Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [EN] Plank - Keep in Dock not available  (Read 2774 times)

beje

[EN] Plank - Keep in Dock not available
« on: 2020/06/24, 15:48:16 »
Hi there, I have a problem with Plank and I do not know what is wrong, where to look, what to try...
The problem is as following: when I start an application, for example Thunderbird, but is also happening to others, like for example Iron, I do not have the option to "Keep in Dock". Another symptom is that the icon is kind of blurry (see the screenshot...)
If I add the entry manually I get the "Preferences:456] Unable to load preferences from file"
Can somebody point me on what I am missing? Thanks.

Offline dibl

• siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: Plank - Keep in Dock not available
« Reply #1 on: 2020/06/24, 17:38:19 »
I am far from a plank expert -- if Melmarker sees this, he can probably give a better answer.

So I have one system with the LXQt desktop and plank.  Mostly I just use it, but at times I have accidentally pulled an icon off the dock, and had to restore it. Your "fuzzy icon" issue might have to do with the size of the icons that you installed. Depending on your DE, you should have some choices about which size icons you select for your dock.  I'll attach a screenshot of my plank settings, which is pretty simple.

Under ~/.config/plank/dock1/launchers you find the *.dockitem files, one for each icon on the dock.  Here is the qterminal.dockitem file on my system:

Code: [Select]
[PlankDockItemPreferences]
file:///usr/share/applications/qterminal.desktop
« Last Edit: 2020/06/24, 17:52:53 by dibl »
System76 Oryx Pro, Intel Core i7-11800H, SSD 970 EVO Plus;  Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO

beje

« Reply #2 on: 2020/06/25, 11:54:31 »