Siduction Forum

Siduction Forum => Upgrade Warnings (DE / EN) => Topic started by: dibl on 2020/10/09, 00:56:46

Title: SOLVED: Wireless network interface -- anyone else?
Post by: dibl on 2020/10/09, 00:56:46
I have seen two updates to network-manager in the last two or three days.  Suddenly, my LXQt laptop with 2017 siduction on it has no wireless interface.

Anyone else seeing a problem?

Thanks!
Title: Re: SOLVED: Wireless network interface -- anyone else?
Post by: dibl on 2020/10/09, 01:26:19
I don't know when or how connman was removed. When I connected the laptop to an ethernet cable, and looked for network-manager and connman, I found that neither one was installed. I know that I set up the wireless interface with connman several years ago, so I reinstalled connman. When I did that, the wireless interface was immediately recognized, and the internet connection is good.

So apparently, a recent update removed connman.   :-X
Title: Re: SOLVED: Wireless network interface -- anyone else?
Post by: GoinEasy9 on 2020/10/09, 22:43:04
Hi dibl

I haven't upgraded my EEEpc (which runs LXqt) in a couple of days, and still have wifi and connman. When I run apt update and apt full-upgrade nothing is removed (I'm not going any further till this is resolved). There is a library that is updated named "libnm0" that is related to network manager, I don't know if this is the cause of the problem, but, there doesn't seem to be anything else on the update list that would affect network manager.

Tom
Title: Re: SOLVED: Wireless network interface -- anyone else?
Post by: devil on 2020/10/09, 23:36:47
dibl: You could try iwd. Works fine on it's own or with NM
https://linuxnews.de/2020/08/inet-wireless-daemon-fuer-wlan-unter-linux/
https://linuxnews.de/2020/09/kleine-gui-fuer-den-inet-wireless-daemon/
https://linuxnews.de/2020/08/ubuntu-testet-iwd/
Title: Re: SOLVED: Wireless network interface -- anyone else?
Post by: dibl on 2020/10/10, 23:38:52
Quote from: GoinEasy9
I haven't upgraded my EEEpc ....

You still have a functional EEEpc?  :o

@Devil, thanks -- I should look into those. This old Dell Inspiron laptop has been so reliable, I forget that it's running sid sometimes. It has been running siduction trouble-free for years.

Code: [Select]
System:    Kernel: 5.8.14-towo.2-siduction-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: LXQt 0.14.1
           Distro: siduction 17.1.0 Patience - lxqt - (201703051830)
Title: Re: SOLVED: Wireless network interface -- anyone else?
Post by: GoinEasy9 on 2020/10/11, 00:32:53
Yes dibl, an EEEpc 1015px, and, thanks to siduction LXqt working and functional.
Title: Re: SOLVED: Wireless network interface -- anyone else?
Post by: dibl on 2020/10/11, 01:46:13
That is impressive!

Here's my POS Dell that I use when I don't need to do any serious work:

Code: [Select]
don@n5110:~$ don@n5110:~$ inxi -Fz
System:    Kernel: 5.8.14-towo.2-siduction-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: LXQt 0.14.1
           Distro: siduction 17.1.0 Patience - lxqt - (201703051830)
Machine:   Type: Portable System: Dell product: Inspiron N5110 v: N/A serial: <filter>
           Mobo: Dell model: 034W60 v: A11 serial: <filter> BIOS: Dell v: A11 date: 08/03/2012
Battery:   ID-1: BAT0 charge: 78.7 Wh condition: 82.2/73.3 Wh (112%)
CPU:       Info: Dual Core model: Intel Core i3-2330M bits: 64 type: MT MCP L2 cache: 3072 KiB
           Speed: 806 MHz min/max: 800/2200 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 897 2: 898 3: 874 4: 869
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics driver: N/A
           Device-2: Microdia type: USB driver: uvcvideo
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.9 driver: vesa unloaded: fbdev,modesetting
           resolution: 1024x768
           OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 10.0.1 256 bits) v: 3.3 Mesa 20.1.9
Audio:     Device-1: Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Family High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.8.14-towo.2-siduction-amd64
Network:   Device-1: Realtek RTL810xE PCI Express Fast Ethernet driver: r8169
           IF: enp5s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Device-2: Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1030 [Rainbow Peak] driver: iwlwifi
           IF: wlp9s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 74.53 GiB used: 19.06 GiB (25.6%)
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Intel model: SSDSA2CW080G3 size: 74.53 GiB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 15.62 GiB used: 13.83 GiB (88.5%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
Swap:      ID-1: swap-1 type: partition size: 2.00 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) dev: /dev/sda2
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 50.0 C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 0
Info:      Processes: 227 Uptime: 16m Memory: 3.75 GiB used: 1.29 GiB (34.4%) Shell: Bash inxi: 3.1.07
don@n5110:~$
 
