Siduction Forum

Siduction Forum => Software - Support => Topic started by: sunrat on 2014/07/21, 06:28:44

Title: Conky cpu temp not showing any more
Post by: sunrat on 2014/07/21, 06:28:44
This used to work in .conkyrc -
Code: [Select]
CPU1:${color white}${platform coretemp.0 temp 2}C ${color #00ff2a} CPU2:${color white}${platform coretemp.0 temp 3}CNow I just noticed it doesn't show the temp, possibly since kernel 3.15.
Any ideas?
Title: Re: Conky cpu temp not showing any more
Post by: unklarer on 2014/07/21, 13:44:13
no problems here with desperado


Code: [Select]
uname -r
3.15-5.towo-siduction-amd64
Code: [Select]
sensors
acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +37.0°C  (crit = +127.0°C)
temp2:        +40.0°C  (crit = +100.0°C)

thinkpad-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
fan1:        1979 RPM
temp1:        +37.0°C 
temp2:        +38.0°C 
temp3:        +37.0°C 
temp4:         -1.0°C 
temp5:        +33.0°C 
temp6:            N/A 
temp7:        +32.0°C 
temp8:            N/A 
temp9:        +38.0°C 
temp10:       +42.0°C 
temp11:       +46.0°C 
temp12:           N/A 
temp13:           N/A 
temp14:           N/A 
temp15:           N/A 
temp16:           N/A 

coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 0:       +40.0°C  (high = +105.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)
Core 1:       +36.0°C  (high = +105.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)
Code: [Select]
${color 00BFFF}CPU 1 Temp: ${color FFFFFF}${execi 10 sensors | sed -n '3p' | sed -n 's/temp1:[ ]*//p' | cut -d" " -f1}
${color 00BFFF}CPU 2 Temp: ${color FFFFFF}${execi 10 sensors | sed -n '4p' | sed -n 's/temp2:[ ]*//p' | cut -d" " -f1}
Title: Re: Conky cpu temp not showing any more
Post by: dibl on 2014/07/21, 13:56:25
I have the temps for my quad core CPU in a table -- here is the conky code:


Code: [Select]
${font Terminus:style=bold:size=11}TEMPS $hr
${font Terminus:size=9}${color green}Core 0: ${color white}${execi 5 /usr/bin/sensors | grep Core\ 0| paste -s | cut -d+ -f2 | cut -c1-7}${color green}    ${alignr}${color green}Core 1: ${color white}${execi 5 /usr/bin/sensors | grep Core\ 1| paste -s | cut -d+ -f2 | cut -c1-7}${color green}
${font Terminus:size=9}${color green}Core 2: ${color white}${execi 5 /usr/bin/sensors | grep Core\ 2| paste -s | cut -d+ -f2 | cut -c1-7}${color green}    ${alignr}${color green}Core 3: ${color white}${execi 5 /usr/bin/sensors | grep Core\ 3| paste -s | cut -d+ -f2 | cut -c1-7}${color green}
Title: Re: Conky cpu temp not showing any more
Post by: ayla on 2014/07/21, 15:56:24
Thanks for sharing, dibl!

Fixed the readout on my board/CPU.

greets
ayla
Title: Re: Conky cpu temp not showing any more
Post by: sunrat on 2014/07/21, 17:57:19
Working, thanks guys.
For some reason, coretemp always shows 40°C for my CPU (Core2Duo E8500) until it actually goes higher. Weird.

