Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [ Resolved ] System Locks Up when attempting to switch to tty1.  (Read 6003 times)

Offline tmhind2

  • User
  • Posts: 60
Hi all,
After latest D-U my system locks up when applying ctl-alt-F1 to switch to another terminal. It does not make a difference whether before or after I login the screen freezes and will not allow the warm boot, it requires the reset button to over come this situation. This is my first major problem with siduction and my attempts at identifying why have come up dry, it seems I'm in over my head on this one and could us some feedback, thanks


t2
« Last Edit: 2015/11/06, 18:28:16 by tmhind2 »

Offline tmhind2

  • User
  • Posts: 60
Re: System Locks Up when attempting to switch to tty1.
« Reply #1 on: 2015/11/05, 18:58:45 »
I need to correct this post, I can warm reboot with the three finger salute. However I cannot get into any of the other tty's 1-6 with the ctl-alt-F# keys, that is with the 4.3. kernel. If booting into another 4.2 series I have no problem in getting into the tty's.
I hope this makes my situation a little clearer, thanks

t2

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.194
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: System Locks Up when attempting to switch to tty1.
« Reply #2 on: 2015/11/05, 19:23:48 »

It is not a "lockup" -- the system is running and from the GUI desktop it can be shut down or rebooted normally.


However ....

I cannot get into any of the other tty's 1-6 with the ctl-alt-F# keys, that is with the 4.3. kernel.

Confirmed -- same here on my Intel CPU & Intel GPU laptop.  My desktop with Nvidia GPU does not have the issue.  4.3 kernel only -- no issues with 4.2.x kernels.
System76 Oryx Pro, Intel Core i7-11800H, SSD 970 EVO Plus;  Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO

Offline ayla

  • User
  • Posts: 1.722
Re: System Locks Up when attempting to switch to tty1.
« Reply #3 on: 2015/11/05, 20:10:34 »
Yes, also on my T410 with intel graphics. Going back to graphical surface with CTRL-ALT-F7 works.

greets
ayla

Now, at home: Same situation on my desktop system.
Code: [Select]
System:    Host: nescaya Kernel: 4.3.0-towo.1-siduction-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.2.1)
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.4.2 (Qt 5.5.1) Distro: siduction 14.1.0 Indian Summer - kde - (201411230337)
Graphics:  Card: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.17.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 2560x1440@59.95hz, 1920x1200@59.95hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell Desktop GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 11.0.4 Direct Rendering: Yes
« Last Edit: 2015/11/05, 21:43:14 by ayla »
HP EliteBook 8570p; MoBo: HP model: 17A7 v: KBC Version 42.35
Dual core  i5-3320M (-MT-MCP-)
Intel 3. Gen Graphics (Ivybridge) Driver:i915/ intel
 Wifi Intel Centrino N6205

Offline tmhind2

  • User
  • Posts: 60
Re: System Locks Up when attempting to switch to tty1.
« Reply #4 on: 2015/11/05, 20:37:33 »
Thanks @dibl and @ayla for your input, I thought that I was doing something wrong at first and just could not figure out what was going wrong.  I'll keep digging and maybe I will find a little more information to help the coders identify the problem, again thanks for confirming I am not the only one experiencing this condition.


regards,
t2

Offline jure

  • User
  • Posts: 624
Re: System Locks Up when attempting to switch to tty1.
« Reply #5 on: 2015/11/05, 21:31:34 »
the same here with intel graphic and only with Kernel 4,3.0, with 4.2.5 no problem.

Code: [Select]
Graphics:  Card: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.17.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1920x1200@59.95hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Desktop GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 11.0.4 Direct Rendering: Yes
Gruss Juergen

Offline ayla

  • User
  • Posts: 1.722
Re: System Locks Up when attempting to switch to tty1.
« Reply #6 on: 2015/11/06, 09:10:56 »
Hi,

I guess this is related, so I continue this thread instead of starting a new one.
This is my desktop system, kdenext enabled.

