seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2020/09/19, 20:07:23


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: [URGENT] Plasma 5 becoming the default for siduction soon  (Read 19381 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Santa

  • User
  • Posts: 261
  • siduction's KDE packager
Hello,


the person in charge of KDE in debian made some uploads to sid of packages which belong to Plasma 5. This is breaking KDE SC 4 while at the same time plasma 5 isn't available in debian sid.


I also have reasons to think that his intention is making plasma 5 available soon, however I'm not completely sure because since Ieft the debian qt/kde "team" this kind of things are being done unnanounced.


Since the person in charge of KDE in debian seems to insist in breaking KDE SC 4 and it's not very feasible to fix all the continuous incoming breakages and Plasma 5 will be uploaded to sid sooner or later: in a few hours or days the plasma 5 packages available in the kdenext/kde-frameworks repository will be moved to kdenext/unstable.


Fortunately our Plasma 5 packages are reasonably mature although not perfect. Note that they are available here in siduction for more than a year, thing which allowed us to improve the packaging and be ready for this little apocalypse.


What to do to "survive" gracefully:


Option a: Do NOT dist-upgrade and stay with KDE SC 4 for a while; if you already upgraded some packages that you shouldn't the breakages can be undone, you can ask for help here. This option is only reasonable as a temporary solution while you find some free time to go for the option b or c, see below.


Option b: Install Plasma 5 in other hard disk/partition; grab a siduction indiansummer iso, install it and upgrade to Plasma 5 following the instructions here: https://community.kde.org/Plasma/InstallingNext#siduction


Option c: Make backup and upgrade your existing Plasma 4 installation to Plasma 5. Instructions here: https://community.kde.org/Plasma/InstallingNext#siduction
Keep in mind that you may need to reconfigure some programs or things in Plasma.


I would recommend you the Option b. It's the option I did for myself and I'm now writing this message from my new Plasma 5 installation.


Cheers.

EDIT #1 (Friday, 3 July 23:12 zulu)
The KDE Packages were copied from kdenext/kde-frameworks to kdenext/unstable as announced above; this way Plasma 5 becomes the default for siduction.
« Last Edit: 2015/07/04, 01:16:39 by Santa »
Sometimes standing for what you believe means standing alone.

Offline vayu

  • User
  • Posts: 214
Re: [URGENT] Plasma 5 becoming the default for siduction soon
« Reply #1 on: 2015/07/01, 21:09:32 »
in a few hours or days the plasma 5 packages available in the kdenext/kde-frameworks repository will be moved to kdenext/unstable.


Does this mean that option C will happen automatically? (except that if you dist-upgrade now without frameworks things will break)

What is this second one I also have and does it change things for me?
deb http://packages.siduction.org/kdenext unstable main
deb http://packages.siduction.org/kdenext/ experimental-snapshots main

Is the difference between option B and C just that the upgrade is with default config settings?

Offline paxmark2

  • User
  • Posts: 82
« Last Edit: 2015/07/02, 01:58:20 by paxmark2 »

Offline vayu

  • User
  • Posts: 214
Re: [URGENT] Plasma 5 becoming the default for siduction soon
« Reply #3 on: 2015/07/01, 23:29:12 »
Why does it try to use the older package instead of the newer one?

Code: [Select]
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 plasma-desktop-data : Breaks: kde-workspace-data (< 4:5.0.0) but 4:4.11.13-2.1 is to be installed
E: Error, pkgProblemResolver::Resolve generated breaks, this may be caused by held packages.

$ apt-cache policy kde-workspace-data
kde-workspace-data:
  Installed: 4:4.11.13-2.1
  Candidate: 4:5.3.2-siduction1
  Version table:
     4:5.3.2-siduction1 0
        500 http://packages.siduction.org/kdenext/ kde-frameworks/main amd64 Packages
     4:4.11.13-90r2 0
        500 http://packages.siduction.org/kdenext/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
 *** 4:4.11.13-2.1 0
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     4:4.11.13-2 0
        500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages



$ apt-cache policy plasma-desktop-data
plasma-desktop-data:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 4:5.3.2-siduction1
  Version table:
     4:5.3.2-siduction1 0
        500 http://packages.siduction.org/kdenext/ kde-frameworks/main amd64 Packages


