seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2019/09/20, 05:48:22


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: Missing vbeinfo when using grub-efi  (Read 8285 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline GoinEasy9

  • User
  • Posts: 460
Missing vbeinfo when using grub-efi
« on: 2014/08/08, 07:28:46 »
Tonight I noticed that "vbeinfo" is missing.  It used to come in with grub-pc, but, it seems not with grub-efi. 

Ever since installing the nVidia blob, I've wanted to increase the resolution on my tty.  After finding out I couldn't use vbeinfo to see the correct options, I tried "hwinfo --framebuffer", but, it didn't seem to list all choices.  Anyone know another way to show the vbe info?
Linux Counter number 348347

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.912
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: Missing vbeinfo when using grub-efi
« Reply #1 on: 2014/08/08, 12:56:22 »
In addition to hwinfo you also need the v86d package installed.  This old article might help.
« Last Edit: 2014/08/08, 13:02:22 by dibl »
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline GoinEasy9

  • User
  • Posts: 460
Re: Missing vbeinfo when using grub-efi
« Reply #2 on: 2014/08/08, 19:13:25 »
Thanks for the response dibl, but even with v86d installed, I'm getting the same output fromm "hwinfo --framebuffer".  One would think that a nVidia GTX 550 TI would offer larger framebuffer resolutions.  Here's the output from "hwinfo --framebuffer":

# hwinfo --framebuffer
02: None 00.0: 11001 VESA Framebuffer                           
  [Created at bios.459]
  Unique ID: rdCR._oMLhpnq0pA
  Hardware Class: framebuffer
  Model: "NVIDIA GF106B Board - 10500000"
  Vendor: "NVIDIA Corporation"
  Device: "GF106B Board - 10500000"
  SubVendor: "NVIDIA"
  SubDevice:
  Revision: "Chip Rev"
  Memory Size: 14 MB
  Memory Range: 0xd9000000-0xd9dfffff (rw)
  Mode 0x0300: 640x400 (+640), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0301: 640x480 (+640), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0303: 800x600 (+800), 8 bits
  Mode 0x030e: 320x200 (+640), 16 bits
  Mode 0x030f: 320x200 (+1280), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0311: 640x480 (+1280), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0312: 640x480 (+2560), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0314: 800x600 (+1600), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0315: 800x600 (+3200), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0330: 320x200 (+320), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0331: 320x400 (+320), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0332: 320x400 (+640), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0333: 320x400 (+1280), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0334: 320x240 (+320), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0335: 320x240 (+640), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0336: 320x240 (+1280), 24 bits
  Mode 0x033d: 640x400 (+1280), 16 bits
  Mode 0x033e: 640x400 (+2560), 24 bits

Funny thing though, nouveau used to set the fb automatically.  Although I never looked at the tty resolution while it was running, the resolution was closer to the 1920X1080 that the monitor allows.  I would have thought the blob would do better. 
Linux Counter number 348347

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.912
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: Missing vbeinfo when using grub-efi
« Reply #3 on: 2014/08/08, 20:22:03 »
Hmmmm, that is odd.  Yes, even my GTX 480 offers 1600x1200:


Code: [Select]
root@imerabox:/# lspci | grep VGA
05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF100 [GeForce GTX 480] (rev a3)
root@imerabox:/# hwinfo --framebuffer
02: None 00.0: 11001 VESA Framebuffer                           
  [Created at bios.459]
  Unique ID: rdCR.5E8TF6cNmo5
  Hardware Class: framebuffer
  Model: "NVIDIA GF100 Board - 10220000"
  Vendor: "NVIDIA Corporation"
  Device: "GF100 Board - 10220000"
  SubVendor: "NVIDIA"
  SubDevice:
  Revision: "Chip Rev"
  Memory Size: 14 MB
  Memory Range: 0xd5000000-0xd5dfffff (rw)
  Mode 0x0300: 640x400 (+640), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0301: 640x480 (+640), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0303: 800x600 (+800), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0305: 1024x768 (+1024), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0307: 1280x1024 (+1280), 8 bits
  Mode 0x030e: 320x200 (+640), 16 bits
  Mode 0x030f: 320x200 (+1280), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0311: 640x480 (+1280), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0312: 640x480 (+2560), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0314: 800x600 (+1600), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0315: 800x600 (+3200), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0317: 1024x768 (+2048), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0318: 1024x768 (+4096), 24 bits
  Mode 0x031a: 1280x1024 (+2560), 16 bits
  Mode 0x031b: 1280x1024 (+5120), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0330: 320x200 (+320), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0331: 320x400 (+320), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0332: 320x400 (+640), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0333: 320x400 (+1280), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0334: 320x240 (+320), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0335: 320x240 (+640), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0336: 320x240 (+1280), 24 bits
  Mode 0x033d: 640x400 (+1280), 16 bits
  Mode 0x033e: 640x400 (+2560), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0345: 1600x1200 (+1600), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0346: 1600x1200 (+3200), 16 bits
  Mode 0x034a: 1600x1200 (+6400), 24 bits
  Config Status: cfg=new, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
root@imerabox:/#