Code: [Select]
cal@nescaya:~cal: inxi -v3
System:    Host: nescaya Kernel: 4.3.0-towo.1-siduction-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.2.1)
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.4.2 (Qt 5.5.1) Distro: siduction 14.1.0 Indian Summer - kde - (201411230337)
Machine:   System: ASUS product: All Series
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: H87-PRO v: Rev X.0x Bios: American Megatrends v: 2102 date: 07/29/2014
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-4770K (-HT-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 27944
           clock speeds: max: 3500 MHz 1: 1000 MHz 2: 1200 MHz 3: 1300 MHz 4: 800 MHz 5: 800 MHz 6: 1700 MHz
           7: 800 MHz 8: 800 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.17.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 2560x1440@59.95hz, 1920x1200@59.95hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell Desktop GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 11.0.4 Direct Rendering: Yes
Network:   Card: Qualcomm Atheros AR5418 Wireless Network Adapter [AR5008E 802.11(a)bgn] (PCI-Express)
           driver: ath9k bus-ID: 05:00.0
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 1c:7e:e5:2a:84:eb
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 2188.5GB (6.9% used) ID-1: model: OCZ
           ID-2: model: SAMSUNG_HD103UJ ID-3: model: ST1000DX001
           ID-4: model: OCZ
Info:      Processes: 226 Uptime: 1:20 Memory: 1012.1/15926.7MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.2.1
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.421) inxi: 2.2.28


When I booted up this morning I got a blank screen, just the mouse courser showed up. Switching to F1 does not work also, restarting with the 3 in kernel command line results in a blank screen, no courser. Deactivated all from autostart, rebooted several times, at about the tenth time my graphical surface is up again. D-ued in graphical system, because no other is working, no change, several reboots later graphical system is up again.

I cant find anything helpful in the logs from last reboot, but maybe they are helpful for debugging this, so I attach them.

cal@nescaya:~cal: journalctl -b-1 > /home/cal/journal
cal@nescaya:~cal: siduction-paste /home/cal/journal
Find your paste here: http://paste.siduction.org/20151106074621 - Thank you for using siduction-paste!
cal@nescaya:~cal: siduction-paste /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Find your paste here: http://paste.siduction.org/20151106074656 - Thank you for using siduction-paste!
cal@nescaya:~cal: siduction-paste /var/log/Xorg.0.log.old
Find your paste here: http://paste.siduction.org/20151106074806 - Thank you for using siduction-paste!

root@nescaya:/home/cal# siduction-paste /var/log/lightdm/lightdm.log.old
Find your paste here: http://paste.siduction.org/20151106075053 - Thank you for using siduction-paste!


ehrm- no idea where to find a log of kde

greets
ayla
« Last Edit: 2015/11/06, 09:15:15 by ayla »
HP EliteBook 8570p; MoBo: HP model: 17A7 v: KBC Version 42.35
Dual core  i5-3320M (-MT-MCP-)
Intel 3. Gen Graphics (Ivybridge) Driver:i915/ intel
 Wifi Intel Centrino N6205

Offline orinoco

  • User
  • Posts: 186
Re: System Locks Up when attempting to switch to tty1.
« Reply #7 on: 2015/11/06, 10:20:01 »
I can confirm this. Made a d-u with kernel-update this morning and had the same behavior. Additionally my D830 with intel-graphics and a docking station showed nothing on the external monitor. Switching back to kernel 4.2 fixed it.

Offline drb

  • User
  • Posts: 165
Re: System Locks Up when attempting to switch to tty1.
« Reply #8 on: 2015/11/06, 11:35:04 »
Quote
When I booted up this morning I got a blank screen, just the mouse courser showed up. Switching to F1 does not work also, restarting with the 3 in kernel command line results in a blank screen, no courser.

That's where I am as well. But didn't try and try again. I went back to 4.2.5 for now.

Offline tuxic

  • User
  • Posts: 117
Re: System Locks Up when attempting to switch to tty1.
« Reply #9 on: 2015/11/06, 11:48:09 »
Same problem here! Changed to Liquorix Kernels just to test and problem resolved.
"Many people live and die..., and all they do is process groceries."
                  H. Peavey

Offline clubex

  • User
  • Posts: 265
Re: System Locks Up when attempting to switch to tty1.
« Reply #10 on: 2015/11/06, 11:54:13 »
I'm encountering something similar on my NVidia graphics card machine (nouveau driver). With me the desktop "freezes" using kernel 4.3 and there is no response from keyboard or mouse. The only recourse is to switch off the machine. With kernel 4.2.5 the mouse and keyboard are operative but the desktop will "freeze" at random although the the key board will permit dropping to tty1.

