Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic:  [solved] Chromium - Incompatible CPU?  (Read 3911 times)

Offline orinoco

  • User
  • Posts: 233
  • Bullshit artist
[solved] Chromium - Incompatible CPU?
« on: 2022/09/03, 13:02:44 »
Hello,

since last d-u chromium won't start on my system.

Code: [Select]
$ apt policy chromium
chromium:
  Installiert:           105.0.5195.52-1
  Installationskandidat: 105.0.5195.52-1
  Versionstabelle:
 *** 105.0.5195.52-1 500
        500 https://deb.debian.org/debian unstable/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

Code: [Select]
The hardware on this system lacks support for the sse3 instruction set.
The upstream chromium project no longer supports this configuration.
For more information, please read and possibly provide input to their
bug tracking system at http://crbug.com/1123353

It's time to move to a new cpu-generation?

Code: [Select]
$ cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep sse | uniq
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc cpuid extd_apicid aperfmperf pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt cpb hw_pstate vmmcall npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save pausefilter

Crazy. A browser made my system (partly) obsolete...
« Last Edit: 2022/09/09, 20:28:02 by orinoco »

Offline DeepDayze

  • User
  • Posts: 457
Re: Chromium - Incompatible CPU?
« Reply #1 on: 2022/09/03, 16:13:26 »
What processor is in your current system?

From what I have read it's the Pentium 4 Prescott CPU's and later that support SSE3.

Offline edlin

  • User
  • Posts: 540
Re: Chromium - Incompatible CPU?
« Reply #2 on: 2022/09/03, 17:02:36 »
Use links or links2 instead of chromium and life should go on.  ;)

edlin
Der Kluge lernt aus allem und von jedem,
der Normale aus seinen Erfahrungen
und der Dumme weiß alles besser.

Sokrates

Offline orinoco

  • User
  • Posts: 233
  • Bullshit artist
Re: Chromium - Incompatible CPU?
« Reply #3 on: 2022/09/03, 22:19:49 »
@DeepDayze
Code: [Select]
$ inxi -C
CPU:
  Info: 6-core model: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T bits: 64 type: MCP cache:
    L2: 3 MiB
  Speed (MHz): avg: 801 min/max: 800/2800 cores: 1: 803 2: 804 3: 800
    4: 800 5: 804 6: 800

Code: [Select]
$ cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep sse | uniq
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc cpuid extd_apicid aperfmperf pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt cpb hw_pstate vmmcall npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save pausefilter

Offline DeepDayze

  • User
  • Posts: 457
Re: Chromium - Incompatible CPU?
« Reply #4 on: 2022/09/03, 22:34:17 »
@DeepDayze
Code: [Select]
$ inxi -C
CPU:
  Info: 6-core model: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T bits: 64 type: MCP cache:
    L2: 3 MiB
  Speed (MHz): avg: 801 min/max: 800/2800 cores: 1: 803 2: 804 3: 800
    4: 800 5: 804 6: 800

Code: [Select]
$ cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep sse | uniq
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc cpuid extd_apicid aperfmperf pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt cpb hw_pstate vmmcall npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save pausefilter

Hmm weird...thought sse4a would been enough but looks like sse3 support is strictly needed. I have a similar CPU in another system so might check it.

Offline edlin

  • User
  • Posts: 540
Re: Chromium - Incompatible CPU?
« Reply #5 on: 2022/09/04, 12:50:18 »
I am a bit irritated, since the processor should actually support sse3:
https://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K10/AMD-Phenom%20II%20X6%201055T%20-%20HDT55TWFK6DGR%20(HDT55TWFGRBOX).html

IMHO, sse4a should add 4 instructions to the instruction set of sse3, so sse3 should also be supported from that point of view. Or am I missing something?

edlin
Der Kluge lernt aus allem und von jedem,
der Normale aus seinen Erfahrungen
und der Dumme weiß alles besser.

Sokrates

Offline DeepDayze

  • User
  • Posts: 457
Re: Chromium - Incompatible CPU?
« Reply #6 on: 2022/09/05, 04:23:14 »
Firefox still works on that system, correct?

