seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2019/12/13, 09:13:11


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: sidu-base package is broken unless systemd is installed  (Read 4102 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

UP2L8

  • Guest
Re: sidu-base package is broken unless systemd is installed
« Reply #15 on: 2014/04/05, 07:09:03 »
...But in the long run i don't think that we will active support sysvinit any longer. We will not make any dependencies to systemd if not needed - and there will be only a handful of packages require systemd. But for these package we are not willing nor have the manpower to provide support for systemd and sysvinit.
How much of an advance notice will be provided to users when the decision is made to no longer support sysvinit?

UP2L8

  • Guest
Re: sidu-base package is broken unless systemd is installed
« Reply #16 on: 2014/04/05, 07:13:20 »
Finally: PRAY and reboot - the order of praying and doing the reboot doesn't really matter 8)
Have there been issues for users who have switched to systemd?

UP2L8

  • Guest
Re: sidu-base package is broken unless systemd is installed
« Reply #17 on: 2014/04/05, 09:52:52 »
Performed a d-up a few minutes ago under LXDE and the issue with sidu-base seems to have been fixed.  I didn't get any error messages and sidu-base was included among the packages updated.
« Last Edit: 2014/04/05, 09:56:36 by UP2L8 »

Offline melmarker

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.781
    • g-com.eu
Re: sidu-base package is broken unless systemd is installed
« Reply #18 on: 2014/04/05, 10:41:20 »
sidu-base was a accident - we have not much packages with dependencies to a special init in installed systems. And our build scripts at the moment rely heavy on sysvinit - but that are run once scripts and will be mostly removed after the iso-build is done.

a few other scripts depend on sysvinit in the live iso - but as far as we can see run ok with systemd - but they will be changed. So the switch to systemd was not a big deal for us.

The decision to run with systemd in the future was short and hard:  We had the choice to drop our gnome flavour or sysvinit. After a few intensive tests we decided do let sysvinit go  8) - Thats all.
Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety. (Benjamin Franklin, November 11, 1755)
Never attribute to malice that which can be adequately explained by stupidity. (Hanlons razor)

Offline wolf01

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: sidu-base package is broken unless systemd is installed
« Reply #19 on: 2014/05/21, 03:43:11 »
Where is the Catch 22? We are no pilots ....

Code: [Select]
apt-get install systemd sytemd-sysv libpam-systemd systemd-ui
should solve your problems.


hey, I've tried this but got an error (with 0 results on google :/ )

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package sytemd-sysv

any idea what is going on?

(I executed apt-get update before)

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.934
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: sidu-base package is broken unless systemd is installed
« Reply #20 on: 2014/05/21, 04:59:09 »
hey, I've tried this but got an error (with 0 results on google :/ )

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package sytemd-sysv



"systemd" has 2 "s" in it.
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline wolf01

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: sidu-base package is broken unless systemd is installed
« Reply #21 on: 2014/05/21, 05:03:29 »
hey, I've tried this but got an error (with 0 results on google :/ )

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package sytemd-sysv



"systemd" has 2 "s" in it.

right, thank you for your observation! I just copy/pasted it without looking at it