seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2019/10/21, 07:30:55


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: KF5 Issues Thread  (Read 2771 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.922
    • Land of the Buckeye
KF5 Issues Thread
« on: 2015/09/21, 14:49:05 »
We need to split off discussions about KF5 issues from the d-u warning thread, so I thought today would be a good day to get it started.  Actually I'm looking forward to the day when this thread can be closed!


So, we have this bug which I believe must be part of the cause of this one.  What I have been doing, before I run d-u, is to


Code: [Select]
ps aux | grep kuiserver5

and then kill -9 that process.  So far, the dist-upgrades have run smoothly and then the gui desktop comes back up correctly.


Here is my desktop system:


Code: [Select]
System:    Host: Hibiscus Kernel: 4.2.0-towo.1-siduction-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.2.1)
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.4.1 (Qt 5.4.2) Distro: siduction 14.1.0 Indian Summer - kde - (201411230337)
Machine:   System: ASUS product: All Series
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: Z87-WS v: Rev 1.xx Bios: American Megatrends v: 2004 date: 06/05/2014
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-4770 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 28021
           clock speeds: max: 3900 MHz 1: 3553 MHz 2: 3412 MHz 3: 3317 MHz 4: 3401 MHz 5: 3401 MHz
           6: 3660 MHz 7: 3600 MHz 8: 3500 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GM107 [GeForce GTX 750 Ti] bus-ID: 05:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.17.2 driver: nvidia Resolution: 1920x1200@59.88hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GTX 750 Ti/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 346.82 Direct Rendering: Yes
Network:   Card-1: Intel I210 Gigabit Network Connection driver: igb v: 5.2.18-k port: d000 bus-ID: 07:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: e0:3f:49:e6:85:c3
           Card-2: Intel I210 Gigabit Network Connection driver: igb v: 5.2.18-k port: a000 bus-ID: 0a:00.0
           IF: eth1 state: down mac: e0:3f:49:e6:85:c4
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 3120.7GB (25.5% used) ID-1: model: WDC_WD1001FALS
           ID-2: model: OCZ ID-3: model: OCZ
           ID-4: model: WDC_WD1000DHTZ ID-5: model: WDC_WD1000DHTZ
Info:      Processes: 292 Uptime: 3 days Memory: 2309.9/7927.8MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.2.1
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.421) inxi: 2.2.28
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline piper

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.718
  • we are the priests ... of the temples of syrinx
Re: KF5 Issues Thread
« Reply #1 on: 2015/09/21, 16:03:17 »
Do you actually see any of this ? (links)

In kde I do a

Code: [Select]
apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade -d -y
let it finish, then do a

Code: [Select]
ctrl+alt+f1
login as root

Code: [Select]
systemctl stop sddm 

(i purge lightdm first thing)

Code: [Select]
apt-get dist-upgrade -y
cause I know from the above command what is to be removed if anything

let the du finish

Code: [Select]
systemctl start sddm
I have never seen close to 30 seconds getting to desktop,  (normal hard drive) 5-8 seconds is the norm.

I have not hit that logoff button in probably over a year, I just don't use it, I should, but I don't.

I always reboot, to me, no matter what operating system your using, it's the cleanest.

I either give too many fucks or no fucks at all, it's like I cannot find a middle ground for a moderate fuck distribution, it's like what the fuck

Free speech isn't just fucking saying what you want to say, it's also hearing what you don't want to fucking hear

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.922
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: KF5 Issues Thread
« Reply #2 on: 2015/09/21, 16:53:28 »
On my laptop (not the desktop shown above) there is quite a long delay at the end of the sddm splash, before the desktop appears.  This is regardless of whether it is a cold boot or a restart of KDE from a tty console.   But the desktop shown above comes up pretty quickly.  As you can see from the uptime, it has been running for 3+ days, with at least one d-u per day in a tty console, and then a restart of X.


Yes, I've replaced lightdm with sddm on both of these.


I have been using


Code: [Select]
systemctl isolate multi-user.target and


Code: [Select]
systemctl isolate graphical.target && exit

to stop and start X.  But as I said, I'm also killing off kuiserver5 and once in awhile I have found ksmserver still running too.
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.922
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: KF5 Issues Thread
« Reply #3 on: 2015/09/27, 17:43:15 »
On my laptop (not the desktop shown above) there is quite a long delay at the end of the sddm splash ...


More about this:

On a vanilla Plasma 5 installation, fully updated (no kdenext), on a laptop with Intel graphics, I have been experiencing a 30-second pause on the sddm splash screen prior to arriving at the user's desktop. The progress bar moves quickly to about 75% complete, then it freezes for almost 30 seconds, then the desktop comes up. Once the desktop appears, everything seems to work correctly and quickly.  This is using the OpenGL 2.0 compositor.  My big desktop system with nvidia graphics does not have this issue, and another laptop with nvidia graphics does not have the issue.  So I am suspecting the Intel graphics, but I have not identified the exact problem, or a workaround.

Here are things I tried:

- studied ~/.xsession-errors.  While there are interesting comments in there, there is no "ERROR".

- reviewed the systemd journal.  A couple of error messages whining about an obscure inet6 item and wpa_supplicant, but the system has no networking problems that I know of. I see no errors about the userspace startup -- it says it took 10815 microseconds.

- created a new user.  After two logins, the same issue appeared for the new user.  So it is not likely a user configuration item (at least not a deliberate one).

- changed compositor from OpenGL 2.0 to OpenGL 3.1. No help.

- changed compositor to XRender. This had an interesting effect.  Instead of hanging on the sddm splash, it immediately goes to a black screen, and hangs there for almost 30 seconds, then very quickly it shows the splash with the progress bar at 100% and immediately the desktop appears.

- changed back to OpenGL compositors (both versions) and changed the interface to EGL. This changed the behavior so it looks the same as with XRender -- it goes immediately from splash to black, stays there for 30 seconds, then the dektop comes up after I see a quick glimpse of the splash at 100%.

- tried the workaround listed in this message.  No help.

- looked at other google hits for "sddm splash hangs", searched through ~/.cache and ~/.config looking for .lock files, but nothing seems to be a match to this issue.


Obviously the system is fully usable and this delay is really only an annoyance, but I thought I would post it on the forum to see if others have the same issue or know of any workarounds.  Here's the system:

Code: [Select]
System:    Host: hp-350g Kernel: 4.2.1-towo.1-siduction-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.2.1)
          Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.4.1 (Qt 5.4.2)
          Distro: siduction 14.1.0 Indian Summer - kde - (201411230337)
Machine:   System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP 350 G1 v: 0992100000400010000634101
          Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 21B7 v: KBC Version 46.0B
          Bios: Insyde v: F.12 date: 06/12/2014
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5-4210U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
          flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 9581
          clock speeds: max: 2700 MHz 1: 1727 MHz 2: 1700 MHz 3: 1983 MHz 4: 1706 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
          Display Server: X.Org 1.17.2 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
          Resolution: 1366x768@59.99hz
          GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell Mobile
          GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.6.8 Direct Rendering: Yes
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
          driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 4000 bus-ID: 01:00.0
          IF: eth0 state: down mac: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
          Card-2: Ralink RT3290 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe
          driver: rt2800pci v: 2.3.0 bus-ID: 02:00.0
          IF: wlan0 state: up mac: xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (27.6% used) ID-1: model: Samsung_SSD_840
Info:      Processes: 231 Uptime: 26 min Memory: 1374.3/3878.3MB
          Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.2.1 Client: Shell (bash 4.3.421) inxi: 2.2.28
« Last Edit: 2015/09/27, 17:46:51 by dibl »
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline ayla

  • User
  • Posts: 1.697
Re: KF5 Issues Thread
« Reply #4 on: 2015/09/27, 18:18:45 »
Hi Dibl,