Offline DeepDayze

  • User
  • Posts: 457
Re: Chromium - Incompatible CPU?
« Reply #7 on: 2022/09/05, 04:26:53 »
I am a bit irritated, since the processor should actually support sse3:
https://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K10/AMD-Phenom%20II%20X6%201055T%20-%20HDT55TWFK6DGR%20(HDT55TWFGRBOX).html

IMHO, sse4a should add 4 instructions to the instruction set of sse3, so sse3 should also be supported from that point of view. Or am I missing something?

edlin

That site does list sse3 as supported  but why is the sse3 flag not showing for this processor? Sounds like a bug and is there a test program out there to test sse-2,3,4a support for a cpu?

Offline axt

  • User
  • Posts: 494
    • axebase.net
Re: Chromium - Incompatible CPU?
« Reply #8 on: 2022/09/05, 10:00:44 »
It's easy to understand.

SSE4e is an imposture from AMD. It should be called SSE3a or SSE3+.

The CPU also has SSE3 through SSE4a, but the SSE3 flag is not issued (similar to PAE at the Pentium-M Banias and Dothan FSB100 back then). Apparently AMD does not consider this necessary.

Software can use SSE3. But if it queries the existence, i.e. the flag, then SSE3 does not exist for this software.

Offline edlin

  • User
  • Posts: 540
Re: Chromium - Incompatible CPU?
« Reply #9 on: 2022/09/05, 10:25:29 »
@DeepDayze Firefox arbeitet noch ohne sse3, aber Edge, Opera, Vivaldi und Brave sollen bereits analog zu Chromium den Dienst versagen.
@axt Danke, das bestätigt meine Vermutung. Damit wären der Browser die Unterstützung von sse3 anders auswerten sollte.

edlin

@DeepDayze Firefox is still working without sse3, but Edge, Opera, Vivaldi and Brave are already said to be failing the service analogous to Chromium.

@axt Thanks, that confirms my suspicion. So that would be the browser should evaluate the support of sse3 differently.

edlin
Der Kluge lernt aus allem und von jedem,
der Normale aus seinen Erfahrungen
und der Dumme weiß alles besser.

Sokrates

Offline orinoco

  • User
  • Posts: 233
  • Bullshit artist
Re: Chromium - Incompatible CPU?
« Reply #10 on: 2022/09/05, 10:33:11 »
Firefox still works on that system, correct?

Yes.

Offline michaa7

  • User
  • Posts: 2.298
Re: Chromium - Incompatible CPU?
« Reply #11 on: 2022/09/05, 11:25:12 »
...
Hmm weird...thought sse4a would been enough but looks like sse3 support is strictly needed. ...

No.

Here accoring to " cat /proc/cpuinfo" there is no explicit sse3 flag (only more comprehensive flags)
Code: [Select]
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl cpuid aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm sse4_1 xsave lahf_lm pti dtherm

Chromium is running fine.


May be the culprits are the packages sse3-support/isa-support which are used for checking sse3 support. There had been various changes and new versions the last weeks. Here it's even in todays d-u again.
« Last Edit: 2022/09/05, 12:03:08 by michaa7 »
Ok, you can't code, but you still might be able to write a bug report for Debian's sake

Offline axt

  • User
  • Posts: 494
    • axebase.net
Re: Chromium - Incompatible CPU?
« Reply #12 on: 2022/09/05, 13:13:18 »
orinoco, for you in German, not translated. ;-)

Chromium: fehlendes SSE3-Flag

Offline orinoco

  • User
  • Posts: 233
  • Bullshit artist
Re: Chromium - Incompatible CPU?
« Reply #13 on: 2022/09/06, 00:50:56 »
The problem of the silly instruction set test seems to be fixed.

https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=1018937

I hope the new package will rush in the next few hours.

Offline DeepDayze

  • User
  • Posts: 457
Re: Chromium - Incompatible CPU?
« Reply #14 on: 2022/09/06, 01:21:03 »
The problem of the silly instruction set test seems to be fixed.

https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=1018937

I hope the new package will rush in the next few hours.

Oh good to know that the "pni" feature is basically same as "sse3" and basically any of the Athlon Phenoms DO support sse3.