These are the sources:
Code: [Select]
deb http://packages.siduction.org/base unstable main
deb-src http://packages.siduction.org/base unstable main

deb http://packages.siduction.org/extra unstable main contrib non-free
deb-src http://packages.siduction.org/extra unstable main contrib non-free

deb http://packages.siduction.org/user unstable main contrib non-free
deb-src http://packages.siduction.org/user unstable main contrib non-free

deb http://packages.siduction.org/fixes unstable main contrib non-free
deb-src http://packages.siduction.org/fixes unstable main contrib non-free

deb http://packages.siduction.org/kdenext unstable main
deb http://packages.siduction.org/kdenext kde-frameworks main
« Last Edit: 2015/07/01, 23:32:47 by vayu »

Offline vayu

  • User
  • Posts: 214
Re: [URGENT] Plasma 5 becoming the default for siduction soon
« Reply #4 on: 2015/07/02, 04:51:03 »
Is there a way to uninstall KDE completely?

Offline Santa

  • User
  • Posts: 261
  • siduction's KDE packager
Re: [URGENT] Plasma 5 becoming the default for siduction soon
« Reply #5 on: 2015/07/02, 07:32:00 »
in a few hours or days the plasma 5 packages available in the kdenext/kde-frameworks repository will be moved to kdenext/unstable.


Does this mean that option C will happen automatically? (except that if you dist-upgrade now without frameworks things will break)


if you have kdenextunstable in your sources-list, yes. But still I can abort the merge of kdenext/kde-frameworks into kdenext/unstable depending on the breakages of this week.

What is this second one I also have and does it change things for me?
deb http://packages.siduction.org/kdenext unstable main
deb http://packages.siduction.org/kdenext/ experimental-snapshots main


The second line in your sources.list is/was a place where I was making available releases of kde a few days before they were officially released in order to get you the chance to test them a bit in advance. Nope, it doesn't change things for you.

Is the difference between option B and C just that the upgrade is with default config settings?


The main difference is that you can keep your old system and check how it was configured to configure the new plasma 5 in a similar way; also you can migrate your settings without hurries and eventually stay with KDE SC 4 in case I revert my decision of merging kdenext/kde-frameworks into kdenext/unstable.


Why does it try to use the older package instead of the newer one?

Code: [Select]
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 plasma-desktop-data : Breaks: kde-workspace-data (< 4:5.0.0) but 4:4.11.13-2.1 is to be installed
E: Error, pkgProblemResolver::Resolve generated breaks, this may be caused by held packages.
[snip]


Could you please paste the output of "apt-mark showhold" and "apt-cache policy kde-workspace-data"?
Sometimes standing for what you believe means standing alone.

holgerw

  • Guest
Re: [URGENT] Plasma 5 becoming the default for siduction soon
« Reply #6 on: 2015/07/02, 09:37:43 »
Hi @vayu,

Code: [Select]
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 plasma-desktop-data : Breaks: kde-workspace-data (< 4:5.0.0) but 4:4.11.13-2.1 is to be installed
E: Error, pkgProblemResolver::Resolve generated breaks, this may be caused by held packages.

From manjaro forum, Change from kde4 to plasma 5
https://forum.manjaro.org/index.php?topic=18225.0

Quote
2. Remove everything that depends on kdebase-workspace

Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -R $(LANG=C pacman -Qi kdebase-workspace | grep "Req" | sed -e 's/Required By    : //g') And remove kdebase-workspace too
Code: [Select]
sudo pacman -R kdebase-workspace

siduction is not arch based, and the pacman hints don't work here. But your error has to do with old kdebase-workspace stuff, so perhaps give this suggestion a try and remove all old kdebase-workspace stuff before upgrading to plasma 5.

