Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [EN] occasional freeze question/observation  (Read 3412 times)

blackone

  • Guest
[EN] occasional freeze question/observation
« on: 2012/01/13, 11:35:18 »
Hi

As title, there is the occasional freeze.  This happens with flash-non-free within iceape.  Not as often as with lmde, but is still annoying all the same.

Anyway around this or is part of the debian rolling release unstable extravaganza, therefor to be expected.

cheers and greetz

Offline towo

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.948
RE: occasional freeze question/observation
« Reply #1 on: 2012/01/13, 11:44:20 »
You think, that anyone can help you?
Your post does not have any relevant info about your System!
Ich gehe nicht zum Karneval, ich verleihe nur manchmal mein Gesicht.

arno911

  • Guest
RE: occasional freeze question/observation
« Reply #2 on: 2012/01/13, 12:08:54 »
the problem is well known and has nothing to do with iceape or testing/unstable. this happens occasionally even in m$ windows and it's called

"flash"

greetings
arno911

blackone

  • Guest
Re: RE: occasional freeze question/observation
« Reply #3 on: 2012/01/13, 14:40:42 »
Quote from: "towo"
You think, that anyone can help you?
Your post does not have any relevant info about your System!


I'm sorry.  I had no idea I was being so rude.

@arno911

It maybe a well known problem, and yes, I have heard many complaints about this on the web.  Just seems to mainly plague the testing/unstable of debain - at least for myself.  Works ok with slackware and arch and windows.

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.846
Re: RE: occasional freeze question/observation
« Reply #4 on: 2012/01/13, 14:51:38 »
Quote

I'm sorry. I had no idea I was being so rude.

You were not being rude. your post just lacks any information that would be helpfull. like: graphics card, does it work wirh other browsers...
i do not use much flash, but when i have to, it works ok here.

greetz
devil

Offline der_bud

  • User
  • Posts: 1.077
  • member
RE: Re: RE: occasional freeze question/observation
« Reply #5 on: 2012/01/13, 19:35:35 »
blackone, are you aware that flashplugin-nonfree does not automatically gets updated with dist-upgrade? You have to invoke it manually, and sometimes that repairs some glitches. As root, enter
Code: [Select]
update-flashplugin-nonfree -iv to get an verbose output (without -v you won't get feedback if available and installed version are the same).
Du lachst? Wieso lachst du? Das ist doch oft so, Leute lachen erst und dann sind sie tot.

Offline DeepDayze

  • User
  • Posts: 458
Re: RE: occasional freeze question/observation
« Reply #6 on: 2012/01/13, 22:45:54 »
Quote from: "arno911"
the problem is well known and has nothing to do with iceape or testing/unstable. this happens occasionally even in m$ windows and it's called

"flash"

greetings
arno911



Yup, Flash surely also causes freezes/crashes on Windows (even in IE/FF/Chrome)..not just on Linux in general. As Flash itself is closed source we can't fix it...the Flash alternatives (Gnash and Lightspark) are not quite up to par yet

Offline GoinEasy9

  • User
  • Posts: 564
RE: Re: RE: occasional freeze question/observation
« Reply #7 on: 2012/01/13, 23:55:42 »
Excuse my ignorance, but, is what der_bud said true?  Does flashplugin-nonfree from the contrib repo not get updated automatically with a dist-upgrade?  That's a new one on me.
Linux Counter number 348347

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.846
RE: Re: RE: occasional freeze question/observation
« Reply #8 on: 2012/01/14, 00:11:52 »
Sure its true, and always was. The file that gets updated is flashplugin-nonfree, but that just pulls the real package.

greetz
devil

Offline GoinEasy9

  • User
  • Posts: 564
RE: Re: RE: occasional freeze question/observation
« Reply #9 on: 2012/01/14, 00:25:50 »
Hmmm, learned something new, Thanks
Linux Counter number 348347

blackone

  • Guest
Re: RE: Re: RE: occasional freeze question/observation
« Reply #10 on: 2012/01/14, 11:58:13 »
Quote from: "der_bud"
blackone, are you aware that flashplugin-nonfree does not automatically gets updated with dist-upgrade? You have to invoke it manually, and sometimes that repairs some glitches. As root, enter
Code: [Select]
update-flashplugin-nonfree -iv to get an verbose output (without -v you won't get feedback if available and installed version are the same).


No - I had no idea about that at all.  I think its the first time I have heard about this.

But I feel I have to reiterate that I have only had problems with flashplugin-nonfree on testing/unstable branches of debian.

cheers

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.846
Re: RE: Re: RE: occasional freeze question/observation
« Reply #11 on: 2012/01/14, 12:39:21 »
well, we are on unstable. and here flash is fine. but what can i say, asyou do not answer questions?

greetz
devil

Offline piper

  • User
  • Posts: 1.785
  • we are the priests ... of the temples of syrinx
RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: occasional freeze question/observation
« Reply #12 on: 2012/01/14, 20:19:39 »
as root
Code: [Select]
ln -s /tmp ~/.macromedia && update-flashplugin-nonfree -iv
Free speech isn't just fucking saying what you want to say, it's also hearing what you don't want to fucking hear

I either give too many fucks or no fucks at all, it's like I cannot find a middle ground for a moderate fuck distribution, it's like what the fuck

blackone

  • Guest
Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: occasional freeze question/observati
« Reply #13 on: 2012/01/21, 17:00:10 »
Quote from: "piper"
as root
Code: [Select]
ln -s /tmp ~/.macromedia && update-flashplugin-nonfree -iv


Did that.  Still freezes but not as much - but its to expected I suppose  :D

Offline ralul

  • User
  • Posts: 1.814
Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: occasional freeze question/observati
« Reply #14 on: 2012/01/21, 19:46:02 »
Look and try: /etc/adobe/mms.cfg
What I mean, you have 3 options:
-Keep it secure, keep sites freezing
-dont visit these sites
-make your macromedia options more unsecure
experiencing siduction runs better than my gentoo makes me know I know nothing