seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2020/05/31, 00:20:19


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: SOLVED -- Qemu/KVM issue -- Anyone else, or only me?  (Read 681 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.982
    • Land of the Buckeye
This morning a full-upgrade brought in the following two changes which may be relevant to my issue::

new kernel 5.6.8-towo-1

upgrade of qemu-system-x86

With the new kernel booted, I have experienced two instances of a Windows 10 VM jumping into an extremely slow mode -- it takes minutes between mouse clicks or movements to see a change on the screen.

After the second time it happened, I rebooted kernel 5.6.7-towo-1, and restarted the VM. It has only been running about 30 minutes now, so I don't know whether I'm going to see the problem with this kernel, or not.  If I do, then that will point to the upgraded qemu-system-x86 package as the source of the problem.  If I don't see it again, then I will suspect a problem with the new kernel.

I decided to post it in case anyone sees this issue.
« Last Edit: 2020/05/02, 13:46:18 by dibl »
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline towo

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.352
Re: Qemu/KVM issue -- Anyone else, or only me?
« Reply #1 on: 2020/04/30, 17:40:10 »
Normaly i'm running kernel 5.7-rc3, now i have booted with 5.6.8.
I only have one Win 10 VM, but this VM is working like it should.
I'm not using qemu from debian, i build it my own from git.

Can i see your entire qemu command?
Ich gehe nicht zum Karneval, ich verleihe nur manchmal mein Gesicht.

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.982
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: Qemu/KVM issue -- Anyone else, or only me?
« Reply #2 on: 2020/04/30, 18:09:52 »
Hi towo,

I use the Virtual Machine Manager, ver. 2.2.1, and Spice server with QXL video.  So no comnand line needed to launch Win 10. It was still running with no problem until I shut it down just now, on 5.6.7.  I have not had any trouble with this VM for years, so something in the full-upgrade must have been behind this issue.

Thanks.

EDIT:  FYI, when the slowdown happens, I am running an old MS Visual FoxPro application.
« Last Edit: 2020/04/30, 18:15:12 by dibl »
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline towo

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.352
Re: Qemu/KVM issue -- Anyone else, or only me?
« Reply #3 on: 2020/04/30, 18:15:31 »
Even with Virtual Machine Manager there is a corresponding qemu commandline.

ps aux | grep qemu will show it.
Ich gehe nicht zum Karneval, ich verleihe nur manchmal mein Gesicht.

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.982
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: Qemu/KVM issue -- Anyone else, or only me?
« Reply #4 on: 2020/04/30, 18:35:27 »
(1) Still running on 5.6.7, I just now triggered the "semi-freeze" while using Adobe Acrobat to edit a pdf file, so it looks like the problem is not the kernel.  It must be the qemu-system-X86 upgrade.

(2) from ps aux:

Code: [Select]
libvirt+ 1054382 79.4 32.4 13622764 10627784 ?   Rl   12:17  11:41 /usr/bin/qemu-system-x86_64 -name guest=win10,debug-threads=on -S -object secret,id=masterKey0,format=raw,file=/var/lib/libvirt/qemu/domain-2-win10/master-key.aes -machine pc-i440fx-2.12,accel=kvm,usb=off,vmport=off,dump-guest-core=off -cpu Skylake-Client-IBRS,hv-time,hv-relaxed,hv-vapic,hv-spinlocks=0x1fff -m 10240 -overcommit mem-lock=off -smp 4,sockets=4,cores=1,threads=1 -uuid e98b6bf6-d366-44c3-a529-790924d99373 -no-user-config -nodefaults -chardev socket,id=charmonitor,fd=33,server,nowait -mon chardev=charmonitor,id=monitor,mode=control -rtc base=localtime,driftfix=slew -global kvm-pit.lost_tick_policy=delay -no-hpet -no-shutdown -global PIIX4_PM.disable_s3=1 -global PIIX4_PM.disable_s4=1 -boot strict=on -device ich9-usb-ehci1,id=usb,bus=pci.0,addr=0x5.0x7 -device ich9-usb-uhci1,masterbus=usb.0,firstport=0,bus=pci.0,multifunction=on,addr=0x5 -device ich9-usb-uhci2,masterbus=usb.0,firstport=2,bus=pci.0,addr=0x5.0x1 -device ich9-usb-uhci3,masterbus=usb.0,firstport=4,bus=pci.0,addr=0x5.0x2 -device virtio-scsi-pci,id=scsi0,bus=pci.0,addr=0x6 -device virtio-serial-pci,id=virtio-serial0,bus=pci.0,addr=0x7 -blockdev {"driver":"file","filename":"/home/don/Win10/win10.img","node-name":"libvirt-2-storage","auto-read-only":true,"discard":"unmap"} -blockdev {"node-name":"libvirt-2-format","read-only":false,"driver":"qcow2","file":"libvirt-2-storage","backing":null} -device scsi-hd,bus=scsi0.0,channel=0,scsi-id=0,lun=0,device_id=drive-scsi0-0-0-0,drive=libvirt-2-format,id=scsi0-0-0-0,bootindex=1 -blockdev {"driver":"file","filename":"/home/don/Win10/virtio-win-0.1.149.iso","node-name":"libvirt-1-storage","auto-read-only":true,"discard":"unmap"} -blockdev {"node-name":"libvirt-1-format","read-only":true,"driver":"raw","file":"libvirt-1-storage"} -device scsi-cd,bus=scsi0.0,channel=0,scsi-id=0,lun=2,device_id=drive-scsi0-0-0-2,drive=libvirt-1-format,id=scsi0-0-0-2 -netdev tap,fd=35,id=hostnet0 -device rtl8139,netdev=hostnet0,id=net0,mac=52:54:00:e0:b0:51,bus=pci.0,addr=0x3 -chardev pty,id=charserial0 -device isa-serial,chardev=charserial0,id=serial0 -chardev spicevmc,id=charchannel0,name=vdagent -device virtserialport,bus=virtio-serial0.0,nr=1,chardev=charchannel0,id=channel0,name=com.redhat.spice.0 -device usb-tablet,id=input0,bus=usb.0,port=1 -spice port=5900,addr=127.0.0.1,disable-ticketing,image-compression=off,seamless-migration=on -device qxl-vga,id=video0,ram_size=67108864,vram_size=67108864,vram64_size_mb=0,vgamem_mb=16,max_outputs=1,bus=pci.0,addr=0x2 -device intel-hda,id=sound0,bus=pci.0,addr=0x4 -device hda-duplex,id=sound0-codec0,bus=sound0.0,cad=0 -chardev spicevmc,id=charredir0,name=usbredir -device usb-redir,chardev=charredir0,id=redir0,bus=usb.0,port=2 -chardev spicevmc,id=charredir1,name=usbredir -device usb-redir,chardev=charredir1,id=redir1,bus=usb.0,port=3 -device virtio-balloon-pci,id=balloon0,bus=pci.0,addr=0x8 -sandbox on,obsolete=deny,elevateprivileges=deny,spawn=deny,resourcecontrol=deny -msg timestamp=on
EDIT:  I just checked with apt, and now we have these updates for qemu:

Code: [Select]
qemu qemu-kvm qemu-system-common qemu-system-data qemu-system-gui qemu-system-x86 qemu-utils
I have another system that I use for experiments -- I'm going to update that one and see if it is stable.

EDIT #2 -- Installed qemu-system-x86 package is ver. 5.0-2. New version is 5.0-3.
« Last Edit: 2020/04/30, 19:08:35 by dibl »
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline towo

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.352
Re: Qemu/KVM issue -- Anyone else, or only me?
« Reply #5 on: 2020/04/30, 19:25:58 »
Looking at that, what VMM is doing, i'm out. Such a branch of useless options.

I'm managing all my vm only with a bash script, for win that is:

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash

USERID=`whoami`
INTERFACE=`sudo /usr/bin/tunctl -b -u $USERID -t tap10`
KVM_GUEST_NAME="Windows 10"

/home/towo/source/qemu/qemu/build/x86_64-softmmu/qemu-system-x86_64 \
    -m 6144 \
    -name Windows \
    -machine type=q35,accel=kvm \
    -smp 4,cores=4,sockets=1 \
    -cpu host \
    -vga qxl \
    -spice port=5930,disable-ticketing,streaming-video=filter \
    -chardev spicevmc,id=vdagent,debug=0,name=vdagent \
    -device virtio-serial \
    -device virtserialport,chardev=vdagent,name=com.redhat.spice.0 \
    -device qemu-xhci,id=xhci -device usb-tablet,bus=xhci.0 \
    -device intel-hda,id=sound0,msi=on \
    -device hda-micro,id=sound0-codec0,bus=sound0.0,cad=0 \
    -net nic,macaddr=52:54:00:12:34:56,model=virtio \
    -net tap,ifname=$INTERFACE \
    -monitor unix:/home/towo/winmonitor,server,nowait \
    -drive id=disk,file="/media/daten2/vmware/win10/Windows 10 x64.vmdk",if=none,aio=native,cache=none -device ahci,id=ahci -device ide-hd,drive=disk,bus=ahci.0 \
    -drive id=disk2,file="/media/daten/image/win-daten.img",if=none,aio=native,cache=none -device ahci,id=ahci1 -device ide-hd,drive=disk2,bus=ahci.1 \
    -drive file=/home/towo/iso/Win10/19041.207.Vibranium-X64-DE-CLIENTPRO.ISO,format=raw,if=none,id=cd \
    -device ide-cd,drive=cd,bus=ide.1 \

sudo ifconfig $INTERFACE down
sudo tunctl -d $INTERFACE
Ich gehe nicht zum Karneval, ich verleihe nur manchmal mein Gesicht.