Now here's a more curly one, how to show GPU temp and fan speed in Conky. Obviously I can't just grep "fan1" and "temp1" -
Code: [Select]
roger@brain:~$ sensors
coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 0:       +40.0°C  (high = +78.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 1:       +40.0°C  (high = +78.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

it8718-isa-0290
Adapter: ISA adapter
in0:          +1.07 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in1:          +1.90 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in2:          +3.31 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
+5V:          +3.02 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in4:          +0.03 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in5:          +0.00 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)  ALARM
in6:          +0.10 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in7:          +3.09 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
Vbat:         +3.15 V 
fan1:         806 RPM  (min =   10 RPM)
fan2:         790 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
fan3:           0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
fan4:         918 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
temp1:        +29.0°C  (low  = +127.0°C, high = +127.0°C)  sensor = thermistor
temp2:        +23.0°C  (low  = +127.0°C, high = +70.0°C)  sensor = thermal diode
temp3:         -2.0°C  (low  = +127.0°C, high = +127.0°C)  sensor = thermistor
intrusion0:  ALARM

nouveau-pci-0100
Adapter: PCI adapter
fan1:        2640 RPM
temp1:        +28.0°C  (high = +95.0°C, hyst =  +3.0°C)
                       (crit = +105.0°C, hyst =  +5.0°C)
                       (emerg = +135.0°C, hyst =  +5.0°C)
Title: Re: Conky cpu temp not showing any more
Post by: dibl on 2014/07/21, 18:34:39
Thanks for sharing, dibl!



Sure -- in case anyone is interested, here is the full "TEMPS" section of my conky, which uses nvidia-settings to get the GPU core and ambient temps, as well as "nc localhost 7634" for the pair of hard drives that hold my BTRFS filesystem.


Code: [Select]
${font Terminus:style=bold:size=11}TEMPS $hr
${font Terminus:size=9}${color green}Core 0: ${color white}${execi 5 /usr/bin/sensors | grep Core\ 0| paste -s | cut -d+ -f2 | cut -c1-7}${color green}    ${alignr}${color green}Core 1: ${color white}${execi 5 /usr/bin/sensors | grep Core\ 1| paste -s | cut -d+ -f2 | cut -c1-7}${color green}
${font Terminus:size=9}${color green}Core 2: ${color white}${execi 5 /usr/bin/sensors | grep Core\ 2| paste -s | cut -d+ -f2 | cut -c1-7}${color green}    ${alignr}${color green}Core 3: ${color white}${execi 5 /usr/bin/sensors | grep Core\ 3| paste -s | cut -d+ -f2 | cut -c1-7}${color green}
${font}GPU Core: ${color white}${execi 1 /usr/bin/nvidia-settings -q gpucoretemp | grep 'gpu:0]):' | awk '{print $4}' | cut -c1-2}${color white}°C${font Terminus:size=9}${alignr}${color green}GPU Ambient: ${color white}${execi 1 /usr/bin/nvidia-settings -q gpuambienttemp | grep 'gpu:0]):' | awk '{print $4}' | cut -c1-2}°C
${font Terminus:size=9}${color green}WD1000-1:    ${color white}${execi 300 nc localhost 7634 | cut -c92-93}°C ${alignr}${font Terminus:size=9}${color green}WD1000-2:    ${color white}${execi 300 nc localhost 7634 | cut -c130-131}°C


There are also two SSDs in this system, but they sit there showing 30C continuously, and I don't believe that the sensors are actually picking up a true temperature signal from them.
Title: Re: Conky cpu temp not showing any more
Post by: sunrat on 2014/07/22, 02:45:18
Yes I used nvidia-settings to display gpu temp when I used Nvidia driver. Now I need to work out a way to show the data from nouveau. My script-foo is not good enough to extract from sensors as there are 2 instances of temp1 and fan1.
Title: Re: Conky cpu temp not showing any more
Post by: sunrat on 2014/07/24, 07:36:51
Got this working with help from jimg at BATL forums. Here is the working Conky line:
Code: [Select]
$alignc${color #00ff2a}GPU:${color white} ${execi 5 /usr/bin/sensors | grep -A 3 nouveau | awk '/temp1/{print $2}'}   ${execi 5 /usr/bin/sensors | grep -A 3 nouveau | awk '/fan1/{print $2}'}rpm :) 8)