Siduction Forum

Siduction Forum => Hardware - Support => Hardware Support (EN) => Topic started by: finotti on 2018/07/13, 03:24:51

Title: Adding New SSD
Post by: finotti on 2018/07/13, 03:24:51
I feel a bit embarrassed of asking this, but: I bought a new SSD to add to my desktop.  (It will not replace anything, and it is not the system disk.)  My plan was to add the SDD, boot, edit the fstab file (using UUID), format it, and copy some files to it, which is what I think I've done in the past.
My reluctance is that, if I remember well, systemd does not boot if fstab is not properly set (if I remember well), so I would not be able to follow my plan, unless I'd do it in rescue mode.  Is that the case?  If so, how do I boot in rescue mode?
Also, I might have to change some of the SATA cables around, but since the fstab is set using UUID, it should not be a problem, correct?
Title: Re: Adding New SSD
Post by: der_bud on 2018/07/13, 11:43:21
The fstab file is there to do planned mounts of certain devices to certain mointpoints, be it 'sda1 shoud be /' or 'uuid=xxyyzz should be /home/user/garbage'. If there are wrong assignments, the boot might hang for a while.
If you put a new disk in your system and have no belonging fstab entry, that should do no harm. That disk will just not be mounted during startup, you can do anything what you want with it after boot. So, put it in, boot, partition/format it and then create fstab entries.
Title: Re: Adding New SSD
Post by: finotti on 2018/07/13, 18:13:24
Thanks, der_bud, for the reply!  I will give it a try tomorrow, but seems like it should not be a problem, then.
Thanks!
Title: Re: Adding New SSD
Post by: devil on 2018/07/13, 18:54:05
Are you aware of the fact, that, if you have a bunch of HDDs and an SDD, not putting the system on the SDD does not make much sense?
Title: Re: Adding New SSD
Post by: finotti on 2018/07/13, 18:57:40
Are you aware of the fact, that, if you have a bunch of HDDs and an SDD, not putting the system on the SDD does not make much sense?
Yes. :-)  I already have an SSD with the system.  I just bought a new one when I stated to run out of space in home.  (I've been working with music recording, which takes a lot of space, but benefits from fast storage.)
Thanks for checking, though. :-)
Title: Re: Adding New SSD
Post by: tommy2 on 2018/07/14, 15:15:42
Why didn't you just move yor home directory to the new drive, , easier in the long run.  :)