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.982
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: Qemu/KVM issue -- Anyone else, or only me?
« Reply #6 on: 2020/04/30, 19:52:04 »
That is a nice piece of work!  It might be the case, that I must make use of your script for the future.

But, I have no reason to suspect that my branch of useless options is the problem, since it has worked problem-free for years.  Something has changed in these new qemu packages.

OK, my experiment on machine B shows the problem still exists after full-upgrade to the new packages. So two different hardware platforms have the same problem, using the new packages. I don't know if it is possible to figure out what the qemu-system-x86 package version was before yesterday, and reinstall that one on my production machine.  I see stable uses ver. 3.1+dfsg-8+deb10u5.
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline towo

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.352
Re: Qemu/KVM issue -- Anyone else, or only me?
« Reply #7 on: 2020/04/30, 20:04:56 »
Before today, it was 4.2-7, which is in testing.
Qemu 5.0 was released yesterday.
Ich gehe nicht zum Karneval, ich verleihe nur manchmal mein Gesicht.

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.982
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: Qemu/KVM issue -- Anyone else, or only me?
« Reply #8 on: 2020/04/30, 20:14:13 »
Yep, thanks.  I have reinstalled qemu-system-x86 4-2-7 and qemu-kvm 4-2-7, and launched Win 10.  If it is still stable, I am going to pin the necessary qemu packages for awhile, and see what happens with the new packages.  Maybe I will find I am not alone.    ;D
« Last Edit: 2020/04/30, 20:29:17 by dibl »
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline towo

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.352
Re: Qemu/KVM issue -- Anyone else, or only me?
« Reply #9 on: 2020/04/30, 21:06:40 »
I'm useing qemu 5.0 branch since a long time (from git) and hav not seen such issue here on my systems.
Ich gehe nicht zum Karneval, ich verleihe nur manchmal mein Gesicht.

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.982
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: Qemu/KVM issue -- Anyone else, or only me?
« Reply #10 on: 2020/04/30, 21:50:43 »
I see you are using a .vmdk image.  I did not know you could do that.  Mine is a .img, made with the VM Manager.  I did used to use vmware, and I tried to convert my .vmdk to .img, but that was a failure, so I installed new as .img and built it up from there.
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.630
Re: Qemu/KVM issue -- Anyone else, or only me?
« Reply #11 on: 2020/05/01, 16:49:15 »
@dibl: It's offtopic, so maybe worth another thread.
I have a virtualbox for Windows. but i seems real slow, especially when converting rawfotos (I know, there is darktable). I heard that Qemu/KVM should be faster.
Do you have a how to for installing it?


Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.982
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: Qemu/KVM issue -- Anyone else, or only me?
« Reply #12 on: 2020/05/01, 18:24:39 »
2 subjects:

1) On my "B" platform, running qemu5 and my Win10 VM, I did two things. (1) increased memory for the VM to 16G and (2) downloaded and installed the latest spice-guest-tools package.  After restarting the VM, it has been running 4 hours trouble-free, so maybe this is the solution for my case.

2) Hi Lanzi -- obviously, if you see how  @towo is running his VM, there are more than one way to use Qemu/KVM.  Google found this guide. You'll want a bridged network available, so do this first. Get the latest VirIO drivers for windows here. Once you have Windows running, go here and download the latest spice-guest-tools package (bottom of the list). Hopefully this is enough to get you started -- it's not a very well documented procedure but you can do it if you're a bit patient.
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.630
Re: Qemu/KVM issue -- Anyone else, or only me?
« Reply #13 on: 2020/05/01, 19:59:49 »
Thanks Dibl. That will help
I will upgrade my computer in the next weeks. Right now, I think I will wait fur a newer siduction iso an start then.
So, back to topic, and excuse again my "hijacking".

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.982
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: Qemu/KVM issue -- Anyone else, or only me?
« Reply #14 on: 2020/05/02, 13:45:34 »
My Win 10 VM has been running 23 hours on qemu 5 and I can't make it fail, so I must reluctantly mark this thread "solved".  I say "reluctantly" because I don't really know what happened that made it go into semi-frozen mode, and I don't know why the two changes I made fixed it. Windows task manager shows the VM only using 2-3G of memory, out of the 16G I gave it. Giving more memory to Windows is like giving a second bottle of vodka to an alcoholic who already has one bottle. Not a very satisfying "solution", but there it is.
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS