seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2020/11/29, 06:00:48


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?  (Read 5815 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vilde

  • User
  • Posts: 678
Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?
« on: 2013/07/12, 15:35:04 »
Yesterday I had a problem with vlc and and .avi files. It was a d-u the day before that came with that problem, it worked before the d-u. So I disabled deb-multimedia, purged all vlc and ffmpeg and installed them again. Now the .avi files are working again.

I have had deb(ian)-multimedia enabled for several years but maybe I don't need it anymore.

Any comments?

Offline piper

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.787
  • we are the priests ... of the temples of syrinx
RE: Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?
« Reply #1 on: 2013/07/12, 15:45:07 »
No problems here with .avi

Tested with vlc, ffmpeg, smplayer, and mythtv
Free speech isn't just fucking saying what you want to say, it's also hearing what you don't want to fucking hear

I either give too many fucks or no fucks at all, it's like I cannot find a middle ground for a moderate fuck distribution, it's like what the fuck

Offline vilde

  • User
  • Posts: 678
Re: RE: Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?
« Reply #2 on: 2013/07/12, 16:38:31 »
Quote from: "piper"
No problems here with .avi

Tested with vlc, ffmpeg, smplayer, and mythtv
Thats good piper but do you use deb-multimedia? My aim for this topic is a discussion about deb-multimedia or not?

Offline michaa7

  • User
  • Posts: 2.128
Re: RE: Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?
« Reply #3 on: 2013/07/12, 17:37:03 »
I keep the entry in my sources.list but it is disabled (commented out) by default. I only enable it if I *really* need something. Then I install selectivly only what I want and what does not create a problem.
Ok, you can't code, but you still might be able to write a bug report for Debian's sake

Offline dieres

  • User
  • Posts: 754
Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?
« Reply #4 on: 2013/07/12, 19:33:25 »
so do I. I never do a dist-upgrade with deb-multimedia enabled.
It has crashed my system once some time ago (perhaps a year or two) and It took me hours to fix it.
Now I comment it out just after I've used it. And then do a apt-get update after this.

Offline Geier0815

  • User
  • Posts: 496
Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?
« Reply #5 on: 2013/07/12, 22:49:13 »
If you only want to decode multimedia for playing it, you don't need it. But if you want to encode multimedia not only in free formats there is no way with debian only. I use it since many years and never had more trouble like with debian unstable. Sometimes you need to read what the dist-upgrade wants to do...
Wenn Windows die Lösung ist...
kann ich dann bitte das Problem zurück haben?

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.664
Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?
« Reply #6 on: 2013/07/13, 09:25:45 »
SInce i got some problems wirh ffmpeg appr. one year ago, I diasbled mutlimedia (especally for ffmpeg!). Debian brings nearly all I need. If you eed HAndbrake or AVIdemux, you can install them and then disable it again.

Offline ReinerS

  • User
  • Posts: 977
Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?
« Reply #7 on: 2013/07/13, 10:15:20 »
I have deb-multimedia enabled since a long time and had not really problems with it at all.
The maintainer was/is always friendly and helpfull. Something I unfortunately cannot state about some debian-maintainers working on the same area of programs.

Maybe I just was lucky but I see no reason to disable it.

regards

Reiner
slackware => SuSE => kanotix => sidux => aptosid  => siduction

Offline DeepDayze

  • User
  • Posts: 414
Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?
« Reply #8 on: 2013/07/13, 16:31:22 »
Quote from: "ReinerS"
I have deb-multimedia enabled since a long time and had not really problems with it at all.
The maintainer was/is always friendly and helpfull. Something I unfortunately cannot state about some debian-maintainers working on the same area of programs.

Maybe I just was lucky but I see no reason to disable it.

regards

Reiner


I have been using DMM as well for a while and I also remember the hiccups with that repo but now it seems to be all cleaned up so had no further issues with those packages. Debian's own multimedia packages seemed to be lagging compared to DMM's in my opinion.

Offline ralul

  • User
  • Posts: 1.809
Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?
« Reply #9 on: 2013/07/13, 17:54:38 »
Because Debian is taken hostage of the libav fork?
experiencing siduction runs better than my gentoo makes me know I know nothing

Offline DeepDayze

  • User
  • Posts: 414
Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?
« Reply #10 on: 2013/07/13, 18:04:07 »
Quote from: "ralul"
Because Debian is taken hostage of the libav fork?


That could well be possible and Debian is stuck with the original ffmpeg stuff.

Offline piper

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.787
  • we are the priests ... of the temples of syrinx
Re: RE: Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?
« Reply #11 on: 2013/07/13, 23:28:08 »
Quote from: "vilde"
Quote from: "piper"
No problems here with .avi

Tested with vlc, ffmpeg, smplayer, and mythtv
Thats good piper but do you use deb-multimedia? My aim for this topic is a discussion about deb-multimedia or not?
Yes, I do use it and do a dist-upgrade with it enabled and have been doing so for many many years as well as  my other  machines  (mythtv server and clients)

You need deb-multimedia to get mythtv
Free speech isn't just fucking saying what you want to say, it's also hearing what you don't want to fucking hear

I either give too many fucks or no fucks at all, it's like I cannot find a middle ground for a moderate fuck distribution, it's like what the fuck

Offline michaa7

  • User
  • Posts: 2.128
Re: RE: Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?
« Reply #12 on: 2013/08/13, 13:33:04 »
Quote from: "piper"
...Yes, I do use it and do a dist-upgrade with it enabled and have been doing so for many many years as well as  my other  machines  ...


Do you use special pinnings? If so, which?

As mentioned above, I use MM-deb. But I have learned to be cautious, so usually it's not enabled during ordinary d-u.
Ok, you can't code, but you still might be able to write a bug report for Debian's sake

Offline piper

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.787
  • we are the priests ... of the temples of syrinx
RE: Re: RE: Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?
« Reply #13 on: 2013/08/13, 17:21:42 »
No, no special pinnings, I even build with it, well, I always make 2 builds, one the default siduction kde, and then my own, which is nothing special, just apps removed (that I don't ever use ) and apps added that I use (all in debian repo).

I have been doing it this way, building with MM-deb since sidux days (mythtv) and never had a problem. I do remember a problem with ffmpeg once, but that was fixed in under 12 hours.

Maybe I have been lucky, I have never had a problem and I have been using mythtv (repos always enabled) since the beginning and never had a problem, I hear so many "people" say "stay away" from that repo.

I just never had a problem on 4 of my machines.

In the past, I have been bitten by doing a du in X twice, kind of pissed me off at the time :) that was early days and I know what to look for so it won't happen again
Free speech isn't just fucking saying what you want to say, it's also hearing what you don't want to fucking hear

I either give too many fucks or no fucks at all, it's like I cannot find a middle ground for a moderate fuck distribution, it's like what the fuck

Offline michaa7

  • User
  • Posts: 2.128
RE: Re: RE: Do I (we) need deb-multimedia?
« Reply #14 on: 2013/08/13, 19:56:54 »
Thanks piper.
Ok, you can't code, but you still might be able to write a bug report for Debian's sake