seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2017/08/21, 15:58:28


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: [solved] Installation fails  (Read 398 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline finotti

  • User
  • Posts: 44
[solved] Installation fails
« on: 2017/06/09, 19:05:30 »
I am trying to install Patience on a Dell Inspiron 15 5000 Gaming laptop.  This one:

http://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/productdetails/inspiron-15-5577-gaming-laptop/dncwpi404s

It has a 128GB SSD (sda) and a 1TB HD (sdb).  I am trying to install in a partition of sdb.  (Dual boot.)  FWIW, I have secure boot disable and legacy boot enabled at the BIOS.

At the end of installation I get the error in the picture attached.

Any ideas or suggestions?
« Last Edit: 2017/06/09, 19:29:09 by finotti »

Offline finotti

  • User
  • Posts: 44
Re: Installation fails
« Reply #1 on: 2017/06/09, 19:28:46 »
I've got some help from IRC.

I needed to update calamares (it was an old bug):

Code: [Select]
apt update
apt install calamares

After that, the install was fine.

Thanks everyone (especially agaida) for the outstanding support!

Offline vilde

  • User
  • Posts: 528
Re: [solved] Installation fails
« Reply #2 on: 2017/06/09, 21:14:13 »
I've got some help from IRC.

I needed to update calamares (it was an old bug):

Code: [Select]
apt update
apt install calamares

After that, the install was fine.

Thanks everyone (especially agaida) for the outstanding support!

I think this has been mentioned on the forum a few time before. With long time between releases there are some programs/applications that is wise to update before install, I think apt is one of them but I don't remember the other(s).  Maybe this could be included as a text message in the installer? And/or as a sticky subject on the forum?

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.606
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: [solved] Installation fails
« Reply #3 on: 2017/06/09, 23:03:16 »
With the Nvidia GPU, you might need to boot the Live CD (or USB stick) with a "nomodeset" boot option.


EDIT:  Upppps I see you solved it with a calamares update.  Good!
Asus Z87-WS, Core i7-4770, Nvidia GTX-750 Ti, dual monitors, OCZ Vertex Plus, 2@WD1000DHTZ in BTRFS

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.959
Re: [solved] Installation fails
« Reply #4 on: 2017/06/11, 11:54:18 »
In general a few apps should be tested for new versions before install.
Code: [Select]
apt update && apt install apt dpkg perl calamares seems like a good idea. There is probably more that make sense, the older the release is.


That being said, a fresh release before Stretch goes stable (in one week) was originaly planned, but Sid did not play well, so that will not happen. After release of Stretch we have to wait until the floodgates are closed again and everything settles in Sid. So take this also as a reminder, that in one week from now Sid could be a little dangerous and dist-upgrades need to be closely watched.

Offline cas

  • User
  • Posts: 375
Re: [solved] Installation fails
« Reply #5 on: 2017/06/11, 17:56:23 »
So take this also as a reminder, that in one week from now Sid could be a little dangerous and dist-upgrades need to be closely watched.

thanks for heads-up. I will DU soon.

But regarding 
Code: [Select]
apt update && apt install apt dpkg perl calamares I wonder why can't there be an minor update, where siduction does this for us. That would be more useful than a sticky forum post.
Maybe I didnt get the rest of your post.

 


Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.959
Re: [solved] Installation fails
« Reply #6 on: 2017/06/11, 19:16:35 »
The line I pasted is for a siduction live-image before installation

Offline cas

  • User
  • Posts: 375
Re: [solved] Installation fails
« Reply #7 on: 2017/06/11, 20:56:30 »
The line I pasted is for a siduction live-image before installation

Yes, I got that.

I understand finottis post in that way, that there exists a critical bug in the installer.
The bug has been resolved.
So why are installation-critical upgrades not already in the image?
Seems to be better to me than let an installation fail, let user do a research and tell him 'you only have to do this line' to finish installation.