Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [EN] Would someone want to assist me to install Cinnamon?  (Read 14243 times)

Offline vayu

• User
[EN] Would someone want to assist me to install Cinnamon?
« on: 2013/05/11, 21:03:01 »
I've been using Kubuntu for several years. I'm wanting a rolling release for KDE. I also want to have Cinnamon Desktop installed on my 2nd computer and would prefer using the same base distribution. I need some assistance to do that, there are some things I don't know how to go about.

Is there a base install of siduction without a desktop environment?  Would the procedure to install another desktop be install a base system, install login manager, install Cinnamon?  Would someone be willing to outline the steps for me?

(I did it successfully with Debian testing Gnome, which I then upgraded to unstable, then I installed Cinnamon from the unstable repositories and it all went well.  I would like to do the same with siduction.  Here's the catch, if possible I'd like to not start with Gnome.   Would that be too much to explain or might that be reasonably possible?)

Offline dibl

• siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: Would someone want to assist me to install Cinnamon?
« Reply #1 on: 2013/05/11, 21:21:57 »
Welcome!

Quote from: "vayu"
I'm wanting a rolling release for KDE.

That's easy -- siduction offers a KDE "flavor".

I also want to have Cinnamon Desktop installed on my 2nd computer and would prefer using the same base distribution.

I don't know anything about cinammon, but there it is in the debian unstable repo:

Code: [Select]
root@tosh205:/home/don# apt-cache policy cinnamon
cinnamon:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 1.7.4-2
  Version table:
     1.7.4-2 0
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main i386 Packages

Is there a base install of siduction without a desktop environment?