Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [EN] Can't install siduction 13.2 ati hd radeon 4200  (Read 4498 times)

Offline mhbell

• User
[EN] Can't install siduction 13.2 ati hd radeon 4200
« on: 2014/01/06, 18:35:03 »
I am new to siduction so hope I can explain this correctly. I boot up using the live dvd. it boots to the Screen and the print is so big I can't read anything to install. I know about "firmware-linux-nonfree", but don't know what to do without the siduction being installed. is there a line I can add when booting the dvd so that I can get a usable screen to install from. any help appreciated
tia
Mel

Problem is now solved using the CLI Installer
Mel

« Last Edit: 2014/01/12, 22:09:52 by mhbell »

Offline devil

• Administrator
  • User
Re: Can't install siduction 13.2 ati hd radeon 4200
« Reply #1 on: 2014/01/06, 18:38:43 »
Where is the big print? Are you stuck in a terminal, or does it boot to the desktop environment (which one?) and that is where the big font appears?

Did you try to boot with the second choice when starting the DVD (Save GFX Mode)?

greetz
devil

Offline mhbell

• User
« Reply #2 on: 2014/01/06, 19:02:33 »
The big print is after I get to the live desktop after booting with a live dvd. The print is so large that it is off the screen. I have a 26 inch monitor. The live desktop looks almost normal but when I click on a icon everything is to big to be readable. Yes I have tried the 2nd option and the kernel safe mode. During boot up there is a message saying that I need "firmware-linux-nonfree" but there is no way to get it before the os is installed. is there a way I could install using the cli? maybe then I could get the firmware that I need to make the desktop readable.
Mel

Offline devil

• Administrator
  • User
« Reply #3 on: 2014/01/06, 19:55:03 »
You can install the package while using the live-dvd. You need to add non-free to the sources.list.d/debian.list. Then do