Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [EN] [solved] no sound with oolite  (Read 4600 times)

Offline orinoco

  • User
  • Posts: 244
  • Bullshit artist
[EN] [solved] no sound with oolite
« on: 2012/07/19, 19:35:22 »
The game runs but without sound. Any ideas?

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.846
no sound with oolite
« Reply #1 on: 2012/07/19, 19:38:57 »
Never heard of. And with the wealth of info you provide, I dare say this will stay a very short thread.

greetz
devil

Offline cryptosteve

  • User
  • Posts: 675
no sound with oolite
« Reply #2 on: 2012/07/19, 19:42:45 »
Strange, I did a little test and sound works fine here.

Btw: Looks like an old game I played 25 years before on my commodore C64. :)
- born to create drama -
CS Virtual Travel Bug: VF6G5D

Offline orinoco

  • User
  • Posts: 244
  • Bullshit artist
[solved] no sound with oolite
« Reply #3 on: 2012/07/19, 19:43:34 »
Never heard of? The game? The problem?

If there were any hints I would post them. Other software have sound output. oolite started from commandline gives no output. From that point of view I have no idea what I should add to give a more brief description.

Offline orinoco

  • User
  • Posts: 244
  • Bullshit artist
[solved] Re: no sound with oolite
« Reply #4 on: 2012/07/19, 20:15:25 »
Quote from: "cryptosteve"
Strange, I did a little test and sound works fine here.

Btw: Looks like an old game I played 25 years before on my commodore C64. :)


Thanks for your feedback. Now step by step:

Code: [Select]
orinoco@jake:~$ groups
orinoco adm dialout cdrom floppy sudo audio dip video plugdev users scanner lpadmin kvm netdev fuse powerdev vboxusers shutdown


Code: [Select]
orinoco@jake:~$ lspci | grep Audio
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)
01:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Juniper HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5700 Series]


Code: [Select]
orinoco@jake:~$ lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     21127  1
snd_hda_codec_realtek    99918  1
snd_hda_intel          20729  4
snd_hda_codec          67614  3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi
snd_hwdep               5325  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss            30454  0
snd_mixer_oss          12390  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm                58811  4 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_hdmi
snd_page_alloc          6091  2 snd_pcm,snd_hda_intel
snd_seq_dummy           1391  0
snd_seq_oss            24056  0
snd_seq_midi            4192  0
snd_seq_midi_event      4548  2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_oss
snd_rawmidi            15500  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq                42092  6 snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_dummy
snd_seq_device          4665  5 snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_dummy
snd_timer              15664  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    48611  23 snd_timer,snd_seq_device,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_dummy,snd_pcm,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm_oss,snd_hwdep,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi
soundcore               4553  1 snd


Code: [Select]
orinoco@jake:~$ apt-cache depends oolite
oolite
  Hängt ab von: gnustep-base-runtime
  Hängt ab von: libc6
  Hängt ab von: libgcc1
 |Hängt ab von: libgl1-mesa-glx
  Hängt ab von: <libgl1>
    libgl1-mesa-swx11
    libgl1-mesa-glx
 |Hängt ab von: libglu1-mesa
  Hängt ab von: <libglu1>
    libglu1-mesa
  Hängt ab von: libgnustep-base1.22
  Hängt ab von: libmozjs185-1.0
  Hängt ab von: libobjc4
  Hängt ab von: libpng12-0
  Hängt ab von: libsdl-mixer1.2
  Hängt ab von: libsdl1.2debian
  Hängt ab von: oolite-data
  Empfiehlt: oolite-doc
  Empfiehlt: oolite-data-sounds
  Beschädigt: oolite-data
  Ersetzt: oolite-data


Code: [Select]
root@jake:~# apt-get install oolite-data-sounds

Now I have sound with oolite. :oops:

It's annoying me that oolite doen't demand missing soundfiles and the soundfile package is optional for this game.

Offline cryptosteve

  • User
  • Posts: 675
Re: [solved] Re: no sound with oolite
« Reply #5 on: 2012/07/19, 21:26:58 »
Quote from: "orinoco"
Now I have sound with oolite. :oops:

It's annoying me that oolite doen't demand missing soundfiles and the soundfile package is optional for this game.

Yes, that is really weird.

I simply downloaded a *.tgz from their website and it just worked. :)
- born to create drama -
CS Virtual Travel Bug: VF6G5D

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.846
Re: [solved] Re: no sound with oolite
« Reply #6 on: 2012/07/19, 22:08:02 »
In debian proper this is no problem, because recommends get installed by default. We have recommends deactivated for it's spamminess. so user has to take an extra step in some cases. That does not change the fact that sound should be a dependency, not a recommendation.

greetz
devil