seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2020/04/09, 20:42:35


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext  (Read 11447 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Santa

  • User
  • Posts: 261
  • siduction's KDE packager
KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext
« on: 2013/09/29, 17:33:45 »
Hello,

since some hours ago KDE SC 4.11.2 core packages are available in kdenext/experimental-snapshots. Soon, the rest of non-core packages are going to be updated as well and they will be (probably) moved together to kdenext/unstable the day of the official -2 release (october 1). In the meantime, feel free to post about any issues you may have, but please refrain to report anything to bugs.kde.org until the .2 release isn't official yet.
Sometimes standing for what you believe means standing alone.

Offline Santa

  • User
  • Posts: 261
  • siduction's KDE packager
RE: KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext
« Reply #1 on: 2013/10/02, 01:02:21 »
Update: 4.11.2 available in kdenext/unstable now.
Sometimes standing for what you believe means standing alone.

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.962
    • Land of the Buckeye
RE: KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext
« Reply #2 on: 2013/10/02, 01:46:55 »
Yes it is -- and thank you very much!
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline ralfi

  • User
  • Posts: 383
RE: KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext
« Reply #3 on: 2013/10/02, 08:55:24 »
Thank you Santa, great job
Gruss, ralfi

Niveau sieht von unten oft wie Arroganz aus ...

Offline clubex

  • User
  • Posts: 265
RE: KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext
« Reply #4 on: 2013/10/02, 12:37:18 »
Thanks Santa. Excellent job with no problems.

Offline piper

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.730
  • we are the priests ... of the temples of syrinx
RE: KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext
« Reply #5 on: 2013/10/02, 14:10:36 »
Working well, Thanks
I either give too many fucks or no fucks at all, it's like I cannot find a middle ground for a moderate fuck distribution, it's like what the fuck

Free speech isn't just fucking saying what you want to say, it's also hearing what you don't want to fucking hear

Offline spacepenguin

  • User
  • Posts: 863
    • spacepenguin.de
RE: KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext
« Reply #6 on: 2013/10/03, 06:02:46 »
Oh no, since the update my icon sizes don't work anymore. In the systemsettings overview the icons are in fixed small size 32 and ignore the size for the dialog icons set to 64 and all small icons are set to fixed tiny size 16 although they are set to 32 in systemsettings! Help - how do I get my bigger icons back?
Susan | Hardware: SysProfile
Music-Profile: http://www.last.fm/de/user/spacepengu

Offline ReinerS

  • User
  • Posts: 954
KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext
« Reply #7 on: 2013/10/03, 09:31:38 »
Hmm, sinec 2 days (after an du) the desktop-switcher applet has only 1 row instead of 2. Changing it lasts only until the next login.
Someof my  Desktop-settings/-effects are gone and, even really worse, kde doesn't know anymore about the installed "known" applications within the menue or when to open/handle embeded files in kmail.

All entries within "Anwendungen" are gone completely.

The control-bar is acting strange and the task-list applet doesn't allow to activate/switch to  tasks which are not on the current desktop.

Gtk-baswed apps like thunar donotseem to have that problem.

regards

Reiner
slackware => SuSE => kanotix => sidux => aptosid  => siduction

Offline spacepenguin

  • User
  • Posts: 863
    • spacepenguin.de
KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext
« Reply #8 on: 2013/10/03, 13:46:25 »
And my QtCurve theme with the dark menu bar also does not work anymore in KDE apps :(, some desktop widgets were reset to default values (e.g. disk space didn't display anything).

Thankfully at least my menu is intact and I always have the pager in one row...

The Search + Run favorites do work again with 4.11.2 - but the price for that is too high. Hope it can be fixed quickly, small icons are a pain for me.
Susan | Hardware: SysProfile
Music-Profile: http://www.last.fm/de/user/spacepengu

Offline clubex

  • User
  • Posts: 265
KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext
« Reply #9 on: 2013/10/03, 22:35:48 »
I can no longer automount my internal CDROM and card reader. KDE's device notifier indicates there are no devices available. And the logs indeed show that no devices are mounted.

I'm not sure if this existed prior to the KDE 4.11 series or not as I don't use CD/DVDs or SD cards very often.

I can manually mount both CD/DVD media and thereafter both CD/DVD and SD cards will automount when a different media is inserted. The automount will not survive a reboot however it will survive a log out of KDE. So the non-automounting may not be a KDE issue.

I'm not sure how to pursue the problem further as I don't know how siduction goes about automounting (except that the logs show some dbus and udisks activity).

