Siduction Forum

BUGS => Archiv Wiki => Topic started by: inukaze on 2014/05/17, 17:55:41

Title: Question - How i can boot iso directly from Grub2 / Burg ???
Post by: inukaze on 2014/05/17, 17:55:41
Someone can help me , How i make lines inside the "grub.cfg"  from boot directly from iso ? , i try with the follow lines

menuentry ‘Siduction 14.1.0 (Live ISO)’ –class debian –class gnu-linux –class gnu –class os –group group_main {
recordfail
insmod gzio
insmod ext2
insmod part_msdos
set root=’(hd1,1)’
echo “Iniciando Siduction 14.1.0 – Modo Live ISO”
set isofile=”/ISOS/Linux/siduction-14.1.0-paintitblack-lxqt-amd64-201405081704.iso”
loopback loop (hd1,1)$isofile
linux (loop)/boot/vmlinuz0.amd locale=es_ES bootkbd=es console-setup/layoutcode=es quiet splash
iso-scan/filename=$isofile noprompt noeject
echo “Introduciendome en la memoria Ram …”
initrd (loop)/boot/initrd0.amd
}

But i got this - http://tinypic.com/3ia3wjd3 (http://tinypic.com/3ia3wjd3)

BusyBox , I can't Boot Live Mode . Someone can help me , what i must fix in the lines ???
Title: Re: Question - How i can boot iso directly from Grub2 / Burg ???
Post by: dibl on 2014/05/17, 22:38:18
I cannot say what is wrong with your menu entry, but I can say that it does not look a lot like the guidance (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2/ISOBoot) and examples (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2/ISOBoot/Examples) that I can find, which happen to be for Ubuntu.  You should manually mount and examine the paintitblack iso that you have, and examine the contents to confirm whether it is similar or different in structure to the Ubuntu examples.


Here (http://www.webupd8.org/2011/02/how-to-boot-iso-with-grub2-easy-way.html) is a different approach, using Unetbootin to automatically write the grub menu entry.  The thought of that makes me nervous -- better back up grub.cfg first.  But you might be braver than me. :D
Title: Re: Question - How i can boot iso directly from Grub2 / Burg ???
Post by: melmarker on 2014/05/17, 22:43:50
i don't care whats wrong with the entry, because every time i try to set this up by hand i make mistakes  - therefore i would suggest our package grub2-fll-fromiso instead of reinventing the wheel.
Title: Re: Question - How i can boot iso directly from Grub2 / Burg ???
Post by: piper on 2014/05/17, 23:12:45
Quote from: melmarker
i don't care whats wrong with the entry, because every time i try to set this up by hand i make mistakes  - therefore i would suggest our package grub2-fll-fromiso instead of reinventing the wheel.
+1

then use 40_custom and enter something like (you will have to modify to match where the iso is)

Quote
menuentry "Siduction-Live-lxqt" {
    insmod iso9660
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod reiserfs
    set root='hd1,msdos5'
    if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
      search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd2,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd2,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci2,msdos5 --hint='hd1,msdos5'  ecf8c612-b748-4c4c-8ac6-d983ab0504ec
    else
      search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ecf8c612-b748-4c4c-8ac6-d983ab0504ec
    fi
    loopback loop /siduction/siduction-14.1.0-paintitblack-lxqt-amd64-201405082315.iso
    linux (loop)/boot/vmlinuz0.amd fromhd=UUID=ecf8c612-b748-4c4c-8ac6-d983ab0504ec fromiso=/siduction/siduction-14.1.0-paintitblack-lxqt-amd64-201405082315.iso boot=fll lang=en_US tz=America/New York quiet noeject toram
    initrd (loop)/boot/initrd0.amd
}
Title: Re: Question - How i can boot iso directly from Grub2 / Burg ???
Post by: dibl on 2014/05/17, 23:16:29
.
.
.
........ tz=America/New York ...
.