Title: Re: SOLVED: Wireless network interface -- anyone else?
Post by: GoinEasy9 on 2020/10/11, 03:44:35
And just for the fun of it:
Code: [Select]
System:    Host: EEEpc Kernel: 5.8.13-towo.1-siduction-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64
           Desktop: LXQt 0.14.1 Distro: siduction 18.3.0 Patience - lxqt - (202002161802)
Machine:   Type: Laptop System: ASUSTeK product: 1015PX v: x.x
           serial: <superuser/root required>
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: 1015PE v: x.xx serial: <superuser/root required>
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: 1401 date: 08/30/2011
Battery:   ID-1: BAT0 charge: 36.1 Wh condition: 36.1/47.5 Wh (76%)
CPU:       Info: Dual Core model: Intel Atom N570 bits: 64 type: MT MCP L2 cache: 512 KiB
           Speed: 1000 MHz min/max: 1000/1667 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1000 2: 1000
           3: 1000 4: 1000
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel Atom Processor D4xx/D5xx/N4xx/N5xx Integrated Graphics
           driver: i915 v: kernel
           Device-2: IMC Networks UVC VGA Webcam type: USB driver: uvcvideo
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.9 driver: intel
           unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1024x600~60Hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Pineview M v: 1.4 Mesa 20.1.9
Audio:     Device-1: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.8.13-towo.1-siduction-amd64
Network:   Device-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR8152 v2.0 Fast Ethernet driver: atl1c
           IF: enp1s0 state: down mac: f4:6d:04:82:31:63
           Device-2: Broadcom and subsidiaries BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: bcma-pci-bridge
           IF-ID-1: wlp2s0b1 state: up mac: 48:5d:60:f6:6a:58
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 232.89 GiB used: 7.68 GiB (3.3%)
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WD2500BEVT-80A23T0
           size: 232.89 GiB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 48.97 GiB used: 7.55 GiB (15.4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda4
           ID-2: /home size: 146.65 GiB used: 139.7 MiB (0.1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
Swap:      ID-1: swap-1 type: partition size: 4.00 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) dev: /dev/sda2
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 59.0 C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 3938
Info:      Processes: 167 Uptime: 3h 54m Memory: 1.93 GiB used: 447.2 MiB (22.6%)
           Shell: Bash inxi: 3.1.07
Title: Re: SOLVED: Wireless network interface -- anyone else?
Post by: GoinEasy9 on 2020/10/11, 04:48:18
Just an FYI ... I updated the EEEpc and I still have working connman ui.
Title: Re: SOLVED: Wireless network interface -- anyone else?
Post by: seasons on 2020/10/11, 07:28:59
Here's my POS Dell that I use when I don't need to do any serious work
Is there a reason you're using a generic video driver (and running display at non-native resolution)?
Title: Re: SOLVED: Wireless network interface -- anyone else?
Post by: dibl on 2020/10/11, 10:41:30
Quote from: seasons
Is there a reason you're using a generic video driver (and running display at non-native resolution)?

No. Apparently that is how it was configured during installation. I have never adjusted it since it was installed.

Upon looking into it, I found I had "nomodeset" in the kernel boot parameters. I also have "selinux=0". That reminded me that a couple years ago a new kernel caused booting to hang, and I had to play with the boot parameters to get past that issue. Maybe "nomodeset" was part of the solution at that time, but today I removed it and it is loading the modesetting module and using the higher resolution, so thanks for that @seasons!