Yes I would expect the blob to outperform nouveau.  I had to go the other way -- on a Dell E6500 nouveau gave me a 1600x1200 tty console, and my old eyes had problems seeing the tiny font, although the desktop was beautiful.  I finally installed the blob so I could get a 1280x1024 console that I could read.
« Last Edit: 2014/08/08, 20:27:19 by dibl »
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline towo

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.298
Re: Missing vbeinfo when using grub-efi
« Reply #4 on: 2014/08/08, 20:28:11 »
Works fine here:

Code: [Select]
root@Defiant:/home/towo# hwinfo --framebuffer
02: None 00.0: 11001 VESA Framebuffer                           
  [Created at bios.459]
  Unique ID: rdCR.U+J2Kd4CBPF
  Hardware Class: framebuffer
  Model: "NVIDIA GM107 Board - 20100050"
  Vendor: "NVIDIA Corporation"
  Device: "GM107 Board - 20100050"
  SubVendor: "NVIDIA"
  SubDevice:
  Revision: "Chip Rev"
  Memory Size: 14 MB
  Memory Range: 0xf1000000-0xf1dfffff (rw)
  Mode 0x0300: 640x400 (+640), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0301: 640x480 (+640), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0303: 800x600 (+800), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0305: 1024x768 (+1024), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0307: 1280x1024 (+1280), 8 bits
  Mode 0x030e: 320x200 (+640), 16 bits
  Mode 0x030f: 320x200 (+1280), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0311: 640x480 (+1280), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0312: 640x480 (+2560), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0314: 800x600 (+1600), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0315: 800x600 (+3200), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0317: 1024x768 (+2048), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0318: 1024x768 (+4096), 24 bits
  Mode 0x031a: 1280x1024 (+2560), 16 bits
  Mode 0x031b: 1280x1024 (+5120), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0330: 320x200 (+320), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0331: 320x400 (+320), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0332: 320x400 (+640), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0333: 320x400 (+1280), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0334: 320x240 (+320), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0335: 320x240 (+640), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0336: 320x240 (+1280), 24 bits
  Mode 0x033d: 640x400 (+1280), 16 bits
  Mode 0x033e: 640x400 (+2560), 24 bits
  Mode 0x034b: 1920x1080 (+1920), 8 bits
  Mode 0x034c: 1920x1080 (+3840), 16 bits
  Mode 0x034d: 1920x1080 (+7680), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0360: 1280x800 (+1280), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0361: 1280x800 (+5120), 24 bits
Ich gehe nicht zum Karneval, ich verleihe nur manchmal mein Gesicht.

Offline GoinEasy9

  • User
  • Posts: 460
Re: Missing vbeinfo when using grub-efi
« Reply #5 on: 2014/08/08, 20:55:47 »
Thanks again for responding.  I'll have to check into the specs on the nVidia card. 

$ inxi -G
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GF116 [GeForce GTX 550 Ti]
           Display Server: X.Org 1.16.0 driver: nvidia Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1920x1080@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GTX 550 Ti/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version: 4.4.0 NVIDIA 340.24

Even my old XPS-13 Core2Duo laptop with dual (9400) nVidia cards comes up with better choices.
Linux Counter number 348347