Kind regards,
  Holger

Offline reddark

  • User
  • Posts: 1.047
    • http://www.klangruinen.de/
Re: [URGENT] Plasma 5 becoming the default for siduction soon
« Reply #7 on: 2015/07/02, 09:40:52 »
wäre jemand so nett und könnte das alles nochmal kurz in deutsch zusammenfassen? Bei mir läuft Plasma5 schon und will natürlich nicht böse in irgendwas reinschlittern .. ;)

holgerw

  • Guest
Re: [URGENT] Plasma 5 becoming the default for siduction soon
« Reply #8 on: 2015/07/02, 09:49:03 »
Hallo @reddark,

wenn bei Dir schon plasma 5 läuft, kannst Du, was kf5 und plasma angeht, meiner Meinung nach aktualisieren und Dich dabei entspannt zurück lehnen :-)

Ich habe vor wenigen Minuten ein Dist-Upgrade gemacht, und die Aktualisierung auf Plasma 5.3.2 und aktuelles kf5 ist bei mir sauber durch gelaufen.

Viele Grüße,
  Holger

Offline reddark

  • User
  • Posts: 1.047
    • http://www.klangruinen.de/
Re: [URGENT] Plasma 5 becoming the default for siduction soon
« Reply #9 on: 2015/07/02, 09:50:54 »
alles klar ... danke ;)

Offline clubex

  • User
  • Posts: 265
Re: [URGENT] Plasma 5 becoming the default for siduction soon
« Reply #10 on: 2015/07/02, 11:02:00 »
I installed plasma5 using option c and as per Santa's instructions.

I haven't had much time to play but it seems OK at the moment except that the search function of the Kstart menu seems to be missing.

The systemsettings upgrade still fails with my enGB locale in fact it fails with any other locale than US and, I suspect, DE (I haven't tried the latter as my German is poor). There is a bug report #790702 for someone osiing the Itailian locale which seems to back up this assertion. Switching to US locale allows the upgrade without errors.

Incidentally systems settings is now named systemsettings5 so fthis I had to allow for this as I'm  attempting to maintain my old desktop setup.

If anything else crops up I'll post again.

 

Offline ghstryder

  • User
  • Posts: 85
Re: [URGENT] Plasma 5 becoming the default for siduction soon
« Reply #11 on: 2015/07/02, 14:12:57 »
1072 upgraded, 298 newly installed, 15 to remove and 0 not upgraded

I used Option B, a clean install of Indian Summer. It seems to have worked, I have a working KDE installation. The search function of the KStart Menu works fine here as both the Launcher and the Menu.

I'm not quite sure how to ask the question. I don't see a way in systemsettings to change any of the splash screens/backgrounds. What does it take to get siduction back? Summer Breeze is just not quite my cup of tea.

Thanks to everyone for their efforts.


Offline vayu

  • User
  • Posts: 214
Re: [URGENT] Plasma 5 becoming the default for siduction soon
« Reply #12 on: 2015/07/02, 14:19:03 »


Why does it try to use the older package instead of the newer one?

Code: [Select]
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 plasma-desktop-data : Breaks: kde-workspace-data (< 4:5.0.0) but 4:4.11.13-2.1 is to be installed
E: Error, pkgProblemResolver::Resolve generated breaks, this may be caused by held packages.
[snip]

Could you please paste the output of "apt-mark showhold" and "apt-cache policy kde-workspace-data"?

Thanks. I used apt-cache rdepends and and-get remove until the du went through then reinstalled whatever I removed.  Everything is working well. 
« Last Edit: 2015/07/02, 15:04:20 by vayu »

Offline clubex

  • User
  • Posts: 265
Re: [URGENT] Plasma 5 becoming the default for siduction soon
« Reply #13 on: 2015/07/02, 15:32:34 »
ghstryder:
It's in Appearance>Workspace Them>Splash Screen.

Trouble is there doesn't appear to be any easy way of importing new splash screens.

Unusually for KDE there seems to me to be less configuration options with each new release of the desktop. I reckon not having the option to have different backgrounds for virtual desktops will drive a lot of people to downgrade to KDE4.

Offline ghstryder

  • User
  • Posts: 85
Re: [URGENT] Plasma 5 becoming the default for siduction soon
« Reply #14 on: 2015/07/02, 15:48:11 »
Sorry, I should have stated that in my post. I found where I thought I'd make the change, but as you say, no apparent way to make the change, or import a new theme/page. It's good to know it wasn't just my install, thanks for the response.

Other than that, things are pretty much working. Dropbox syncs, but there is no icon in the tray and the notifier doesn't work.