seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2020/11/28, 09:12:58


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: DM in XFCE version  (Read 3109 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline titan

  • User
  • Posts: 245
DM in XFCE version
« on: 2012/01/10, 12:41:40 »
Can someone say what dm is used on the xfce version.

thanks

Offline michaa7

  • User
  • Posts: 2.128
DM in XFCE version
« Reply #1 on: 2012/01/10, 12:59:47 »
gdm3
Ok, you can't code, but you still might be able to write a bug report for Debian's sake

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.451
DM in XFCE version
« Reply #2 on: 2012/01/10, 13:02:10 »
gdm3 was only true for the rc-release, the final ships lightdm.

greetz
devil

Offline michaa7

  • User
  • Posts: 2.128
DM in XFCE version
« Reply #3 on: 2012/01/10, 13:32:29 »
ohhh, didn't know.

May I replace gdm3 with lightdm or will there be problems?
Ok, you can't code, but you still might be able to write a bug report for Debian's sake

Offline titan

  • User
  • Posts: 245
RE: DM in XFCE version
« Reply #4 on: 2012/01/10, 13:58:44 »
Are the init levels the same as Debian or Aptosid and need resetting if changing DM ( for init 3 )

Offline michaa7

  • User
  • Posts: 2.128
RE: DM in XFCE version
« Reply #5 on: 2012/01/10, 17:43:24 »
you are right asking this as there seems to be a problem, at least if you replace gdm3 with lightdm. The installation and reboot with login went fine, switching to rc3 went fine, too. But it seems X is not disabled (alt-F7 still shows X). While switching to rc3 init (or whatever is acting in this moment) tries to stopp gdm3 although lightdm is installed and working. So there seems to be a glitch ...
Ok, you can't code, but you still might be able to write a bug report for Debian's sake

Offline michaa7

  • User
  • Posts: 2.128
RE: DM in XFCE version
« Reply #6 on: 2012/01/10, 19:34:53 »
Code: [Select]
update-rc.d lightdm disable 2 3 4 solves this problem
Ok, you can't code, but you still might be able to write a bug report for Debian's sake