If no one else using KDE 4.11 is experiencing this problem I'll bring it up in the Software Section.

Offline ReinerS

  • User
  • Posts: 954
KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext
« Reply #10 on: 2013/10/03, 22:52:29 »
Quote
I can no longer automount my internal CDROM and card reader. KDE's device notifier indicates there are no devices available. And the logs indeed show that no devices are mounted.

Seems to be the same over here. The only thing shown is an "0B Wechseldatenträger" wich cannot be mounted and I donot know what device this should be  :shock:
But its not sure whether kde is to blame for this as thunar (gtk-based) doesn't show my DVD either.

regards

Reiner
slackware => SuSE => kanotix => sidux => aptosid  => siduction

Offline spacepenguin

  • User
  • Posts: 863
    • spacepenguin.de
KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext
« Reply #11 on: 2013/10/03, 23:22:34 »
I also cannot use my cardreader anymore.. :(

And the issue with the icon size: When I switch to Oxygen or whatever window style the icons become big again (following  their settings in systemsettings). When I log out and back in the icons become tiny again and the style also looks different than Oxygen or whatever I use. I switch to some other style, icons are ok and style looks as expected, I log off again and back in - and voilà, same tiny icons and other style again. Could obviously go on forever. And happens with every user account.

EDIT: It is Plastique!! As soon as I use the Plastique window style the icons become that tiny too. And every time I re-login the style is obviously set to Plastique (though not shown in systemsettings under style - but it is Plastique)... It seems that Plastique is broken or breaks something? And how can I avoid that everything is set to Plastique on login?
Is this a siduction bug or a KDE one?
Susan | Hardware: SysProfile
Music-Profile: http://www.last.fm/de/user/spacepengu

Offline piper

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.730
  • we are the priests ... of the temples of syrinx
KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext
« Reply #12 on: 2013/10/04, 05:46:39 »
Code: [Select]
root@x1:/home/piper# apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree      
Reading state information... Done
Calculating upgrade... Done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Code: [Select]
piper@x1:~$ inxi -F
System:    Host: x1 Kernel: 3.11-3.towo-siduction-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit)
           Desktop: KDE 4.11.2 Distro: siduction 13.0.5 PaintItBlack - kde - (201308031300)
Machine:   Mobo: Gigabyte model: GA-970A-UD3 version: x.x Bios: Award version: F7 date: 10/22/2012
CPU:       Hexa core AMD FX-6300 Six-Core (-MCP-) cache: 12288 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm)
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1400.00 MHz 2: 1400.00 MHz 3: 1400.00 MHz 4: 1400.00 MHz 5: 1400.00 MHz 6: 1400.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GF106 [GeForce GTS 450] X.Org: 1.14.3 driver: nvidia Resolution: 1920x1200@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GTS 450/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version: 4.3.0 NVIDIA 325.15
Audio:     Card-1: NVIDIA GF106 High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel
           Card-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.11-3.towo-siduction-amd64
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 90:2b:34:a5:99:2d
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 2820.6GB (55.5% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: ST3500630AS size: 500.1GB
           2: id: /dev/sdd model: ST31000528AS size: 1000.2GB 3: id: /dev/sdc model: ST31000528AS size: 1000.2GB
           4: id: /dev/sdb model: ST3320620AS size: 320.1GB
Partition: ID: / size: 255G used: 43G (17%) fs: reiserfs ID: swap-1 size: 2.15GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 26.5C mobo: N/A gpu: 36C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 191 Uptime: 2:08 Memory: 1255.5/7973.4MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 1.9.14


I am not seeing this problem with cd/dvd nor usb, all works fine

dvd screenshot

usb screenshot

what it looks like under /media

The last link also shows my window style which for now is qtcurve and osx aurorae as window decoration, I don't have a problem with icons or icons being resized
I either give too many fucks or no fucks at all, it's like I cannot find a middle ground for a moderate fuck distribution, it's like what the fuck

Free speech isn't just fucking saying what you want to say, it's also hearing what you don't want to fucking hear

Offline Crust

  • User
  • Posts: 33
KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext
« Reply #13 on: 2013/10/04, 07:44:39 »
I can confirm that usb is not working anymore.  It may be something other than kde, but it was upgraded at the same time.

Offline Crust

  • User
  • Posts: 33
KDE SC 4.11.2 arriving to kdenext
« Reply #14 on: 2013/10/04, 08:12:03 »
It must have been a kernel thing - I dist-upgraded (it included a kernel update) and things are working again.