expieriencing the same here since I d-u-ed. Former kde-next system, updatet without kde-next repo a few days ago. No problems after the desktop has startet. Desktopmanager lightdm. Sorry, no time atm to investigate further.
Quote
System:    Host: neskayamobil Kernel: 4.2.0-towo.1-siduction-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.2.1)                     
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.4.1 Distro: siduction 13.2.1 December - kde - (201401272125)                     
Machine:   System: LENOVO product: 2537AF8 v: ThinkPad T410                                                       
           Mobo: LENOVO model: 2537AF8 Bios: LENOVO v: 6IET65WW (1.25 ) date: 06/07/2010                           
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5 M 520 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB                                                 
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 9579                                       
           clock speeds: max: 2400 MHz 1: 1333 MHz 2: 1333 MHz 3: 1599 MHz 4: 1199 MHz                             
Graphics:  Card: Intel Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.17.2 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1440x900@60.06hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ironlake Mobile GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 10.6.7 Direct Rendering: Yes
journalctl -b -p err:
Quote
Sep 27 18:03:04 neskayamobil kernel: tpm_tis 00:05: A TPM error (6) occurred attempting to read a pcr value
Sep 27 18:03:05 neskayamobil kernel: kvm: disabled by bios
Sep 27 18:03:06 neskayamobil bluetoothd[927]: Failed to obtain handles for "Service Changed" characteristic
Sep 27 18:03:06 neskayamobil bluetoothd[927]: Not enough free handles to register service
Sep 27 18:03:06 neskayamobil bluetoothd[927]: Error adding Link Loss service
Sep 27 18:03:06 neskayamobil bluetoothd[927]: Not enough free handles to register service
Sep 27 18:03:06 neskayamobil bluetoothd[927]: Not enough free handles to register service
Sep 27 18:03:06 neskayamobil bluetoothd[927]: Not enough free handles to register service
Sep 27 18:03:06 neskayamobil bluetoothd[927]: Current Time Service could not be registered
Sep 27 18:03:06 neskayamobil bluetoothd[927]: gatt-time-server: Input/output error (5)
Sep 27 18:03:06 neskayamobil bluetoothd[927]: Not enough free handles to register service
Sep 27 18:03:06 neskayamobil bluetoothd[927]: Not enough free handles to register service
Sep 27 18:03:06 neskayamobil bluetoothd[927]: Sap driver initialization failed.
Sep 27 18:03:06 neskayamobil bluetoothd[927]: sap-server: Operation not permitted (1)
Sep 27 18:03:07 neskayamobil ntpd[956]: error resolving pool 0.debian.pool.ntp.org: Name or service not known (-2)
Sep 27 18:03:08 neskayamobil ntpd[956]: error resolving pool 1.debian.pool.ntp.org: Name or service not known (-2)
Sep 27 18:03:09 neskayamobil ntpd[956]: error resolving pool 2.debian.pool.ntp.org: Name or service not known (-2)
Sep 27 18:03:10 neskayamobil ntpd[956]: error resolving pool 3.debian.pool.ntp.org: Name or service not known (-2)
Sep 27 18:03:22 neskayamobil pulseaudio[2217]: [pulseaudio] ltdl-bind-now.c: Failed to open module module-x11-publ$
Sep 27 18:03:22 neskayamobil pulseaudio[2217]: [pulseaudio] module.c: Failed to open module "module-x11-publish".
Kernel: 4.18.11-towo.1-siduction-amd64 x86_64
Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.13.5
(mostly) kept current siduction "18.3.0 Patience"
HP EliteBook 8570p; MoBo: HP model: 17A7 v: KBC Version 42.35
Dual core  i5-3320M (-MT-MCP-)
Intel 3. Gen Graphics (Ivybridge) Driver:i915/ intel
 Wifi Intel Centrino N6205

Online manilg

  • User
  • Posts: 219
Re: KF5 Issues Thread
« Reply #5 on: 2015/11/14, 07:02:10 »
Hi,

since I use KF5 "tooltips" in several applications don´t work:

kontact
konqueror
libreoffice

I get an empty box

They work fine in dolphin and iceweasel.

manilg

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.922
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: KF5 Issues Thread
« Reply #6 on: 2015/11/14, 12:12:33 »
In LibreOffice, the tool tips work once you have a document or spreadsheet open.  There are none on the "top" level menu of LO. The text in the tip box is crisp and black on an off-white background, on my laptop with Intel graphics.


I'm not a Konqueror user but I opened it and confirmed that I don't see any tooltips on the top menu, but the icons on the left side have tips -- hard to read white on a blue background. I don't use Kontact either.


They work in chrome browser too.
« Last Edit: 2015/11/14, 12:17:55 by dibl »
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline ghstryder

  • User
  • Posts: 84
Re: KF5 Issues Thread
« Reply #7 on: 2015/11/14, 16:55:27 »
"Mouse over" or highlight the empty box. I have seen this, the text is the same color as the background. I have not had a lot of luck with a permanent fix in color settings. I put this one down as something that will be fixed eventually.

Online manilg

  • User
  • Posts: 219
Re: KF5 Issues Thread
« Reply #8 on: 2015/11/14, 17:52:29 »
I think I didn´t express the issues with tooltips clear enough. in all the applications there are boxes for tooltips (the background colour is light grey), but there is no text.
In dolphin the background is black, the text grey; in iceweasel the text is black and the background grey.

manilg

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.922
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: KF5 Issues Thread
« Reply #9 on: 2015/11/14, 20:08:36 »
... but there is no text.



I think ghstryder is correct -- there IS text, but it is the same shade of light gray, so you can't see it.  In system-settings, try playing with your desktop themes and colors and you should be able to find a combination that lets you read the tool tips.
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Online manilg

  • User
  • Posts: 219
Re: KF5 Issues Thread
« Reply #10 on: 2015/11/15, 07:43:33 »
Yes thanks

you are right. Now I use Oxygen Cool and I can see the text.

manilg