seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2019/09/20, 14:14:48


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: grub2 update  (Read 25684 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline agaida

  • User
  • Posts: 1.760
    • http://g-com.eu
grub2 update
« on: 2013/01/28, 01:22:33 »
Its not a warning, only a hint. We have synced grub2 from experimental to fixes. If you have experimental in your sources list it is very likely that the packages will be pulled from experimental, not from $mirror/fixes. This is intentional, please dont worry about it, the packages are identical :twisted:

If you have no experimental activated in your source.list.d, the packages will be pulled from $mirror/fixes.
------
Wenn ihr einen d-u macht und auf einmal Grub-Pakete aus experimental gezogen werden, keine Sorge. Wir haben grub-$foo nach fixes gespielt, bei aktiviertem experimental zieht apt die Pakete wahrscheinlich von experimental. Keine Sorge, es sind die selben, die ihr auch aus fixes bekommen würdet. Falls ihr experimental nicht aktiviert habt, dann werden die Pakete aus $mirror/fixes gezogen.
There's this special biologist word we use for "stable". It's "dead". ~ Jack Cohen

Offline Lanzi

  • User
  • Posts: 1.605
grub2 update
« Reply #1 on: 2013/01/28, 01:24:38 »
Hehe, thanks for the work involved!
I never thought that I live long enough to see grub 2 coming to reach the stable number 2 ;-)

Offline agaida

  • User
  • Posts: 1.760
    • http://g-com.eu
grub2 update
« Reply #2 on: 2013/01/28, 01:26:48 »
I use grub 2 since a few month in Arch. And a few of us use the "real" grub2 since november - in order to test grub themes and such things.
There's this special biologist word we use for "stable". It's "dead". ~ Jack Cohen

Offline michaa7

  • User
  • Posts: 2.126
Re: grub2 update
« Reply #3 on: 2013/01/28, 02:17:00 »
Quote from: "agaida"
Its not a warning, only a hint. We have synced grub2 from experimental to fixes. ...

Coincidence or am I missing something? Grub2 is comming in from Debian experimental (not siduction).

Is this supposed to work this way?

Quote
Holen: 1 http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/ experimental/main grub-pc i386 2.00-12 [169 kB]
...                                    
Holen: 3 http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/ experimental/main grub-pc-bin i386 2.00-12 [800 kB]
Holen: 4 http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/ experimental/main grub2-common i386 2.00-12 [115 kB]                    
Holen: 5 http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/ experimental/main grub-common i386 2.00-12 [2.027 kB]

# apt-cache policy grub2-common
Quote
# apt-cache policy grub2-common
grub2-common:
  Installiert:           1.99-26
  Installationskandidat: 2.00-12
  Versionstabelle:
     2.00-12 0
          1 http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/ experimental/main i386 Packages
        500 http://packages.siduction.org/fixes/ unstable/main i386 Packages
     1.99-27 0
        500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ sid/main i386 Packages
 *** 1.99-26 0
        500 http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/ testing/main i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
Ok, you can't code, but you still might be able to write a bug report for Debian's sake

Offline agaida

  • User
  • Posts: 1.760
    • http://g-com.eu
Re: grub2 update
« Reply #4 on: 2013/01/28, 02:41:41 »
Sach mal, michaa7: Liest Du auch, was ich geschrieben habe? Sogar in englisch und deutsch?

Wenn der die Pakete aus experimental zieht, dann hast Du wahrscheinlich experimental aktiviert. Der Anstoß für die Pakete kommt aus fixes, der Resolver stellt äquivalente Pakete in fixes und experimental fest und entscheidet sich für experimental. Warum das so ist: Keine wirkliche Ahnung, es soll aber in diesem Fall nicht weh tun.

Spätestens, wenn die Pakete aus sid kommen, ist alles so wie es soll. Falls uns bis dahin ein apt-guru erleuchten kann, wären wir froh.

Natürlich könnten wir auch einen Praktikanten einstellen, der die Pakete mit neuer Version baut und nach fixes lädt. Freiwillige vor. :twisted:
There's this special biologist word we use for "stable". It's "dead". ~ Jack Cohen

Offline michaa7

  • User
  • Posts: 2.126
grub2 update
« Reply #5 on: 2013/01/28, 03:34:43 »
Quote from: "agaida"
Sach mal, michaa7: Liest Du auch, was ich geschrieben habe? Sogar in englisch und deutsch?


Meine güte, bleib in der spur, hätte ich es nicht gelesen, hätte ich es nicht  missverstanden.

Ich zweifle das ich der einzige bin der bei "from experimental to fixes" nur an Siduction denkt (auch wenn mir dieser sync selbst merkwürdig, aber eben nicht unmöglich erschien).
Diese Fehlannahme liese sich durch ein "from Debian/experimental to Siduction/fixes" *leicht* vermeiden, für diejenigen die nicht so wie wie du mit den gerade aktuellen siduction repos vertraut sind und denen daher die gemeinten Zusammenhänge nicht so unmittelbar vor augen liegen wie dir. Dann käme deine Botschaft um so klarer rüber.

n8 (is auch englisch und deutsch)
Ok, you can't code, but you still might be able to write a bug report for Debian's sake

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.912
    • Land of the Buckeye
grub2 update
« Reply #6 on: 2013/01/28, 15:01:07 »
Are there more grub2 packages needed?  I thought I had them all installed, but "update-grub" gives me this:

Code: [Select]
GRUB >= 2.00 has been unpacked but not yet configured.
grub-mkconfig will not work until the upgrade is complete.
It should run later as part of configuring the new GRUB packages.


Also this same message came up after d-u pulled in the new 3.7-5 towo kernel, and so after reboot the grub menu is not updated.

grub-pc seems to be installed satisfactorily.

Code: [Select]
root@imerabox:/home/don# dpkg -s grub-pc
Package: grub-pc
Status: install ok installed
Priority: optional
Section: admin
Installed-Size: 543
Maintainer: GRUB Maintainers <pkg>
Architecture: amd64
Multi-Arch: foreign
Source: grub2
Version: 2.00-12
Replaces: grub, grub-common (<= 1.97~beta2-1), grub-coreboot, grub-efi-amd64, grub-efi-ia32, grub-ieee1275, grub-legacy, grub2 (<<2>= 0.5) | debconf-2.0, grub-common, grub2-common (= 2.00-12), grub-pc-bin (= 2.00-12), ucf
Conflicts: grub (<< 0.97-54), grub-coreboot, grub-efi-amd64, grub-efi-ia32, grub-ieee1275, grub-legacy
Conffiles:
 /etc/kernel/postinst.d/zz-update-grub 396cb3f6a6534f7d2a02db9e8192e54f
 /etc/kernel/postrm.d/zz-update-grub 396cb3f6a6534f7d2a02db9e8192e54f
Description: GRand Unified Bootloader, version 2 (PC/BIOS version)
 GRUB is a portable, powerful bootloader.  This version of GRUB is based on a
 cleaner design than its predecessors, and provides the following new features:
 .
  - Scripting in grub.cfg using BASH-like syntax.
  - Support for modern partition maps such as GPT.
  - Modular generation of grub.cfg via update-grub.  Packages providing GRUB
    add-ons can plug in their own script rules and trigger updates by invoking
    update-grub.
  - VESA-based graphical mode with background image support and complete 24-bit
    color set.
  - Support for extended charsets.  Users can write UTF-8 text to their menu
    entries.
 .
 This package contains a version of GRUB that has been built for use with
 traditional PC/BIOS architecture.
Homepage: http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/



Google tells me others have run into this, but I don't find any solutions, except to purge all grub packages and reinstall grub2.  Is that my only path forward?  
 :(
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline timc

  • User
  • Posts: 203
grub2 update
« Reply #7 on: 2013/01/28, 15:25:53 »
My / is installed on a 2-device btrfs filesystem. When I upgraded, this morning, this is what I got:

Code: [Select]
Setting up grub2-common (2.00-12) ...
Setting up grub-pc-bin (2.00-12) ...
Setting up grub-pc (2.00-12) ...
Installing new version of config file /etc/kernel/postinst.d/zz-update-grub ...
Installing new version of config file /etc/kernel/postrm.d/zz-update-grub ...
device node has wrong file type
device node has wrong file type
device node has wrong file type
device node has wrong file type
Installation finished. No error reported.
Installation finished. No error reported.
Generating grub.cfg ...
/usr/sbin/grub-probe: error: cannot find a GRUB drive for /dev/sda2
/dev/sda2.  Check your device.map.
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.7-4.towo-siduction-amd64
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.7-4.towo-siduction-amd64
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.7-3.towo.1-siduction-amd64
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.7-3.towo.1-siduction-amd64
/usr/sbin/grub-probe: error: cannot find a GRUB drive for /dev/sda2
/dev/sda2.  Check your device.map.
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
Found memtest86+ multiboot image: /boot/memtest86+_multiboot.bin
  No volume groups found
done
Setting up grub-efi-amd64-bin (2.00-12) ...


