Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [EN] (solved)No sound 3.9-0.towo.2-siduction-amd64  (Read 10073 times)

dlalias2k1

  • Guest
[EN] (solved)No sound 3.9-0.towo.2-siduction-amd64
« on: 2013/05/08, 19:20:19 »
lspci | grep Audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 06)
02:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)

After rebooting from the dist-upgade, Phonon tells me it thinks that audio hardware has been removed and gives me the option to remove it, leave it or manage devices.

Testing all the devices for audio output, none of them work now.

Thanks

Offline michaa7

  • User
  • Posts: 2.310
No sound since dist-upgade to 3.9-0.towo.2-siduction-amd64
« Reply #1 on: 2013/05/08, 21:28:29 »
Can you still boot an older kernel? Maybe alsa has changed with newer kernel!


test with live cd, compare output of "lsmod | grep snd" between live cd and installation.
Ok, you can't code, but you still might be able to write a bug report for Debian's sake

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.367
    • Land of the Buckeye
RE: No sound since dist-upgade to 3.9-0.towo.2-siduction-amd
« Reply #2 on: 2013/05/09, 03:10:33 »
Assuming KDE desktop, my experience indicates you should "OK" to remove the audio hardware device, leaving only the pulseaudio server.  Use the "Test" button under systemsettings > multimedia to confirm that your pulseaudio server is working as expected. Also make sure you install pavucontrol -- you will need it.
System76 Oryx Pro, Intel Core i7-11800H, SSD 970 EVO Plus;  Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO

Offline spacepenguin

  • User
  • Posts: 862
    • spacepenguin.de
RE: No sound since dist-upgade to 3.9-0.towo.2-siduction-amd
« Reply #3 on: 2013/05/09, 06:01:28 »
Pulseaudio? This won't be default... will it? :shock:
Susan | Hardware: SysProfile
Music-Profile: http://www.last.fm/de/user/spacepengu

Offline piper

  • User
  • Posts: 1.785
  • we are the priests ... of the temples of syrinx
Re: RE: No sound since dist-upgade to 3.9-0.towo.2-siduction
« Reply #4 on: 2013/05/09, 07:13:58 »
Quote from: "spacepenguin"
Pulseaudio? This won't be default... will it? :shock:


+1
Free speech isn't just fucking saying what you want to say, it's also hearing what you don't want to fucking hear

I either give too many fucks or no fucks at all, it's like I cannot find a middle ground for a moderate fuck distribution, it's like what the fuck

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.367
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: RE: No sound since dist-upgade to 3.9-0.towo.2-siduction
« Reply #5 on: 2013/05/09, 12:53:53 »
Quote from: "spacepenguin"
Pulseaudio? This won't be default... will it? :shock:


I thought it already was default for KDE. Don't you have to deliberately remove it from a KDE default DE?
System76 Oryx Pro, Intel Core i7-11800H, SSD 970 EVO Plus;  Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO

Offline towo

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.942
RE: Re: RE: No sound since dist-upgade to 3.9-0.towo.2-siduc
« Reply #6 on: 2013/05/09, 12:59:46 »
Pulseaudio was never default in siduction and even kde does not need this shit.
Ich gehe nicht zum Karneval, ich verleihe nur manchmal mein Gesicht.

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.367
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: RE: Re: RE: No sound since dist-upgade to 3.9-0.towo.2-s
« Reply #7 on: 2013/05/09, 14:27:57 »
Quote from: "towo"
........ even kde does not need this shit.


Well, OK, I am not one to make an argument online, especially with my favorite kernel engineer.

:D

But, when I read this, which I admit is 12 months old, it seems to say that pulseaudio is needed to support phonon and kmix. That is why I think it must be a default element (not a mandatory element) of a standard KDE desktop.
System76 Oryx Pro, Intel Core i7-11800H, SSD 970 EVO Plus;  Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO

Offline piper

  • User
  • Posts: 1.785
  • we are the priests ... of the temples of syrinx
RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: No sound since dist-upgade to 3.9-0.towo
« Reply #8 on: 2013/05/09, 19:10:20 »
I have seen pulse do a lot of damage, I, for one am not at fan at all
Free speech isn't just fucking saying what you want to say, it's also hearing what you don't want to fucking hear

I either give too many fucks or no fucks at all, it's like I cannot find a middle ground for a moderate fuck distribution, it's like what the fuck

Offline DeepDayze

  • User
  • Posts: 458
Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: No sound since dist-upgade to 3.9-0.
« Reply #9 on: 2013/05/10, 00:02:00 »
Quote from: "piper"
I have seen pulse do a lot of damage, I, for one am not at fan at all


Pulse is a default of Gnome desktop though...

dlalias2k1

  • Guest
RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: No sound since dist-upgade to 3.
« Reply #10 on: 2013/05/10, 00:36:18 »
So when I boot my previous kernel:
3.8-7.towo-siduction-amd64

