seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2019/09/18, 00:41:56


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: [Solved] low resolution on qemu/kvm  (Read 4653 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline finotti

  • User
  • Posts: 99
[Solved] low resolution on qemu/kvm
« on: 2017/09/08, 20:51:44 »
I'm running siduction in a virtual machine, using virt-manager and qemu/kvm.  Since kernels 4.12 and up came in, I cannot run it in full resolution anymore.  My previous kernel for that VM was 4.10, and it worked.

I have not found errors in the X log, but I get this from "journalctl -b -p err":

Code: [Select]
-- Logs begin at Wed 2016-11-09 21:25:35 UTC, end at Fri 2017-09-08 18:41:04 UTC. --
Sep 08 18:40:33 siductionbox kernel: [Firmware Bug]: TSC_DEADLINE disabled due to Errata; please update microcode to version: 0x22 (or later)
Sep 08 18:40:34 siductionbox smartd[434]: DEVICESCAN failed: glob(3) aborted matching pattern /dev/discs/disc*
Sep 08 18:40:34 siductionbox smartd[434]: In the system's table of devices NO devices found to scan
Sep 08 18:40:34 siductionbox avahi-daemon[460]: chroot.c: open() failed: No such file or directory
Sep 08 18:40:39 siductionbox spice-vdagentd[619]: Error getting active session: No data available
Sep 08 18:40:39 siductionbox spice-vdagentd[619]: Error getting active session: No data available
Sep 08 18:40:39 siductionbox spice-vdagentd[619]: Error getting active session: No data available
Sep 08 18:40:39 siductionbox spice-vdagentd[619]: Error getting active session: No data available
Sep 08 18:40:39 siductionbox spice-vdagentd[619]: Error getting active session: No data available
Sep 08 18:40:39 siductionbox spice-vdagentd[619]: Error getting active session: No data available
Sep 08 18:40:39 siductionbox spice-vdagentd[619]: Error getting active session: No data available
Sep 08 18:40:39 siductionbox spice-vdagentd[619]: Error getting active session: No data available
Sep 08 18:40:47 siductionbox spice-vdagentd[619]: Error getting active session: No data available
Sep 08 18:40:47 siductionbox spice-vdagentd[619]: Error getting active session: No data available

Here is some info on the system (up to date):

Code: [Select]
System:    Host: siductionbox Kernel: 4.13.0-towo.1-siduction-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.2.0
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.8.7 (Qt 5.9.1) Distro: siduction 15.1.0 Paint It Black - kde - (201601162135)
Machine:   Device: kvm System: QEMU product: Standard PC (i440FX + PIIX 1996) v: pc-i440fx-2.7 serial: N/A
           Mobo: N/A model: N/A serial: N/A BIOS: SeaBIOS v: 1.10.2-1 date: 04/01/2014
CPU(s):    4 Single core Intel Core (Haswell no TSX)s (-SMP-) arch: Haswell rev.1 cache: 16384 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3) bmips: 28733
           clock speeds: max: 3591 MHz 1: 3591 MHz 2: 3591 MHz 3: 3591 MHz 4: 3591 MHz
Memory:    Using dmidecode: root required for dmidecode
Graphics:  Card: Red Hat QXL paravirtual graphic card bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.3 ) drivers: (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1024x768@59.95hz
           OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 5.0, 256 bits) version: 3.3 Mesa 17.2.0 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:04.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.13.0-towo.1-siduction-amd64
Network:   Card: Red Hat Virtio network device driver: virtio-pci v: 1 port: c060 bus-ID: 00:03.0
           IF: ens3 state: up speed: -1 duplex: unknown mac: 52:54:00:04:da:4c
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 21.5GB (70.2% used)
           ID-1: /dev/vda model: N/A size: 21.5GB
           Optical-1: /dev/sr0 model: QEMU QEMU DVD-ROM rev: 2.5+ dev-links: cdrom,dvd
Partition: ID-1: / size: 20G used: 15G (76%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/vda1
           label: N/A uuid: f76ff687-39e3-4800-923c-5c13ec1eb987
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 157 Uptime: 4 min Memory: 436.4/19634.0MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.2.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.121) inxi: 2.3.37


In the host:

Code: [Select]
System:    Host: finottim83 Kernel: 4.13.0-0.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.2.0
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.8.7 Distro: aptosid 2013-01 Ἑσπερίδες - kde-full - (201305050307)
Machine:   Device: desktop System: LENOVO product: 10ANS0BH00 v: ThinkCentre M83 serial: MJ01YGQ0
           Mobo: LENOVO model: SHARKBAY v: SDK0E50510 WIN serial: N/A UEFI: LENOVO v: FBKTA1AUS date: 10/22/2014
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-4790 (-HT-MCP-) arch: Haswell rev.3 cache: 8192 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 28733
           clock speeds: max: 4000 MHz 1: 3591 MHz 2: 3591 MHz 3: 3591 MHz 4: 3591 MHz 5: 3591 MHz 6: 3591 MHz
           7: 3591 MHz 8: 3591 MHz
Memory:    Array-1 capacity: 32 GB devices: 4 EC: None
           Device-1: ChannelA-DIMM0 size: 8 GB speed: 1600 MT/s type: DDR3 part: CT102464BA160B.M16
           Device-2: ChannelA-DIMM1 size: 8 GB speed: 1600 MT/s type: DDR3 part: CT102464BA160B.M16
           Device-3: ChannelB-DIMM0 size: 8 GB speed: 1600 MT/s type: DDR3 part: CT102464BA160B.M16
           Device-4: ChannelB-DIMM1 size: 8 GB speed: 1600 MT/s type: DDR3 part: CT102464BA160B.M16
Graphics:  Card: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.3 ) driver: intel Resolution: 1920x1200@59.95hz, 1280x1024@60.02hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell Desktop version: 4.5 Mesa 17.2.0 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 8 Series/C220 Series High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-2 Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:03.0
           Card-3 Lenovo driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 003-004
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.13.0-0.slh.1-aptosid-amd64
Network:   Card: Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k port: f080 bus-ID: 00:19.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 44:39:c4:8f:0a:41
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 2012.4GB (30.6% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: Crucial_CT512M55 size: 512.1GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WD5000AAKX size: 500.1GB
           ID-3: USB /dev/sdc model: ATAPI size: 1000.2GB
           Optical-1: /dev/sr0 model: HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GHB0N rev: JE01 dev-links: cdrom,cdrw,dvd,dvdrw
Partition: ID-1: / size: 469G used: 185G (42%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           label: N/A uuid: 4fbdfd38-f590-45c7-a44b-c3b5bcc50972
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 39.84GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdb6
           label: swap uuid: 6fe16d4b-c084-48aa-9902-f46d057b1752
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 29.8C mobo: 27.8C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 347 Uptime: 1 day Memory: 14197.4/31976.7MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.2.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.121) inxi: 2.3.37
and
Code: [Select]
root@finottim83[/home/finotti]# apt policy qemu
qemu:
  Installed: 1:2.8+dfsg-7
  Candidate: 1:2.8+dfsg-7
  Version table:
 *** 1:2.8+dfsg-7 500
        500 http://httpredir.debian.org/debian sid/main amd64 Packages
        500 http://httpredir.debian.org/debian testing/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

root@finottim83[/home/finotti]# apt policy virt-manager
virt-manager:
  Installed: 1:1.4.2-1
  Candidate: 1:1.4.2-1
  Version table:
 *** 1:1.4.2-1 500
        500 http://httpredir.debian.org/debian sid/main amd64 Packages
        500 http://httpredir.debian.org/debian testing/main amd64 Packages

This is not a huge issue for me, as I only use it every once in a while, but it would be nice to have full resolution (1920x1200) back.
« Last Edit: 2017/09/11, 20:48:49 by finotti »

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.911
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: low resolution on qemu/kvm
« Reply #1 on: 2017/09/08, 22:09:47 »
I run a Windows 10 VM with qemu/KVM, using the QXL video and the spice server display. I give QXL 16 MB of RAM.  I have had no issues with the graphics, before or after the 4.12 kernel.


Host GPU is Nvidia with the proprietary driver. The VM uses a 1680x1050 resolution.
« Last Edit: 2017/09/08, 22:29:49 by dibl »
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline finotti

  • User
  • Posts: 99
Re: low resolution on qemu/kvm
« Reply #2 on: 2017/09/09, 00:06:54 »
I run a Windows 10 VM with qemu/KVM, using the QXL video and the spice server display. I give QXL 16 MB of RAM.  I have had no issues with the graphics, before or after the 4.12 kernel.


Host GPU is Nvidia with the proprietary driver. The VM uses a 1680x1050 resolution.

Thanks for the reply, dibl.  FWIW, I am also using the same settings...

Offline melmarker

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.731
    • g-com.eu
Re: low resolution on qemu/kvm
« Reply #3 on: 2017/09/09, 01:23:34 »
maybe switching to virtio driver is an option - qxl is a buggy hell most of the time (at least it is with live images on remote machines)
Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety. (Benjamin Franklin, November 11, 1755)
Never attribute to malice that which can be adequately explained by stupidity. (Hanlons razor)

Offline unklarer

  • User
  • Posts: 474
Re: low resolution on qemu/kvm
« Reply #4 on: 2017/09/09, 11:31:28 »
I use a qemu-vm here mainly to do some quick adjustments.
I followed the HoaS guidelines when setting it up.

Try what he writes about the display resolution.  ;)

Offline finotti

  • User
  • Posts: 99
Re: low resolution on qemu/kvm
« Reply #5 on: 2017/09/11, 20:48:34 »
maybe switching to virtio driver is an option - qxl is a buggy hell most of the time (at least it is with live images on remote machines)

OK, that did the trick.  I *think* that the X was smoother with QXL, but now I can set it to full resolution.

Thanks!

Offline melmarker

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.731
    • g-com.eu
Re: [Solved] low resolution on qemu/kvm
« Reply #6 on: 2017/09/11, 22:14:24 »
@finotti - in the link @unklarer posted i found some maybe interesting settings for the used gl implementation - if that is not standard, it might be worth to try out - but to be true, right now the virtio driver give the most reliable results for me with our live isos.
Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety. (Benjamin Franklin, November 11, 1755)
Never attribute to malice that which can be adequately explained by stupidity. (Hanlons razor)