Siduction Forum

Siduction Forum => Software - Support => Software Support (EN) => Topic started by: dibl on 2020/06/27, 13:57:04

Title: SOLVED -- Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: dibl on 2020/06/27, 13:57:04
Does anyone see a way to set switching to use the mouse wheel, as it was before the transition?

If not, I think we'll spend the next 6 months un-learning that habit!   :'(
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: bevo on 2020/06/27, 14:35:29
@dibl
deactivate the left handed switch button by right klick. than klick apply using the right button.
bevo
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: ghstryder on 2020/06/27, 14:45:48
dibl,
I was preparing to do a full-upgrade and came here to check just in case. I wasn't happy seeing your post, it's one of the features I really like.I am fully upgraded and still have the feature, nothing has changed here. Roll the wheel, the Virtual Desktop changes.Mouse Actions in Desktop Settings are as they were: Vertical Scroll is set to 'Switch Desktop'.
 
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: dibl on 2020/06/27, 16:31:20
This is so strange! On another upgraded siduction system with similar hardware (Intel CPU, Nvidia graphics, etc.) there is no problem with the desktop cube and virtual desktop switching.

On the problem system, the settings are as expected (screenshot). I suspected my old Microsoft mouse so I tried it with a Logitech mouse, and the problem remains the same.

Quote from: bevo
...by right klick

@bevo -- where shall I do the right-click?

Thanks!
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: bevo on 2020/06/27, 16:53:07
oops  :-[ my setting panel looks different.
I'm not sure if my screenshot is attached


Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: dibl on 2020/06/27, 17:40:11
Quote from: bevo
oops  :-[ my setting panel looks different.

LOL -- I don't know what that is -- I've never seen it before!   ;D

Since I have one updated system working correctly, with similar hardware, I think maybe I'm facing some kind of configuration issue.  The vertical scroll wheel is working on some packages, like email, so I don't think it's a hardware problem. I tried downgrading systemsettings from the norbert preining repository back to the Debian repo, but that made no difference. I reinstalled kwin-x11 and plasma-desktop and that made no difference. I know there are many tweakable settings under the plasma configuration files, so I think I'm doomed to go digging in there.
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: der_bud on 2020/06/27, 18:48:31
Switching virtual desktops with mousewheel (or, in my case, touchpad vertical edge scroll) does not work when the mousepointer is anywhere on the desktop. But at least when the cursor hovers over the desktops symbol in the panel, then scrolling switches desktops.
@bevo & @dibl: bevo showed mouse settings, via controlcenter-hardware-inputdevices (I hope, i've german desktop, too). dibl showed desktop settings via rightclick background-settings-mouseactions. (and here the settings are the same and do not work...)
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: eriefisher on 2020/06/27, 19:44:09
I use Xfce4 as opposed to Plasma and like der_bud, with the cursor over the panel, scrolling switches desktops but with two finger scrolling in any direction(laptop with touchpad). Vertical scrolling does nothing. I can select it though in the touchpad settings

Is there not a virtual desktop setting somewhere in plasma?
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: dibl on 2020/06/27, 20:33:13
Quote from: eriefisher
Is there not a virtual desktop setting somewhere in plasma?

Yes, under System Settings > Workspace Behavior > Virtual Desktops, you set the number of rows and number of VDs in each row. So 1 row with 4 VDs sets the cube. But how you switch it is not defined there.  There's also Desktop Effects where you choose how to animate the switch (cube, slide, etc.), but again no setting for how to switch.

I found bevo's setting under Hardware > Input Devices.
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: der_bud on 2020/06/27, 22:08:28
Ha, got it working. As I have german localization, hopefully I translate it correctly. This is what I did:
 - rightclick desktop - unlock widgets
 - rightclick desktop - Settings
 - Layout was Folderview --> Changed it to Workspace (? Arbeitsfläche)
 - answered yes to question that some settings have to be applied
=> immediately mousewheel switches Virtual Desktops. Hope it helps ;)
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: dibl on 2020/06/27, 23:42:59
Aha!  Well, that's an excellent hint -- when I went to "unlock" widgets, that function is not on my desktop.  I never noticed that I don't have it any more, after the transition.  So, what package provides the locking and unlocking of the widgets?

EDIT: With a little google help, I suspected I was missing some plasma packages.  I discovered what is missing this way:

Code: [Select]
don@dibl-patience:~$ sudo apt install -s plasma-widgets-addons
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following additional packages will be installed:
  libqt5webengine5 qml-module-qtwebengine qml-module-qtwebkit
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  libqt5webengine5 plasma-widgets-addons qml-module-qtwebengine qml-module-qtwebkit
0 upgraded, 4 newly installed, 0 to remove and 1 not upgraded.
Inst qml-module-qtwebkit (5.212.0~alpha4-4 Debian:unstable [amd64])

With these packages installed, and if I put the cursor over the pager on the panel, the mouse wheel will turn the cube.

But, the switching used to happen on the desktop itself, not only on the panel.  And that is the way my other system still works.  So there is more to learn on this topic. And I still don't have the "Lock" and "Unlock" widgets function -- so there is more fixing to do on this system.

Vielen dank, @der_bud!
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: dibl on 2020/06/28, 10:46:25
Reading about Plasma 5.18 (https://kde.org/announcements/plasma-5.18.0), we don't have to "Lock Widgets" and "Unlock Widgets" any more.  We have the Global Edit mode instead. So that question is answered.
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: titan on 2020/06/28, 11:45:50
Is this version from the official Debian repro , mine still showing  5.17.5
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: dibl on 2020/06/28, 12:03:12
No, this is the new 5.18.0 from the Norbert Preining repo.
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: der_bud on 2020/06/28, 12:49:58
titan, for an explanation take a look in this thread: https://forum.siduction.org/index.php?topic=7990.msg64817#msg64817
I am on standard siduction+debian repos, so still on 5.17. For this, with my workaround desktop switches when I scroll anywhere on the desktop. For 5.18 this might be still 'work in progress', and sometimes this or that little library on Norberts repo comes later.

Just for comparison, these ar all my installed packages with plasma in their name or description:  http://pb.5id.eu/fsXE  ; and these are the ones with widget in their name or description:  http://pb.5id.eu/WPHa

Now reading dibls link on plasma 5.18 and looking forward to that. Other good articles are often seen on https://pointieststick.com/ (devil mentions them sometimes)
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: titan on 2020/06/28, 12:58:38
I have seen the other threads it just wasn't clear from the original post that Plasma transition  was not from official repro.  For the marginal improvements I will just stick with the official Plasma.
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: der_bud on 2020/06/28, 13:02:03
Just to clarify: the qt transition mentioned in upgrade warnings happens in debian - so thats an upgrade warning for everyone! dibls desktop switching problem might be related to using 5.18 (and wasn't clear to me as well until his last post that he is using that one ;) )
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: dibl on 2020/06/28, 13:03:38
Quote from: titan
.. it just wasn't clear from the original post that Plasma transition  was not from official repro.

Yes, that was my error -- sorry.  I know some on this forum are using the npreining KDE repo, but certainly not everyone. I should have said it.
Title: Re: Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: dibl on 2020/06/29, 23:28:06
This issue is now solved.  Starting with Plasma 5.18, the desktop configuration must be set to "Desktop View" for virtual desktop switching to work anywhere on the desktop.  If it is set to "Folder View", virtual desktop switching with the mouse wheel only works if the mouse is hovered over the pager on the panel. Researching on Arch forums, I found that this behavior is now considered "expected", even though a bug was filed with KDE. I will mark the issue as solved.
Title: Re: SOLVED -- Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: samoht on 2020/06/30, 11:29:13
@titan
Quote
... For the marginal improvements I will just stick with the official Plasma.

Have you ever noticed that blog?  :o
https://pointieststick.com/ (https://pointieststick.com/)

Code: [Select]
# LANG=C apt policy plasma-desktop
plasma-desktop:
  Installed: 4:5.19.2-1~np1
  Candidate: 4:5.19.2-1~np1
  Version table:
 *** 4:5.19.2-1~np1 500
        500 https://www.preining.info/debian unstable/kde amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     4:5.17.5-3 500
        500 https://deb.debian.org/debian testing/main amd64 Packages
        500 https://deb.debian.org/debian unstable/main amd64 Packages
Title: Re: SOLVED -- Plasma/KDE, Virtual Desktop Switching
Post by: titan on 2020/07/01, 09:58:31
Yes, I have seen that blog, like I said nothing there I can't wait for  8)