Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [EN] Going to italy - how do I get Vodafone-UMTS?  (Read 3724 times)

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.781
[EN] Going to italy - how do I get Vodafone-UMTS?
« on: 2012/06/24, 23:02:11 »
I used in the passed years wvdial, but I lost my wvdial.conf in my laptopchange...
Sad but true. ;-)

what would you recommend? wvdial or are there in the meantime other possibilities,
What about networkmanager, can I connect to Vodafone mobile (umts) with it?

Offline michaa7

  • User
  • Posts: 2.318
Going to italy - how do I get Vodafone-UMTS?
« Reply #1 on: 2012/06/27, 19:01:32 »
I would ask in the semplice forum
http://semplice-linux.sourceforge.net/community/
, it's an italian debian/sid distro with it and en forum. I think you can assume, that *there* you get better info about italian mobil providers, Vodafone included.
Ok, you can't code, but you still might be able to write a bug report for Debian's sake

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.781
Going to italy - how do I get Vodafone-UMTS?
« Reply #2 on: 2012/06/27, 22:58:04 »
thanks :-)

mork

  • Guest
Going to italy - how do I get Vodafone-UMTS?
« Reply #3 on: 2012/06/28, 10:15:34 »
Configuring a mobile netwwork with networkmanager isn't difficult. It worked for me using a Huawei (E160??) UMTS-Stick and a vodafone SIM-Card.
What would be different using an italian card? All you need is the APN, or am i wrong?

greetings,
mork

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.781
Going to italy - how do I get Vodafone-UMTS?
« Reply #4 on: 2012/06/28, 11:52:08 »
I didn't even know that networkmanager can do it. I will try it!

mork

  • Guest
Going to italy - how do I get Vodafone-UMTS?
« Reply #5 on: 2012/06/28, 13:03:39 »
There's a thread somewhere with the extra packages you need to install...

Good luck,
mork

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.781
Going to italy - how do I get Vodafone-UMTS?
« Reply #6 on: 2012/07/02, 16:46:05 »
hi mork, I do not understand this...
You mean a thread here in the siduction-forum?

my usb Stick:
Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. E220 HSDPA Modem / E230/E270/E870 HSDPA/HSUPA Modem

mork

  • Guest
Going to italy - how do I get Vodafone-UMTS?
« Reply #7 on: 2012/07/02, 18:20:17 »
yes, the info is in a thread in this forum:

Quote from: "bluelupo"
Hallo ayla,
du musst folgende Packete installieren:

* network-manager
* plasma-widget-networkmanagement
* evtl. noch etwas aus empfohlenen Packeten (zB VPN, modemmanager für UMTS-Verbindungen) installieren

Danach die /etc/network/interfaces bis auf die Loopback Einträge (lo) leer machen. Dann in den Systemsettings unter Netzwerkeinstellungen LAN, WLAN und ggf. UMTS konfigurieren.

Um das Widget noch nutzen zu können solltest du das noch über den Dialog "Miniprogramme installieren" auf die Kontrolleiste legen (müsste Netzwerkverwaltung heissen). Hiermit musst dann bei einem Wechsel zB von LAN- auf WLAN-Verbindung nicht mehr die Systemsettings bemühen.


You need plasma-widget-networkmanagement for kde, with xfce/lxde something else.... network-manager-gnome?

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.781
Going to italy - how do I get Vodafone-UMTS?
« Reply #8 on: 2012/07/02, 19:28:06 »
thanks. In the meantime i found the wikitext from bluelupo.

http://wiki.siduction.de/index.php?title=Network-Manager_auf_der_Kommandozeile

i installed modemtools and a lot else with

Quote

apt-get install network-manager modemmanager mobile-broadband-provider-info plasma-widget-networkmanagement network-manager-vpnc network-manager-openvpn network-manager


Now, I can open and configure "mobile devices". I added an italian vodafone configuration, added passwords, pin ecc.... and its not connecting.

The same sim with wvdial, and the configuration I used for years), I found it on a friends linux computer from 2009, does not work either.

The errormessage from wvdial:

Quote

wvdial: utils/wvtask.cc:409: static void WvTaskMan::_stackmaster(): Assertion `magic_number == -0x123678' failed.


In my Google-Nexus Mobil the italian sim is working, I can use internet by opening a mobile hotspot... but its not so handy for me, because I have to change the sim everytime...

SO, if anybody has more ideas...
I will google a bit for the errormessage!

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.781

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.781
Going to italy - how do I get Vodafone-UMTS?
« Reply #10 on: 2012/07/16, 18:32:00 »
Mit der neuen Version von libwvstreams4.6-base sollte wvdial laut Bugreport evtl gehen. Hat das schon jemand getestet?

Offline whistler_mb

  • User
  • Posts: 198
Going to italy - how do I get Vodafone-UMTS?
« Reply #11 on: 2012/07/16, 21:11:29 »
bei mir läuft es

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.781
Going to italy - how do I get Vodafone-UMTS?
« Reply #12 on: 2012/07/17, 04:21:55 »
Danke für die Rückmeldung!