The logs show little in the way of errors or warnings. But searching for fail produced the following; which IMHO appear significant:-

Firstly kernel 4.3:
Code: [Select]
 
$journalctl --since 9:40 | grep fail     
Nov 06 09:40:05 westfield2 kernel: acpi PNP0A03:00: _OSC failed (AE_SUPPORT); disabling ASPM
Nov 06 09:40:09 westfield2 systemd-udevd[451]: Process '/lib/udev/hdparm' failed with exit code 5.
Nov 06 09:40:11 westfield2 systemd-udevd[451]: Process '/lib/udev/hdparm' failed with exit code 5.
Nov 06 09:40:11 westfield2 systemd-udevd[441]: Process '/lib/udev/hdparm' failed with exit code 5.
Nov 06 09:40:11 westfield2 systemd-udevd[446]: Process '/lib/udev/hdparm' failed with exit code 5.
Nov 06 09:40:22 westfield2 colord[941]: (colord:941): Cd-WARNING **: failed to get session [pid 762]: No such device or address
Nov 06 09:40:20 westfield2 colord[941]: (colord:941): Cd-WARNING **: failed to get session [pid 762]: No such device or address
Nov 06 09:40:27 westfield2 sddm-greeter[1153]: Reading from "/usr/share/xsessions/failsafe.desktop"
Nov 06 09:43:34 westfield2 console-kit-daemon[12389]: (process:12452): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys_page_size == 0' failed
Nov 06 09:43:34 westfield2 console-kit-daemon[12389]: (process:12457): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys_page_size == 0' failed
Nov 06 09:45:22 westfield2 colord[941]: (colord:941): Cd-WARNING **: failed to get session [pid 18494]: No such device or address
Nov 06 09:45:22 westfield2 colord[941]: (colord:941): Cd-WARNING **: failed to get session [pid 18494]: No such device or address
Nov 06 09:49:15 westfield2 console-kit-daemon[12389]: (process:30200): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys_page_size == 0' failed
Secondly switching to kernel 4.2.5:-
Code: [Select]
Nov 06 09:50:01 westfield2 kernel: acpi PNP0A03:00: _OSC failed (AE_SUPPORT); disabling ASPM
Nov 06 09:50:05 westfield2 systemd-udevd[431]: Process '/lib/udev/hdparm' failed with exit code 5.
Nov 06 09:50:05 westfield2 systemd-udevd[443]: Process '/lib/udev/hdparm' failed with exit code 5.
Nov 06 09:50:07 westfield2 systemd-udevd[431]: Process '/lib/udev/hdparm' failed with exit code 5.
Nov 06 09:50:07 westfield2 systemd-udevd[437]: Process '/lib/udev/hdparm' failed with exit code 5.
Nov 06 09:50:16 westfield2 colord[1058]: (colord:1058): Cd-WARNING **: failed to get session [pid 792]: No such device or address
Nov 06 09:50:16 westfield2 colord[1058]: (colord:1058): Cd-WARNING **: failed to get session [pid 792]: No such device or address
Nov 06 09:50:20 westfield2 sddm-greeter[1231]: Reading from "/usr/share/xsessions/failsafe.desktop"
Nov 06 09:50:40 westfield2 console-kit-daemon[2721]: (process:2784): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys_page_size == 0' failed
Nov 06 09:50:40 westfield2 console-kit-daemon[2721]: (process:2789): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys_page_size == 0' failed
Nov 06 09:51:54 westfield2 systemd[1]: dns-clean.service: Unit entered failed state.
Nov 06 09:54:05 westfield2 systemd[1]: dns-clean.service: Unit entered failed state.
Nov 06 09:54:05 westfield2 sddm-greeter[14710]: Reading from "/usr/share/xsessions/failsafe.desktop"
Nov 06 09:54:15 westfield2 console-kit-daemon[15893]: (process:15956): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys_page_size == 0' failed
Nov 06 09:54:15 westfield2 console-kit-daemon[15893]: (process:15961): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys_page_size == 0' failed
Nov 06 09:57:37 westfield2 systemd[1]: dns-clean.service: Unit entered failed state.
Nov 06 09:57:42 westfield2 systemd[1]: dns-clean.service: Unit entered failed state.
Nov 06 09:57:42 westfield2 sddm-greeter[26219]: Reading from "/usr/share/xsessions/failsafe.desktop"
Nov 06 09:57:49 westfield2 console-kit-daemon[26335]: (process:26398): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys_page_size == 0' failed
Nov 06 09:57:49 westfield2 console-kit-daemon[26335]: (process:26403): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys_page_size == 0' failed
Nov 06 09:59:13 westfield2 systemd[1]: dns-clean.service: Unit entered failed state.
Nov 06 09:59:16 westfield2 systemd[1]: dns-clean.service: Unit entered failed state.
Nov 06 09:59:17 westfield2 sddm-greeter[30518]: Reading from "/usr/share/xsessions/failsafe.desktop"
Nov 06 09:59:24 westfield2 console-kit-daemon[31526]: (process:31589): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys_page_size == 0' failed
Nov 06 09:59:24 westfield2 console-kit-daemon[31526]: (process:31594): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys_page_size == 0' failed
Looks to me like there's something awry with console-kit-daemon and I don't like the look of dns-clean either. How significant this is to the present problems is beyond my small brain.

