Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [EN] [solved] iceweasel rendering partly corrupt  (Read 7169 times)

wannek3

  • Guest
[EN] [solved] iceweasel rendering partly corrupt
« on: 2012/09/27, 11:05:33 »
Edit:
solved with an xorg.conf containing framebuffer (and empty line) as suggested by brummer. Thanks a lot!

Hi,

as described here
http://forum.siduction.org/index.php?topic=2149&highlight=iceweasel
(german) in April, i have the very same problem now, again:
some lines or words in web-pages are "pixeled" or shown as a block, unreadable. But it goes away, if i hover with the mouse, scroll or move the iceweasel-window over the edges of the screen.

I did already switch off hardware accelleration in iceweasel (and have the impression, it is less frequent since, now) and checked for libcairo2 (already newest):
Code: [Select]
# dpkg -s libcairo2
Package: libcairo2
Architecture: amd64
Version: 1.12.2-2

Anybody else has seen this? Or maybe a solution?
Thanks!
« Last Edit: 2013/11/10, 04:04:02 by ayla »

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.844
iceweasel rendering partly corrupt
« Reply #1 on: 2012/09/27, 12:23:55 »
What version of Iceweasel is that?

greetz
devil

wannek3

  • Guest
iceweasel rendering partly corrupt
« Reply #2 on: 2012/09/27, 16:02:10 »
Hi Devil,
thanks for taking care!
It is 10.0.7, apt claims, it's the newest.
Greets

Edit:
here is a link how it does look like
http://debianforum.de/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=136313&hilit=Schrift+Fehler
I use (as before, nothing changed here) nouveau for a nvidia GF108 [Quadro 1000M]

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.844
iceweasel rendering partly corrupt
« Reply #3 on: 2012/09/27, 18:17:00 »
I faintly remember that. I run 17.0a2 (2012-09-21).
That and some inbetween are available at http://mozilla.debian.net. Pick your poison.

greetz
devil

mylo

  • Guest
iceweasel rendering partly corrupt
« Reply #4 on: 2012/09/27, 19:57:02 »
Here no problems with:

Code: [Select]
pol iceweasel
iceweasel:
  Installiert:           10.0.7esr-2
  Installationskandidat: 10.0.7esr-2
  Versionstabelle:

wannek3

  • Guest
RE: iceweasel rendering partly corrupt
« Reply #5 on: 2012/09/28, 11:01:53 »
Hi mylo,

thanks for having a look and sharing, but i had the very same version.


Hi devil,

thanks for the hint! So i tried the next, experimental:
# apt-cache policy iceweasel
iceweasel:
  Installiert:           15.0.1-1
  Installationskandidat: 15.0.1-1

But: same (bad) behaviour :-(


Additionally i realized, that the pixelized rendering also occurs in iceweasel's page header tabs, not only inside the web pages.

Offline brummer

  • User
  • Posts: 276
    • http://guitarix.sourceforge.net/
RE: iceweasel rendering partly corrupt
« Reply #6 on: 2012/10/02, 10:30:34 »
« Last Edit: 2013/11/10, 04:02:09 by ayla »

wannek3

  • Guest
RE: iceweasel rendering partly corrupt
« Reply #7 on: 2012/10/02, 14:10:19 »
Hi brummer,

thanks, but it seems, shadowfb is already active (and glxgears fast).
Code: [Select]

[    24.553] (II) Loading sub module "shadowfb"
[    24.553] (II) LoadModule: "shadowfb"
[    24.553] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/libshadowfb.so
[    24.554] (II) Module shadowfb: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[    24.554]    compiled for 1.12.4, module version = 1.0.0
[    24.554]    ABI class: X.Org ANSI C Emulation, version 0.4

and no unload...

Offline brummer

  • User
  • Posts: 276
    • http://guitarix.sourceforge.net/
RE: iceweasel rendering partly corrupt
« Reply #8 on: 2012/10/02, 15:25:28 »
Well, that it is loaded doesn’t mean that the shadow framebuffer is "on", look for this lines in your Xorg.0.log:

Quote
[    19.710] (**) NOUVEAU(0): Option "ShadowFB" "true"
[    19.710] (==) NOUVEAU(0): Using HW cursor
[    19.711] (**) NOUVEAU(0): Using "Shadow Framebuffer" - acceleration disabled
[

Offline reddark

  • User
  • Posts: 1.053
    • http://www.klangruinen.de/
[solved] iceweasel rendering partly corrupt
« Reply #9 on: 2012/10/02, 17:17:25 »
@wannek:
apt-cache policy iceweasel
Code: [Select]
iceweasel:
  Installiert:           17.0~a2+20120928042009-1
  Installationskandidat: 17.0~a2+20120928042009-1
  Versionstabelle:
 *** 17.0~a2+20120928042009-1 0
        500 http://mozilla.debian.net/ experimental/iceweasel-aurora amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status


v15 to old ... ;)

wannek3

  • Guest
[solved] iceweasel rendering partly corrupt
« Reply #10 on: 2012/10/04, 08:46:49 »
@brummer
no, i don't have any of your three lines...
(I don't even use a /etc/X11/xorg.conf)

@reddark
experimental still has 15.0.1-1. And since nothing changed sid->experimental, i don't believe in iceweasel's fault.

Offline brummer

  • User
  • Posts: 276
    • http://guitarix.sourceforge.net/
[solved] iceweasel rendering partly corrupt
« Reply #11 on: 2012/10/04, 09:48:16 »
Well, the shadow framebuffer is off by default, so it's no wonder.

here is my etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nouveau.conf

Code: [Select]
Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device 0"
    Driver "nouveau"
    Option "ShadowFB"   "true"
    #Option "GLXVBlank"  "true"
EndSection


you can try it if you like,

Offline ghstryder

  • User
  • Posts: 95
[solved] iceweasel rendering partly corrupt
« Reply #12 on: 2012/10/05, 01:40:50 »
I have the same problem that wannek3 has, for all practical intents and purposes. I usually use Chromium, so I haven't spent a lot of time looking for a solution. All the work wannek3 and others have put into this spurred me to look at it.

1 - I have the same software versions wannek3 has. I went to the version in experimental when it was suggested above with no change. I should add that I even see the problem in the address bar, it isn't limited to tabs or web pages.

2 - it has not always been this way. Since I do not use it regularly, I can't be sure of the exact time it happened.

3 - if I boot with a 64bit Desperado Reloaded iso, I see the identical problem.

4 - I grabbed an iso of Mint KDE 64bit and tried it - there is no problem in Mint, and there is no /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nouveau.conf by default.

wannek3

  • Guest
[solved] iceweasel rendering partly corrupt
« Reply #13 on: 2012/10/05, 18:28:56 »
@brummer
thanks, but unfortunately your suggestion did not work. If Your lines are the only ones in my xorg.conf then x does not start at all:
Code: [Select]
no screens found
And
Code: [Select]
Xorg -configure dies with something like "number of created screens do not match".

By the way: as ghstryder told, i can see this on a brand new installation of Desperado Reloaded, too.

Offline michaa7

  • User
  • Posts: 2.302
[solved] iceweasel rendering partly corrupt
« Reply #14 on: 2012/10/05, 20:32:41 »
just in case:
Quote
...
EndSection
# Leerzeile muss sein


and what's the name of your xorg.conf file (full path)
Ok, you can't code, but you still might be able to write a bug report for Debian's sake