Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: New box  (Read 4687 times)

mylo

  • Guest
New box
« on: 2012/02/26, 11:20:22 »
Hi all,

i am thinking about procuring a new box. I got a hint from devil for proceessor and graphics. His recommendation is:

Ivy Bridge i5 or i7 CPU with integrated HD4000 grafics chip.

For the boot partition, I think to install a SSD with 64 GB.
Does this make sense? Does it bring advantage in terms of start/up time?

Has anybody experience with that?

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.612
New box
« Reply #1 on: 2012/02/26, 12:17:26 »
A SSD makes perfect sense as system-disk. I guess thats what you mean. If you want your /home on there as well (again, makes sense), i would maybe go for 120 GByte. Thats what i did. Be sure to get one that features SATA3 aka SATA-6GByte/s. A good example is OCZ Vertex 3. It makes your system fly.

greetz
devil

Offline ayla

  • User
  • Posts: 1.710
New box
« Reply #2 on: 2012/02/26, 12:30:09 »
Hi mylo,
Quote

System:    Host: nescaya Kernel: 3.2-7.towo.2-siduction-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.6.2)
           Desktop: KDE 4.7.4 (Qt 4.7.4) Distro: siduction 11.1 One Step Beyond - kde - (201112302141)
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: P8Z68-V LE version: Rev X.0x Bios: American Megatrends version: 0401 date: 06/21/2011
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-2600K CPU (-HT-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 27292
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1600.00 MHz 2: 3401.00 MHz 3: 1600.00 MHz 4: 1600.00 MHz 5: 1600.00 MHz 6: 1600.00 MHz 7: 1600.00 MHz 8: 1600.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           X.Org: 1.11.3.901 drivers: intel (unloaded: vesa,fbdev) Resolution: 1680x1050@60.0hz, 1920x1080@59.9hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Sandybridge Desktop GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 7.11.2 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card: Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: 1.0.24
Network:   Card: Atheros AR5418 Wireless Network Adapter [AR5008E 802.11(a)bgn] (PCI-Express) driver: ath9k bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 1c:7e:e5:2a:84:eb
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 2060.4GB (2.3% used) 1: /dev/sdc SAMSUNG_HD103UJ 1000.2GB
           2: /dev/sda OCZ 60.0GB 3: /dev/sdb ST31000526SV 1000.2GB

System,swap and home is on the SSD, /var on an SATA3-HD. Grafics is Intel HD3000 as far as I know.

It's not easy to compare the times different machines need for booting up.
As for my machine the connection to my WLAN takes about half the time needed to go from hitting enter in the grub-screen to reach KDE-desktop. Which are about 55 seconds with login deactivated.
This in total is about half the time needed for a start from an normal (SATA3)-HD.
To give annother hint: Installing siduction from a USB-Stick took less then 90 seconds compared to about 2 and a half minute to a SATA3-HD.

The system in total feels more responsible, faster then running from an other HD.

In other words: I would prefer using a SSD over an HD till I testet it.

greets
ayla
HP EliteBook 8570p; MoBo: HP model: 17A7 v: KBC Version 42.35
Dual core  i5-3320M (-MT-MCP-)
Intel 3. Gen Graphics (Ivybridge) Driver:i915/ intel
 Wifi Intel Centrino N6205

mylo

  • Guest
New box
« Reply #3 on: 2012/02/26, 14:01:38 »
Thanks guys,

that are exactly the informations I was looking for!

EDIT:
In case all data are on seperate partitions outside /home:
Does it still makes sense to add /home to the SSD?

Offline ayla

  • User
  • Posts: 1.710
New box
« Reply #4 on: 2012/02/26, 15:32:01 »
I use /home for evrything I need often, other data is stored on a normal HD. Yes, I would say it makes daily work faster and so makes sense.
And for swap: Swap ist used very seldom on my system. So I guess it's not realy a burden for my SSD.
HP EliteBook 8570p; MoBo: HP model: 17A7 v: KBC Version 42.35
Dual core  i5-3320M (-MT-MCP-)
Intel 3. Gen Graphics (Ivybridge) Driver:i915/ intel
 Wifi Intel Centrino N6205

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.612
New box
« Reply #5 on: 2012/02/26, 17:46:05 »
New systems should be equipped with at least 8 GByte RAM, given the price-level we have at the moment. Then swap becomes a thing of the past for desktop systems.

greetz
devil

Offline DeepDayze

  • User
  • Posts: 422
New box
« Reply #6 on: 2012/02/27, 02:32:00 »
Quote from: "devil"
New systems should be equipped with at least 8 GByte RAM, given the price-level we have at the moment. Then swap becomes a thing of the past for desktop systems.

greetz
devil


Yes then you could then even use RAM for /tmp and /run so there
s even less burden on the SSD

mylo

  • Guest
New box
« Reply #7 on: 2012/02/27, 21:15:37 »
Quote from: "DeepDayze"

Yes then you could then even use RAM for /tmp and /run so there
s even less burden on the SSD


Interesting, how to force that?

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.612
New box
« Reply #8 on: 2012/02/27, 21:24:27 »
Its described in my SSD-Howto
Unfortunately Ivy Bridge got delayed until June today.
So, if you want it soon, its gonna be Sandy Bridge.

greetz
devil

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.695
New box
« Reply #9 on: 2012/02/28, 00:25:17 »
damn... until june? I was thinking to upgrade soon... and in june it will still be very expensive, so I should at least wait until December...

Offline agaida

  • User
  • Posts: 1.760
    • http://g-com.eu
New box
« Reply #10 on: 2012/02/28, 00:45:20 »
Quote from: "mylo"
Quote from: "DeepDayze"

Yes then you could then even use RAM for /tmp and /run so there
s even less burden on the SSD


Interesting, how to force that?


Read more https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fstab and even more
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=132853

EDIT: Removed the code. mylo, you have to do exactly nothing. Its already in debian. login as root, type mount and smile.
There's this special biologist word we use for "stable". It's "dead". ~ Jack Cohen