Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic:  Opera not playing media  (Read 3548 times)

Offline titan

• User
Opera not playing media
« on: 2017/08/02, 18:11:21 »
I have been using Opera for a couple of months after many years with Iceweasel/Firefox and I like it a lot but one problem I can't find a fix for it that it won't play some media in Twitter, Firefox and Chrome both play the same media. Various suggestions on the net refer to Chrome multimedia codecs but no joy. All suggestions welcome.

Offline piper

• User
  • we are the priests ... of the temples of syrinx
Re: Opera not playing media
« Reply #1 on: 2017/08/02, 18:45:33 »
I don't use the browser but does this help (ignore if you tried)

Code: [Select]
apt install pepperflashplugin-nonfree browser-plugin-freshplayer-pepperflash
Not sure exactly what you mean by "Chrome multimedia codecs"

https://www.google.com/search?q=Chrome+multimedia+codecs
Free speech isn't just fucking saying what you want to say, it's also hearing what you don't want to fucking hear

I either give too many fucks or no fucks at all, it's like I cannot find a middle ground for a moderate fuck distribution, it's like what the fuck

Offline michaa7

• User
« Reply #2 on: 2017/08/02, 21:38:29 »
https://labs.gwendragon.de/blog/Web/Browser/Vivaldi/vivaldi-debian-install-libffmpeg

German, but partly EN.

Solves your chrome multimedia codecs problem, may be. It *is* the codec you need, but I don't know whether it will be installed the way it needs to be installed for Opera, too. Ask Gwendragon if necessary (she speaks EN).

BTW: give Vivaldi a try (made by the original Opera team)
Ok, you can't code, but you still might be able to write a bug report for Debian's sake

Offline titan

• User
« Reply #3 on: 2017/08/02, 21:53:00 »