Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic:  [RESOLVED]plasma. broken panel, panel menu, run dialog, desktop context menu  (Read 5097 times)

hhhorb

  • Guest
The plasma and kernel update on testing two days ago broke my buster desktop...

https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=907301

Anybody else?
« Last Edit: 2018/08/29, 05:11:58 by hhhorb »

Offline hendrikL

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Gravatar
  • Posts: 986
https://lists.debian.org/debian-kde/2018/08/msg00032.html

Edit:
ps.: siduction is debian sid (unstable) not testing (buster)!
« Last Edit: 2018/08/28, 07:19:58 by hendrikL »

hhhorb

  • Guest
I know, but I'm trying to recover the desktop and I'm clutching at straws here. Removing
plasma-org.kde.plasma.desktop-appletsrc
didn't work for me.

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.846
You need to install missing packages from unstable in this case (dist-upgrade). that will fix it. People commonly think, testing is more stable than unstable, but imho it is not.

Offline hendrikL

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Gravatar
  • Posts: 986
Or if you wanna stay with buster,
in the bug report above is the answer!

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.846
Is that not precisely what I said? :)

hhhorb

  • Guest
@devil...

Quote
People commonly think, testing is more stable than unstable, but imho it is not.
Agreed, especially as packages rush into testing with only four months before The Freeze.

Thanks for the heads-up, I'll try running sid till The buster Freeze.

-edit- BTW, move this topic if it doesn't belong in Upgrade Warnings, please.
« Last Edit: 2018/08/29, 02:16:23 by hhhorb »

Offline DeepDayze

  • User
  • Posts: 458
Is that not precisely what I said? :)
@devil...

Quote
People commonly think, testing is more stable than unstable, but imho it is not.
Agreed, especially as packages rush into testing with only four months before The Freeze.

Thanks for the heads-up, I'll try running sid till The buster Freeze.

-edit- BTW, move this topic if it doesn't belong in Upgrade Warnings, please.


Agreed with this about Testing...even though Testing gets updates it is not on a steady cadence and things do get rushed into testing at times especially before freezes. I have to admit Sid is actually better :)

hhhorb

  • Guest
Fixed by dist-upgrading to sid...

Thanks for the advice, devil. Marking this thread [RESOLVED].

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.846
Good you got your system back in one piece. Thread can stay here, maybe other users run testing systems next to siduction.

Offline shab

  • User
  • Posts: 10
Everything works fine with one user, but the second user and a new user shows a black screen, no controlpanel and no contextmenu.

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.846
shab, I don't think, this is the same issue. From what I understood on IRC, you run siduction. This thread deals with problems that occured in debian testing. If you are running siduction, you should open a seperate thread.