seduction
 Language:
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
2020/09/29, 23:36:17


Help

Author [EN] [PL] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: Bug in package sddm/0.18.1-1  (Read 1841 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online samoht

  • User
  • Posts: 366
Bug in package sddm/0.18.1-1
« on: 2020/02/25, 17:51:13 »
In the virtual terminal vt1 there is no command prompt, only a blinking
cursor.
Launching vt1 via ALT-CTRL-F1 or ALT-[RIGHT,LEFT] ARROW is also not possible.

Downgrading the package sddm into version 0.18.0-1+b2 avoids this bug.

Also vt5 can not be reached here via ALT-CTRL-F5.

Does this mistake occur to you too?


Im virtuellen Terminal vt1 gibt es keine Eingabeaufforderung, sondern nur einen blinkenden Cursor.
Der Start von vt1 über ALT-CTRL-F1 oder ALT-[RECHTS,LINKS] PFEIL ist ebenfalls nicht möglich.

Ein Downgrade des Pakets sddm auf Version 0.18.0-1+b2 vermeidet diesen Fehler.

Auch vt5 kann hier nicht über ALT-CTRL-F5 erreicht werden.

Tritt dieser Fehler auch bei euch auf?

Offline hendrikL

  • User
  • Posts: 429
Re: Bug in package sddm/0.18.1-1
« Reply #1 on: 2020/02/25, 18:49:29 »
Code: [Select]
~$ LANG=C apt policy sddm
sddm:
  Installed: 0.18.1-1

All fine here™!

Which theme you are using?
I use the siduction theme (sddm-theme-patience) with some modifications.

Online samoht

  • User
  • Posts: 366
Re: Bug in package sddm/0.18.1-1
« Reply #2 on: 2020/02/25, 21:08:20 »
Ich nutze das breeze theme bzw glaube das

Code: [Select]
# LANG=C dpkg -l *sddm* | grep ^ii
ii  kde-config-sddm        4:5.17.5-2   amd64        KCM module for SDDM
ii  patience-sddm-settings 2018.3.0-1   all          SDDM settings (installed mode)
ii  sddm                   0.18.0-1+b2  amd64        modern display manager for X11
ii  sddm-theme-breeze      4:5.17.5-4   amd64        Breeze SDDM theme
ii  sddm-theme-patience    2018.3.0-1   all          theme for sddm

Vielleicht ist doch etwas verkonfiguriert?

Offline finotti

  • User
  • Posts: 149
Re: Bug in package sddm/0.18.1-1
« Reply #3 on: 2020/02/25, 22:51:55 »
I also don't have VT1, but do have VTs 2 to 6.

I also lost my two monitor configuration for SDDM, but could redo it (following https://blog.victormendonca.com/2018/06/29/how-to-fix-sddm-on-multiple-screens/).

Offline hendrikL

  • User
  • Posts: 429
Re: Bug in package sddm/0.18.1-1
« Reply #4 on: 2020/02/26, 12:35:15 »
I also don't have VT1, but do have VTs 2 to 6.
Well, i checked it and I also have only a blinking cursor at vt1/tty1 but i am able to navigate with alt+arrow(right/left) between vt2 - vt6.
I don't think that this is a bug, IIRC in kde-neon (based on ubuntu 18.04 lts or so) the graphical login is on vt1 and not vt7, I am able to check this tomorrow, maybe they changed something, who knows?

edit:
https://salsa.debian.org/qt-kde-team/3rdparty/sddm/-/commit/84f024dbc4c62400226c896c3e340ad21cfbc357

I think here is the reason why vt1/tty1 and/or vt7/tty7 is reserved/blocked, or what ever it is called, for sddm and graphical login.
« Last Edit: 2020/02/26, 12:55:15 by hendrikL »

Online samoht

  • User
  • Posts: 366
Re: Bug in package sddm/0.18.1-1
« Reply #5 on: 2020/02/26, 13:02:01 »
Relaxing, I'm not alone  ;)

Yes, I am able to navigate with ALT-[RIGHT,LEFT] ARROW between vt2 - vt6.
Via ALT-CTRL-F5 vt5 does not work :(

In my opinion, very annoying, this behavior.
Such changes must be put into the changelog or must be documented under
Code: [Select]
/usr/share/doc/sddm/
The correspnding bug report is ignored:

https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=952395


PS
The unattended-upgrades package has updated sddm in the meantime.
I don't like that either. I removed this package.

