seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2020/11/25, 08:45:13


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: Bringing up network card  (Read 445 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline titan

  • User
  • Posts: 245
Bringing up network card
« on: 2020/08/16, 10:11:11 »
I thought ifupdown was depreciated but it is still installed but no ceni, conman or network-manager. The Debian wiki says ifupdown can be used with /etc/network/interfaces but the only file in there is auto lo. It also says it can be used with the interface name so ifup enp6s0 for me but I thought this was all now done using systemctl. Can someone please give the correct commands.
thanks

Offline unklarer

  • User
  • Posts: 534
Re: Bringing up network card
« Reply #1 on: 2020/08/16, 12:15:19 »

Offline titan

  • User
  • Posts: 245
Re: Bringing up network card
« Reply #2 on: 2020/08/16, 15:07:24 »
Thanks but that just adds to the confusion, I do not want to connect wifi.. I just want to know how to bring up a (wired) network card. My router lost power then when restored obviously gave out different IP address, for my PC,  previously I used ifup eth0 but things have moved on, I just rebooted but thought I would ask what the latest command to use today is. I did spent some time looking online but there seems to be lots of various options.

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.054
    • Land of the Buckeye
Re: Bringing up network card
« Reply #3 on: 2020/08/16, 15:51:47 »
Have you tried
Code: [Select]
systemctl start networking?

To see whether networking is enabled and/or active, try
Code: [Select]
systemctl status networking.
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline titan

  • User
  • Posts: 245
Re: Bringing up network card
« Reply #4 on: 2020/08/16, 16:30:02 »
Thanks dibi, all is working fine, I just rebooted but thought I had better know the right command for next time to save a reboot.