seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2020/10/25, 23:08:11


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: How do I browse Network on xfce with Thunar?  (Read 28887 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wayne128

  • User
  • Posts: 5
How do I browse Network on xfce with Thunar?
« on: 2011/12/23, 09:06:21 »
Greeting.

Just got xfce installed.
Happy to see it works on this old computer, P4.

I try to browse network with thunar but could not find the ICON.

can someone help on how to browse network?

Offline towo

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.383
RE: How do I browse Network on xfce with Thunar?
« Reply #1 on: 2011/12/23, 11:32:41 »
You need to install gvfs-backends and gvfs-bin for browsing network with thunar.
Ich gehe nicht zum Karneval, ich verleihe nur manchmal mein Gesicht.

Offline wayne128

  • User
  • Posts: 5
Re: RE: How do I browse Network on xfce with Thunar?
« Reply #2 on: 2011/12/23, 12:54:39 »
Quote from: "towo"
You need to install gvfs-backends and gvfs-bin for browsing network with thunar.


thanks towo,

installed both ,
reboot, network icon appear, and it can now get network files from server..


just install vlc for media playing.
the issue now is, I can copy file from network, and use vlc to play it.

however I wish to open thunar, click network, find the media file, click its icon and start playing..
now when I click the file, vlc shows error:

Quote
Your input can't be opened:
VLC is unable to open the MRL 'smb://rt-n16/av%20test/7%E7%A7%92%E9%92%9F(hd%E7%89%88).mkv'. Check the log for details.


what should I do to make clicking work?

thanks in advance.

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.441
Re: RE: How do I browse Network on xfce with Thunar?
« Reply #3 on: 2011/12/23, 13:19:29 »
did you
Quote

Check the log for details
?

greetz
devil

Offline towo

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.383
RE: Re: RE: How do I browse Network on xfce with Thunar?
« Reply #4 on: 2011/12/23, 14:36:06 »
VLC is not able to play over gvfs or kio.
There is nothing we or you can do besides mount the share.
Or setup an UPnP service at the serversite.
Ich gehe nicht zum Karneval, ich verleihe nur manchmal mein Gesicht.

Offline wayne128

  • User
  • Posts: 5
Re: RE: Re: RE: How do I browse Network on xfce with Thunar?
« Reply #5 on: 2011/12/23, 15:27:00 »
Quote from: "towo"
VLC is not able to play over gvfs or kio.
There is nothing we or you can do besides mount the share.
Or setup an UPnP service at the serversite.



hmm, I see...thanks for your message

same problem when I use totem media player.

got back to install gigolo,
use it to mount remote samba.
once mounted, clicking media file inside Thunar's network,
it can now play on vlc and totem...

 :)