When I rebooted, my grub menu was very ugly (tiny, squirrelly font) and there was no choice to boot Siduction. However, as I sat looking at it trying to think what to do next, it booted anyway and Siduction came up just fine.

However, I would still like to have a good grub menu. What to do, next?

Tim
Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3, Intel i5-2500K, 8 GB DDR3, 2-Seagate SATA III RAID-0 btrfs, ATI HD6770, Samsung BX2440

Offline dibl

  • siduction community member
  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.912
    • Land of the Buckeye
grub2 update
« Reply #8 on: 2013/01/28, 17:43:33 »
Fixed.  It was necessary to manually remove every grub* package, then to install grub-pc, then to run update-grub, and afterward it booted into the new kernel.  Looks like there are things to learn about the new menu -- I never saw the kernels, only "Debian GNU/Linux", so I will become a student of grub2.

@timc, I run a 2-drive BTRFS filesystem, but I have always kept /boot on a separate SSD, because booting from BTRFS was not recommended when I built this system 2 years ago.  You may be running into a new version of the old problem.
Asus ROG STRIX X299-E, Core i7-7740X, Nvidia GTX-1060, dual monitors, SSD 860 EVO, 2@WD1003FZEX in BTRFS

Offline clubex

  • User
  • Posts: 265
grub2 update
« Reply #9 on: 2013/01/28, 19:16:18 »
I guess people will be a little scared of the transition to grub2.

I found this at:

http://wiki.debian.org/Grub#Upgrading_from_v1_to_v2

Quote

Upgrading from v1 to v2

To upgrade to grub v2, you should:

    Install grub v2 (but don't remove the grub 1 yet).

    Follow the instruction displayed the package installation (i.e grub v1 now has an entry to cascade to grub v2, so reboot and try it, then you can actually enable grub2 bootloader by running upgrade-from-grub-legacy).

Transition from v1 to v2

    Grub Transition page.


Grub Transition page is a link to:

http://wiki.debian.org/GrubTransition

I'm not able to check this out until tomorrow.

Do the devs think this is a pain free method for upgrading Grub2?

Offline towo

  • Global Moderator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.298
grub2 update
« Reply #10 on: 2013/01/28, 19:36:32 »
We do not ship grub 1, so there is no transition.
Ich gehe nicht zum Karneval, ich verleihe nur manchmal mein Gesicht.

Offline timc

  • User
  • Posts: 203
grub2 update
« Reply #11 on: 2013/01/28, 21:21:28 »
One of the grub developers informed me in the grub IRC channel that the problem is "fixed in trunk". I assume that means that a future package update will resolve the problem and that the revised package should be available, soon.

Tim
Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3, Intel i5-2500K, 8 GB DDR3, 2-Seagate SATA III RAID-0 btrfs, ATI HD6770, Samsung BX2440

Offline gilpier

  • User
  • Posts: 25
grub2 update
« Reply #12 on: 2013/01/28, 23:27:31 »
after dist-upgrade, grub2 is not working. When I try update-grub, I have:

root@W3GOR5JX63KOR37:/home/siduction# update-grub
GRUB >= 2.00 has been unpacked but not yet configured.
grub-mkconfig will not work until the upgrade is complete.
It should run later as part of configuring the new GRUB packages.

What must I do to configure GRUB?

Offline devil

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.360
grub2 update
« Reply #13 on: 2013/01/29, 00:19:50 »
what does
Code: [Select]
apt-get -f install have to say?

greetz
devil

Offline agaida

  • User
  • Posts: 1.760
    • http://g-com.eu
grub2 update
« Reply #14 on: 2013/01/29, 00:27:10 »
or dpkg-reconfigrure $package?
There's this special biologist word we use for "stable". It's "dead". ~ Jack Cohen