Offline hendrikL

  • User
  • Posts: 429
Re: Bug in package sddm/0.18.1-1
« Reply #6 on: 2020/02/26, 13:19:34 »
mh, nun, nah ja .....

Code: [Select]
:~$ apt changlog sddm

sddm (0.18.1-1) unstable; urgency=medium

  * Team upload.

  [ Maximiliano Curia ]
  * Add missing license paragraph
  * Add wayland-session as a conffile
  * Avoid sourcing /etc/profile with fish.
    Thanks to Alf Gaida for the report (Closes: 904698)

  [ Pino Toscano ]
  * New upstream release.
  * Add the configuration for the CI on salsa.
  * Remove the unused debian/meta/ stuff.
  * Remove debian/not-installed, as we ship everything.
  * Switch from python-docutils to python3-docutils to get Python 3-based
    rst2man. (Closes: #943206)
  * Small changes to copyright.
  * Drop the upstart confirmation, as it is long gone
    - unregister it as conffile
  * Depend on xauth, as it is used for X sessions. (Closes: #929463)
  * Change sid to unstable in old changelog entries. (Closes: #901969)
  * Improve the Debian-provided sddm.service: (Closes: #916398, #950391)
    - remove old check of /etc/X11/default-display-manager
    - alias it as display-manager.service
    - add getty@tty1.service to Conflicts/After to avoid races

  [ Lorenzo Puliti ]
  * Improve sysv init script: (Closes: #915534)
    - add dbus under 'Should Start'
    - remove  'S' and 'K' update-rc.d levels from postinst script,
      as setting the boot sequence that way is deprecated and no longer
      effective

 -- Pino Toscano <pino@debian.org>  Sun, 23 Feb 2020 13:34:38 +0100

[...]

Online samoht

  • User
  • Posts: 366
Re: Bug in package sddm/0.18.1-1
« Reply #7 on: 2020/02/26, 17:20:09 »
Na ja, um den vermuteten Zusammenhang zwischen diesem Changelog und dem neuen Verhalten der virtuellen Terminals zu verstehen, brauche ich für meinen Teil einen Übersetzer  >:(

Greetings,
Tom

Offline finotti

  • User
  • Posts: 149
Re: Bug in package sddm/0.18.1-1
« Reply #8 on: 2020/02/26, 17:28:26 »
Relaxing, I'm not alone  ;)

Yes, I am able to navigate with ALT-[RIGHT,LEFT] ARROW between vt2 - vt6.
Via ALT-CTRL-F5 vt5 does not work :(
That is strange.  In three systems I lost VT1, but Ctr+Alt+F[n] still works in all three.  (FWIW.)

Online samoht

  • User
  • Posts: 366
Re: Bug in package sddm/0.18.1-1
« Reply #9 on: 2020/02/26, 21:28:17 »
@finotti,

here Ctr+Alt+F[n] works only for
n=2, 3, 4, 6.

Offline hendrikL

  • User
  • Posts: 429
Re: Bug in package sddm/0.18.1-1
« Reply #10 on: 2020/02/26, 21:41:58 »
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=916398

That is the reason why!

Na ja, um den vermuteten Zusammenhang zwischen diesem Changelog und dem neuen Verhalten der virtuellen Terminals zu verstehen, brauche ich für meinen Teil einen Übersetzer  >:(

And sorry, but I can't translate it for you nor I am willing too.

Be aware, that is debian --release sid/unstable.

If it is to freaky for you, think about using a distribution on a more stable basis, maybe a LTS distribution with security fixes and backports.

edit: ah, ctrl+alt+Fn (2-6) works like a charm