Phonon tells me I have seem to have removed devices and if I would like to remove them, like before, however this time it's reporting a different card as removed:
HDA Intel MID, 92HD81B1X5 Analog

and playback does work when I select my output device as:
HDA Intel MID, STAC92xx Analog

When I boot the newer kernel, the cards it thinks are installed are reversed. (i.e. It thinks the STAC92xx is removed and that the 92HD81B1X5 has been installed and none of the enabled devices will succeed in sound playback)

lsmod | grep snd     #from working sound configuration:
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     23879  4
snd_hda_codec_idt      46423  1
snd_hda_intel          26021  7
snd_hda_codec          73891  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               5341  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                61525  4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
snd_page_alloc          6234  2 snd_pcm,snd_hda_intel
snd_seq                42049  0
snd_seq_device          4649  1 snd_seq
snd_timer              15553  3 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd                    49920  21 snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_pcm,snd_seq,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_seq_device
soundcore               4402  1 snd

dlalias2k1

  • Guest
RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: No sound since dist-upgade to 3.
« Reply #11 on: 2013/05/10, 00:40:10 »
lsmod | grep snd #from newer kernel
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     24824  4
snd_hda_codec_idt      33731  1
snd_hda_intel          27737  6
snd_hda_codec         106897  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               5341  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                61509  4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
snd_page_alloc          6170  2 snd_pcm,snd_hda_intel
snd_seq                42049  0
snd_seq_device          4649  1 snd_seq
snd_timer              15553  3 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd                    49920  19 snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_pcm,snd_seq,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_seq_device
soundcore               4402  1 snd

Offline michaa7

  • User
  • Posts: 2.310
RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: No sound since dist-upgade to 3.
« Reply #12 on: 2013/05/10, 01:25:23 »
I don't know exactly how this problem could be solved. On lkml.org I read that the complete hda_intel stuff got reworked for 3.9 kernel. And the different behavior (different codecs for same hardware, but newone not working) between your 3.8.x and the new 3.9.x kernel seems to demonstrate that there are transition problems.
Only advice I can give so far:

- For the time being stay with the older 3.8.x kernel (if possible).
- Wait some days for new packages to come, maybe new alsa-utils solve this problem.
- File a bugreport to debian (using "reportbug", or maybe to the alsa-user mailing list)

But if *I* would *need to solve* this *now* with the new kernel I would *purge* all the alsa stuff (and if you have a ".asoundrc" in your home, better save it away)c, reboot and reinstall alsa. Without any guarantee.

EDIT://
How do you *know* the new codec / new device is not working? Did you check wheather or not the device is muted in kmix and/or alsamixer?

EDIT2://
Cited from the alsa developer's docs published few days ago:
http://www.mjmwired.net/kernel/Documentation/sound/alsa/HD-Audio.txt

Quote
662   Sending a Bug Report
663   ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
664   If any model or module options don't work for your device, it's time
665   to send a bug report to the developers.  Give the following in your
666   bug report:
667   
668   - Hardware vendor, product and model names
669   - Kernel version (and ALSA-driver version if you built externally)
670   - `alsa-info.sh` output; run with `--no-upload` option.  See the
671     section below about alsa-info
672   
673   If it's a regression, at best, send alsa-info outputs of both working
674   and non-working kernels.  This is really helpful because we can
675   compare the codec registers directly.
676   
677   Send a bug report either the followings:
678   
679   kernel-bugzilla::
680     https://bugzilla.kernel.org/
681   alsa-devel ML::
682     alsa-devel@alsa-project.org
Ok, you can't code, but you still might be able to write a bug report for Debian's sake

dlalias2k1

  • Guest
RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: No sound since dist-upgade to 3.
« Reply #13 on: 2013/05/10, 04:31:23 »
Yea, I checked kmix and alsmixer, nothing is muted on the "new" device.

Alright, I'll file the bug and run 3.8 and check for fixed releases going forward.

Thanks Michaa7. Seems like I always show up with for help with crazy problems, but I always appreciate the help.

Offline piper

  • User
  • Posts: 1.785
  • we are the priests ... of the temples of syrinx
RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: No sound since dist-upgade to 3.
« Reply #14 on: 2013/05/10, 06:10:15 »
You might want to try aand rename phonondevicesrc (rename DO NOT delete)
Code: [Select]
/.kde/share/config/phonondevicesrc and then delete the hardware database
Code: [Select]
/var/tmp/kdecache-username/libphonon/hardwaredatabase and reboot, yes reboot

Just for shits and giggles, what does
Code: [Select]
apt-cache policy phonon-backend-null say
Free speech isn't just fucking saying what you want to say, it's also hearing what you don't want to fucking hear

I either give too many fucks or no fucks at all, it's like I cannot find a middle ground for a moderate fuck distribution, it's like what the fuck