seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2017/11/18, 18:29:53


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: [solved]Plasmashell (panel aka Kontrolleiste) freezes every few minutes  (Read 3457 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline samoht

  • User
  • Posts: 209
... after d-u-ing to plasma-workspace
Code: [Select]
plasma-workspace                  4:5.8.4-1
and/or recent x11 transition.
Logout via ctrl+alt+del works (logout selection comes up), window switching via alt+tab works as well ...
Login sometimes works only after restarting runlevel 5, sometimes login stops after kde icon on black background appeared but not reaching plasma desktop.
Bug reports:
http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=2976
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=373131
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=846389
« Last Edit: 2016/12/17, 09:45:01 by devil »

Offline piper

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.160
So far, I am not seeing this on my main machine.

I do have nvidia blob installed, will do a du on 2 other machines (amd, nvidia cards, open source drivers) and see what happens, it's been a while for du's on those boxes ;)
debian sid  |  apt-get into it

Offline jure

  • User
  • Posts: 337
....
 sometimes login stops after kde icon on black background appeared but not reaching plasma desktop.
...

I can confirm this, after switching to runlevel 3 for du using "systemctl stop lightdm.service" and when du finished "systemctl start lightdm.service"

Code: [Select]
inxi -SG
System:    Host: siductionbox Kernel: 4.8.12-towo.1-siduction-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.8.4
           Distro: Debian GNU/Linux stretch/sid
Graphics:  Card: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.0 driver: intel Resolution: 1920x1200@59.95hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Desktop GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.2
Gruss Juergen

Offline piper

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.160
I am seeing this on another box :(

Code: [Select]
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Turks PRO [Radeon HD 6570/7570/8550]
           Display Server: X.org 1.19.0 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
debian sid  |  apt-get into it

Offline orinoco

  • User
  • Posts: 152
Same problem here. From time to time the plasma panel freezes. K-Menu doen't respond, clock stops and selection of open windows is impossible. All open/visible windows are usable and Alt-Tab, Alt-F2 works. That happens for example with krusader copy-jobs. What helps here is Ctrl+Alt+F1 and after second Atl-F7 back. After that a lot of panel notifications without content are running. Strange to describe. I hope you got ot.


It's a dual-monitor setup with a radeon card/driver.

Offline samoht

  • User
  • Posts: 209
There is hope now:  ;)
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=%23847025#25
Quote
xorg-server (2:1.19.0-3) unstable; urgency=medium
...
  * Cherry-pick upstream commit d6da2086951,
    Revert "damage: Make damageRegionProcessPending take a damage not a
    drawable". Fixes a crash caused by trying to free an invalid pointer.
    Closes: #847025, #848321.

 -- Emilio Pozuelo Monfort <pochu@debian.org>  Fri, 16 Dec 2016 19:39:45 +0100
Greetings
Tom

Pls mark as solved
« Last Edit: 2016/12/17, 09:44:21 by samoht »

Offline cliff6056

  • User
  • Posts: 12
Just wondering how others suffering from this annoyance problem have made out with the alleged cure update.  It has made no difference to my machine which continues to freeze randomly and/or during the login.  I guess if it's just me I will have to reload the machine.  Thanks in advance for any comments. 

Cliff

Offline piper

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.160
cliff6056

I still have the same problem on my amd graphics  machine, can't figure it out yet, disabled compositor, nothing, freezes hard within 30-40 seconds, going to install a build I made a few days ago and see if anything changes.
debian sid  |  apt-get into it

Offline samoht

  • User
  • Posts: 209
Unfortunately, I must confirm those annoying freezes on my KDE siduction install  >:(
My initial faith in the proposed fix has been of short lived kind.

Offline piper

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.160
My newest build makes no difference with/without a du, going to try older kernel when I get home from work
debian sid  |  apt-get into it

Offline cliff6056

  • User
  • Posts: 12
For what it's worth, still occurs on the kernel that Dev 2 came with, at least on my machine.  As well, in desperation, yesterday I reloaded my machine and switched the debian repo to testing to try and get ahead of the freeze, and while everything installed and worked fine, the freezing remained. 


Offline glimfindel

  • User
  • Posts: 5
Just toadd another voice:
I can watch the same behaviour as described above as well with xserver-xorg-core version 1.19.0-2 as with 1.19.0-3. But I noticed that I can get a working Plasma when switching to a Console (e.g. Ctrl-Alt-F1) and back again (Ctrl-F7). Nevertheless, that only gives me access to the Plasma functionality for a short time. But until now I did not found a deterministic way to reproduce a "freeze" again.

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.017
Please, to get to the bottom of this we need you to specify your graphics card and the used driver.

Offline drgg

  • User
  • Posts: 25
Same issue on my machine,
with both drivers xserver-xorg-core version 1.19.0-2, 1.19.0-3
Code: [Select]
System: Host: siductionbox Kernel: 4.9.0-towo.1-siduction-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit)
Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.8.4
Distro: siduction 12.2.0 Riders on the Storm - kde - (201212092131)
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] RV710/M92 [Mobility Radeon HD 4530/4570/545v]
Display Server: X.org 1.19.0 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
tty size: 90x44 Advanced Data: N/A for root

Offline cliff6056

  • User
  • Posts: 12
Hi Devil.  Hope this is what you want. 

Code: [Select]
System:    Host: siductionbox Kernel: 4.9.0-towo.1-siduction-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.2.1)
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.8.4 (Qt 5.7.1)
           Distro: siduction 15.1.0 Paint It Black - kde - (201601162135)
Machine:   Device: desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: P5N32-E SLI v: 1.XX
           BIOS: Phoenix v: ASUS P5N32-E SLI 1903 date: 11/17/2009
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 (-MCP-) cache: 4096 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 19207
           clock speeds: max: 2399 MHz 1: 2399 MHz 2: 2399 MHz 3: 2399 MHz
           4: 2399 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA G92 [GeForce 8800 GT] bus-ID: 02:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.0 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@59.93hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NV92
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.2 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card NVIDIA MCP55 High Definition Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:0f.1
           Sound: ALSA v: k4.9.0-towo.1-siduction-amd64
Network:   Card-1: NVIDIA MCP55 Ethernet
           driver: forcedeth port: ec00 bus-ID: 00:11.0
           IF: enp0s17 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full
           mac: 00:1e:8c:ca:bd:25
           Card-2: NVIDIA MCP55 Ethernet
           driver: forcedeth port: eb00 bus-ID: 00:12.0
           IF: enp0s18 state: down mac: 00:1e:8c:ca:c1:09
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (47.4% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD5000AAKS size: 500.1GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WD5000AAKS size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 18G used: 7.2G (43%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb1
           ID-2: /home size: 49G used: 18G (38%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb3
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 2.56GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdb2
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 42.0C mobo: 34.0C gpu: 50.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 1928 sys-1: 0
Info:      Processes: 218 Uptime: 7:59 Memory: 1831.1/7988.8MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 6.2.1
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.51) inxi: 2.3.5