Heh heh heh -- and I thought Ferdi was the Devil!   ;D
Title: Re: Question - How i can boot iso directly from Grub2 / Burg ???
Post by: piper on 2014/05/17, 23:18:26
lol :)
Title: Re: Question - How i can boot iso directly from Grub2 / Burg ???
Post by: melmarker on 2014/05/17, 23:23:37
@piper - one can simply change the /etc/default/grub2-ffl-fromiso like that:

Code: [Select]
# Defaults for grub2-fll-fromiso update-grub helper
# sourced by grub2's update-grub
# installed at /etc/default/grub2-fll-fromiso by the maintainer scripts

#
# This is a POSIX shell fragment
#

# specify where to look for the ISO
# default: /srv/ISO
#FLL_GRUB2_ISO_LOCATION="/srv/ISO"

# array for defining ISO prefices --> siduction-*.iso, non-recursive
# default: "siduction- fullstory-"
FLL_GRUB2_ISO_PREFIX="siduction- debian- "

# set default language
# default: en_US
FLL_GRUB2_LANG="de_DE"

# override the default timezone.
# default: UTC
FLL_GRUB2_TZ="Europe/Berlin"

# additional cheatcodes
# default: quiet noeject
FLL_GRUB2_CHEATCODE="quiet noeject"

update-grub will then do the magic
Title: Re: Question - How i can boot iso directly from Grub2 / Burg ???
Post by: piper on 2014/05/18, 01:57:32
Quote from: melmarker
@piper - one can simply change the /etc/default/grub2-ffl-fromiso like that:

Code: [Select] (http://javascript:void(0);)# Defaults for grub2-fll-fromiso update-grub helper
# sourced by grub2's update-grub
# installed at /etc/default/grub2-fll-fromiso by the maintainer scripts

#
# This is a POSIX shell fragment
#

# specify where to look for the ISO
# default: /srv/ISO
#FLL_GRUB2_ISO_LOCATION="/srv/ISO"

# array for defining ISO prefices --> siduction-*.iso, non-recursive
# default: "siduction- fullstory-"
FLL_GRUB2_ISO_PREFIX="siduction- debian- "

# set default language
# default: en_US
FLL_GRUB2_LANG="de_DE"

# override the default timezone.
# default: UTC
FLL_GRUB2_TZ="Europe/Berlin"

# additional cheatcodes
# default: quiet noeject
FLL_GRUB2_CHEATCODE="quiet noeject"

update-grub will then do the magic
Yes, that works also, that is how I used to do it, using custom_40, nothing changes when/if grub updates (colors, names, grub screen, etc ...) and I also purge os prober.

I do recommend that way (grub2-fll-fromiso) to anyone who hasn't used fromiso and wants a true easy way to do it.

I still have an old copy ;)

Quote
# Defaults for grub2-fll-fromiso update-grub helper
# sourced by grub2's update-grub
# installed at /etc/default/grub2-fll-fromiso by the maintainer scripts

#
# This is a POSIX shell fragment
#

# specify where to look for the ISO
# default: /srv/ISO
FLL_GRUB2_ISO_LOCATION="/media/disk2part5/siduction"

# array for defining ISO prefices --> siduction-*.iso, non-recursive
# default: "siduction- fullstory-"
FLL_GRUB2_ISO_PREFIX="aptosid-2012-01-thanatos-kde-full-i386-amd64-201212010120 siduction-12.2.0-ridersonthestorm-lxde-amd64-201212092122 siduction-12.2.0-ridersonthestorm-xfce-amd64-201212092126 siduction-12.2.0-ridersonthestorm-rqt-amd64-201212092240 siduction-13.0.5 PaintItBlack-kde-amd64-201308031300"

# set default language
# default: en_US
FLL_GRUB2_LANG="en_US"

# override the default timezone.
# default: UTC
FLL_GRUB2_TZ="America/New York"

# additional cheatcodes
# default: quiet noeject
FLL_GRUB2_CHEATCODE="quiet noeject toram"