seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2018/05/25, 12:48:17


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: Change from aptosid to siduction  (Read 724 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline titan

  • User
  • Posts: 163
Change from aptosid to siduction
« on: 2018/01/30, 21:26:58 »
My main PC is running aptosid it is fully updated, I read the siduction forum every day, I think I should change to siduction as aptosid appears to be dead, although slh still puts out regular kernels. This is my main PC so I want to get the changeover right. I think I should be able to do the change by adding the siduction repros and # the aptosid ones or is that too simple. Looking for the siduction repros there seems to be a couple of conflicting addresses.


this



extra (amd64 / i386)
Please add these lines to /etc/apt/sources.list.d/siduction.list or create the file /etc/apt/sources.list.d/extra.list containing these lines:
deb     http://packages.siduction.org/extra unstable main
deb-src http://packages.siduction.org/extra unstable main
fixes (amd64 / i386)


Please add these lines to /etc/apt/sources.list or create the file /etc/apt/sources.list.d/siduction.list containing these lines:
deb     http://packages.siduction.org/fixes unstable main contrib non-free
deb-src http://packages.siduction.org/fixes unstable main contrib non-free


or these



Active apt sources in file /etc/apt/sources.list.d/extra.list
deb http://ftp.spline.de/pub/siduction/extra unstable main
           
Active apt sources in file /etc/apt/sources.list.d/fixes.list
deb http://ftp.spline.de/pub/siduction/fixes unstable main contrib non-free


Which one to use, I think it should be the first ones without the ftp and I also assume my Debian repros are OK.


Any advice welcome


Thanks




Offline piper

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.255
Re: Change from aptosid to siduction
« Reply #1 on: 2018/01/30, 22:02:13 »
If, that's a big if, were me, I would start from scratch

but .. that's your choice :P

debian sid  |  apt into it

"We are the Priests, of the Temples of Syrinx..."

Offline titan

  • User
  • Posts: 163
Re: Change from aptosid to siduction
« Reply #2 on: 2018/01/30, 23:13:53 »
Thanks for the lists, may just wait until I put in a new mobo later in the year.

Offline titan

  • User
  • Posts: 163
Re: Change from aptosid to siduction
« Reply #3 on: 2018/02/01, 14:24:27 »
Obviously tempted fate thinking about changing to siduction as the latest aptosid kernel wont work with my graphics, I posted on the aptosid forum and towo tried to help me but it is still broken, not a major problem as the previous kernel works fine. I will be doing a hardware rebuild later in the year so will do a clean install then,  new mobo will be uefi.


However how easy would it be to change over to siduction (towo) kernels, any advice welcome


thanks

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.568
Re: Change from aptosid to siduction
« Reply #4 on: 2018/02/01, 18:44:28 »
If you have a backup and know how to work with backups, I would give it a try, but honestly...
I belive you will spend a lot more time maintaining your old system (how much time passed since installing it? 5 years?)

I would by a 128 SSD for about 50 €/USD and do a install of siuduction. Yuu will need some hours to make it similar to your System, but you can make a dualboot (if its not a laptop) and transfer althe date smoothly and also compare the two systems...
« Last Edit: 2018/02/01, 19:11:52 by Lanzi »

Offline titan

  • User
  • Posts: 163
Re: Change from aptosid to siduction
« Reply #5 on: 2018/02/01, 21:13:06 »
Hi Lanzi thanks for suggestion but I managed to boot with new kernel and find the error and posted  it on aptosid forum,  towo gave me solution and all is working OK. I will do a clean install of siduction when I upgrade my hardware later this year.

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.568
Re: Change from aptosid to siduction
« Reply #6 on: 2018/02/01, 21:30:40 »
Okay. thanks for the feedback.
See you then in Summer :)

Offline titan

  • User
  • Posts: 163
Re: Change from aptosid to siduction
« Reply #7 on: 2018/02/01, 22:06:11 »
I read this forum two or three times every day, I run siduction on my laptop it is just my main pc has aptosid

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.568
Re: Change from aptosid to siduction
« Reply #8 on: 2018/02/02, 14:16:32 »
ah, okay... my bad, havn't seen your postingnumber :)

Offline jaegermeister

  • User
  • Posts: 209
Re: Change from aptosid to siduction
« Reply #9 on: 2018/02/07, 23:16:04 »
C'mon, let's call it the right way, you know that reinstall from scratch is the only proper way, but you are lazy enough to ask developers to waste their precious time helping you to spare time on the backup-reinstall-restore process that awaits you, rather than better investing it on devel or in their own private lives.

This is clearly not a support issue but a "please do it for me because I am lazy" issue.
My advice: backup-reinstall-restore. You will be happier, no glitches, no surprises, no time waste.

P.S.: I also had one last aptosid machine; it has gone with a full siduction reinstall.
---------------------------------------
SI VIS PACEM PARA BELLVM
---------------------------------------

Offline piper

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.255
Re: Change from aptosid to siduction
« Reply #10 on: 2018/02/08, 08:50:04 »
@titan

I would love to update this to siduction ...  but, just not within one's powers; feasible. :)

This is also a private build I made at the time

Code: [Select]
piper@(none):~$ infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS  "(none)" running Linux 2.6.20.1-slh-smp-2 i686 [ sidux 2007-01 - Χάος (200702210759) ]
CPU Info        (1) AMD FX-6300 Six-Core 2048 KB cache flags( sse sse2 nx lm pni svm ) clocked at [ 3523.938 MHz ]
                (2) AMD FX-6300 Six-Core 2048 KB cache flags( sse sse2 nx lm pni svm ) clocked at [ 3523.938 MHz ]
                (3) AMD FX-6300 Six-Core 2048 KB cache flags( sse sse2 nx lm pni svm ) clocked at [ 3523.938 MHz ]
                (4) AMD FX-6300 Six-Core 2048 KB cache flags( sse sse2 nx lm pni svm ) clocked at [ 3523.938 MHz ]
                (5) AMD FX-6300 Six-Core 2048 KB cache flags( sse sse2 nx lm pni svm ) clocked at [ 3523.938 MHz ]
                (6) AMD FX-6300 Six-Core 2048 KB cache flags( sse sse2 nx lm pni svm ) clocked at [ 3523.938 MHz ]
Videocard       nVidia Unknown device 13c2  X.Org 7.1.1  [ 1024x768 @76hz ]
Network cards   Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller, at port: be00
Processes 133 | Uptime 14min | Memory 216.883/3032.67MB | HDD ATA Hitachi HDS72202,ATA ST3000DM001-1CH1,ATA ST3000DM001-1CH1 Size 8001GB (0%used) | Client Shell | Infobash v2.58
debian sid  |  apt into it

"We are the Priests, of the Temples of Syrinx..."

Offline titan

  • User
  • Posts: 163
Re: Change from aptosid to siduction
« Reply #11 on: 2018/02/08, 16:29:13 »
C'mon, let's call it the right way, you know that reinstall from scratch is the only proper way, but you are lazy enough to ask developers to waste their precious time helping you to spare time on the backup-reinstall-restore process that awaits you, rather than better investing it on devel or in their own private lives.

This is clearly not a support issue but a "please do it for me because I am lazy" issue.
My advice: backup-reinstall-restore. You will be happier, no glitches, no surprises, no time waste.

P.S.: I also had one last aptosid machine; it has gone with a full siduction reinstall.


Why so rude and personal attack   :(    I just asked if changing repros would work. If you have nothing useful to say best say nothing :)