Offline jure

  • User
  • Posts: 624
Re: System Locks Up when attempting to switch to tty1.
« Reply #11 on: 2015/11/06, 14:23:39 »
with the new kernel 4.3.0-towo.2-siduction-amd64 the problems seems to be solved for me, login works and Strg-Alt-F1 also.

Thx to towo !
Gruss Juergen

Offline ayla

  • User
  • Posts: 1.722
Re: System Locks Up when attempting to switch to tty1.
« Reply #12 on: 2015/11/06, 14:58:25 »
with the new kernel 4.3.0-towo.2-siduction-amd64 the problems seems to be solved for me, login works and Strg-Alt-F1 also.

Thx to towo !

+1 on my laptop, where graphical surface worked all the time, excited how it is on my desktop later.
HP EliteBook 8570p; MoBo: HP model: 17A7 v: KBC Version 42.35
Dual core  i5-3320M (-MT-MCP-)
Intel 3. Gen Graphics (Ivybridge) Driver:i915/ intel
 Wifi Intel Centrino N6205

Offline clubex

  • User
  • Posts: 265
Re: System Locks Up when attempting to switch to tty1.
« Reply #13 on: 2015/11/06, 15:58:24 »
The kernel upgrade sort of works for me but it's still easy to crash the desktop on my machine. eg open dolphin and then open a new dolphin window and the desktop immediately locks up

This stands out in the logs:
Code: [Select]
# journalctl --since 14:40 | grep error
Nov 06 14:41:30 westfield2 kernel: kactivitymanage[13370]: segfault at 7ffb99688cd0 ip 00007ffb7dac7291 sp 00007ffc6443f818 error 4 in libQt5Sql.so.5.5.1[7ffb7dab3000+3f000]
Nov 06 14:41:30 westfield2 org.kde.kglobalaccel[13283]: The X11 connection broke (error 1). Did the X11 server die?

Ditto when opening Iceweasel and opening Okular and other instances.
 

Offline hschn

  • User
  • Posts: 108
Re: System Locks Up when attempting to switch to tty1.
« Reply #14 on: 2015/11/06, 16:23:05 »
Hello clubex
 
Have you tried

Code: [Select]
dpkg-reconfigure lightdm
btw

Code: [Select]
dpkg-reconfigure sddm
if not using lightdm but sddm

greetings
hschn
Mögen hätt' ich schon wollen, aber dürfen habe ich mich nicht getraut (Karl Valentin)