3-bs4, python3-lxml, python3-cairo, python3-configobj, python3-dbus, python3-gi, python3-gi-cairo, python3-pil, python3-pkg-resources, python3-requests, python3:any
Recommends: gir1.2-ayatanaappindicator3-0.1 | gir1.2-appindicator3-0.1, python3-httplib2, fortune-mod
Suggests: feh | nitrogen, gnome-shell-extension-appindicator
Homepage: http://peterlevi.com/variety/
Download-Size: 499 kB
APT-Sources: http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian unstable/main amd64 Packages
Description: Wallpaper changer, downloader and manager
 Variety is a wallpaper manager for Linux systems. It supports numerous
 desktops and wallpaper sources, including local files and online
 services: Flickr, Wallhaven, Unsplash, and more.
 Where supported, Variety sits as a tray icon to allow easy pausing and
 resuming. Otherwise, its desktop entry menu provides a similar set of
 options.
 You can also install the following (suggested) packages to enhance Variety's